We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend in Lousã” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Viscondessa do Espinal | Lousã, Lousa 3200-054, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lousa
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Weekend in Lousã”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very nice and cozy classic hotel, close to the fabulous Lousã Sierra. A great option for anyone who love the countryside and want to explore the sierra.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Google Translation
Estimado Jorge Santos
Muito obrigado pelo seu comentário e pelas excelentes fotografias:)
Até uma próxima oportunidade.
Melhores cumprimentos
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    52
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
65
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour. Our advertised accommodation was for a hotel in Coimbra but was booked out, so our guide was directed to bring us here instead.

It was about 7.30pm when we arrived and our room was in the new section and was quite nice. We had a set menu for dinner, and it was acceptable. Breakfast was also quite good. Service was a bit hit and miss, got the impressions that they were not used to coach tours here. Wifi available in the public areas, however they did provide us with a cable to access free wired Internet in our room.

The pool area looked nice, as did the hotel generally. Unfortunately, we were not there for long enough to comment on much else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you vey much for your comments. Hope you can stay with us next time you come to Portugal.
Best Regards
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This place still feels quite new and perhaps this is one of the reasons there is a slight soullessness to the place. Or may be it was because we took the cheap option and stayed in one of the new rooms instead of the old palace! However, it is quite beautiful and had it been better weather while we were there we would have made better use of the pool and garden. Dinner in the panelled dining room was fun - although very quiet the night we ate there. Be warned that Lousa itself is fairly drab. Head up to the old castle in the hills behind the hotel for some nice walks and perhaps check out the restaurant close to the castle - we didn't get a chance to eat there but it looked great. There are some beautiful old stone villages clinging to the hillsides high above Lousa which are well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Might be worth asking for an old palace room if you're looking for some character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comments here on tripadvisor. It sure helps us to improve and provide every day a better service to our guests.
The new wing rooms are modern stylish rooms, with good views. The palace standard rooms have indeed more character, but don´t have such views as those on the new wings. We recomend the Superior Palace rooms, where you have good views and can feel the atmosphere of the old palace.
Hope you can stay with us next time you travel to Portugal.
Best regards
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have just come back from Portugal and stayed here for 2 nights. It was a bit tricky to find in Lousa but when we asked a local where to go he simply jumped in the back of our car and took us straight there.
We stayed in the new wing and found the rooms large and very comfortable. The old wing has lovely big rooms where we were able to stretch out. There are some great eating places in Lousa although we had to search them out. Really good Chinese restaurant near the Lidl store when you come into Lousa and our cheapest meal in Portugal in a small place just behind the church.

Room Tip: Go for a new room in the newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comments here on tripadvisor. It sure helps us to improve and provide every day a better service to our guests.
Hope you can stay with us next time you travel to Portugal.
Best regards
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

I would really have enjoyed our 2 nights here if we had stayed out of the restaurant. The public rooms in the hotel are nice and the bedrooms very clean and well appointed. We had a room in the new block (incredible value!) looking out over the gardens and pool which themselves were well kept and very welcome on a hot day. The location is good - just 25 mins drive from Coimbra and in a friendly and attractive village with several bars and a couple of restaurants. On our first evening we were excited at the prospect of dining in the beautiful old dining room - what a let down! Service was sloppy and I was brought the wrong order. I then sat watching my companions wrestle with their meals which were overcooked and poorly executed. Finally my fish arrived so dry that it was inedible so I sent it back and went hungry. The table next to us also were unhappy with their food. The restaurant manager simply did not know how to handle the situation.
Next night we ate at a local restaurant near the square; El Gato served excellent food (huge portions) at half the price of the Melia. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Take the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacioDaLousa, Guest Relations Manager at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comments here on tripadvisor. Hope you can stay with us next time you travel to Portugal.
Best regards
Manuel Mexia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena-Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We spent two nights in this wonderful hotel.
. A refurbished mansion ,not too distant from Coimbra (about 30 km) .
Certainly Lousa is a small village not too much to offer,but the 20 miles to make in terms of locaton are definetely worth the trip!
We had a junior suite in the new added area. Quiet spacious and well furnished in an elegant modern designed style..
We enjoyed the swimming pool and the reading areas ,all cozy and luxoriuosly furnished.
The restaurant is situated ,according to the season :inside in a wooden anscient medieval roomwith woden case ceiling ( a cassettone) ,outside in an open terrace above the swimming pool.
A perfect location for those who love peace and the sescluded environments hating the turistic branded hotels.
Food & service were superb. Dishes inspired by territorial flavors.
Reception attentive .A specific mention merits the Manager who was very kind and ready to help offering suggestions on itinerary and sites in the northern area.
Last ,but not least he speaks english and italian fluently.
We definetely recommend it to anyone,the quality /price ratio is very good

Giacomo and Elena Cassotti.

PS .Un consiglio speciale per gli italiani: é davvero un gran bel postoe vale la pena farsi i 30 km da Coimbra,utilizzando questo hotel come base per le escursioni nell'area!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

From the time we checked in, during our stay and checked out. The staff and management were wonderful and very helpful. We stayed in the palace, the room was lovely and clean. The pool was nice and refreshing when the temperature was 37! Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were always on hand if you need anything extra! We had an evening meal in the restaurant, first class chef deserve the Michelin star. We will be back in September.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel

Address: Rua Viscondessa do Espinal | Lousã, Lousa 3200-054, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Lousa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lousa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palacio Da Lousa Boutique Hotel Lousa
Melia Hotel Coimbra
Sol Melia Coimbra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.