We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax at the Beach House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Beach House to your Saves list
The Beach House
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Vivian bay, Kawau Island 0920, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi!
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Relax at the Beach House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I spent a couple of nights at the Beach House for a family celebration. A luxurious lodge in a very beautiful location, with impeccable service and food to die for - a great relaxing mid-week getaway that I would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, General Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Beach House.
It was a pleasure to host your family for the 80th Birthday celebration.
We hope you will come to Kawau Island again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew & Sandra.
Lodge Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
22
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Andrew and Sandra are great hosts with outstanding cuisine from the kitchen however the accommodation experience was disappointing. Fabulous setting so the potential to deliver on the promise of luxury remains but with the bathroom in need of repair, the finer details and quality amenities are missing at this point. It seems renovations are to follow. Although not Luxury Lodge prices, the cost seemed inflated given their current offering for a beachfront queen room. Great potential to be very special!

Room Tip: Wait until the beachfront rooms are renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, General Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Margot,

Just to let you know our beach front rooms are being renovated as from Friday 13th June.
We would like to thank Richard and yourself for your constructive feedback on your experience at The Beach House. It was a pleasure to host you.

Kind regards,

Andrew & Sandra
Lodge Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a quick winter weekend away here in May and it was great. Very relaxed, informal and the food was fantastic. We had the place to ourselves and the hosts were perfectly available but discreet, leaving us to feel relaxed and enjoy the place.

I'd love to go back in summer as even in winter we had a beautiful golden beach and the water is crystal clear.

Dinner was a highlight, really very good. The sweet parsnip and vanilla sauce especially. This isnt 'resort food'. The family run team are genuine chefs. Highly recommended and a real foody treat.

The only criticism - no sky in the room when it said it was, but that's a minor - everything else was very good, very relaxed and these guys run a great place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had enjoyed several amazing lunches at The Beach House before having the opportunity to stay there. When we stayed we were really spoilt both in food and hospitality by the wonderful hosts Andrew and Sandra. Would absolutely recommend, and have since made a booking for some close friends for a special birthday present. Max T

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is an idyllic spot within easy access of Auckland ( one hour drive plus 20 minute boat ride). The lodge is private, immaculate and luxurious. The hosts simply add to the experience with their friendly relaxed style. The food as they told us in Matakana the night before "is to die for"! Breakfasts were our choice, dinner one night a 3 course meal and our second night a degustation of unequal standard.
We could have swum 10 metres from our bedroom in the beautiful sandy beach but chose to wander the island through the native bush exploring and reading our books.
An unforgettable experience. We loved it and plan to return. Thank you Andrew and Sandy

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

From the moment we stepped directly off the pier to the resort we were treated like kings and that was just describing the service.
Just as we were thinking about lunch the fresh fish was delivered directly from the sea on to our plates, you don't get any better than that. For dinner Andrew's 23 years of being a chef was highlighted in his presentation and taste which left us sleeping like babies for the night. If you want a 1-2 days romantic escape with great food, service with plenty of great places to walk around an island then I can highly recommend the beach house.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were met on the beach and welcomed to a sumptious lunch on the deck under the branches of the pohutakawa tree with a view across the sea back to the mainland. It was all very impressive and the food and service were superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 1 Vivian bay, Kawau Island 0920, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kawau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Kawau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House on Kawau Island is a unique slice of New Zealand paradise combining the best of the classic Kiwi bach experience with some laidback luxury. Truly a place apart, positioned on the edge of the golden sands and serene waters of Vivian Bay, under the spreading branches of an ancient Pohutukawa, The Beach House is in perfect harmony with its stunning natural surroundings. The property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.