We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, lovely walks, coupled with the stunning Mansion House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Mansion House
Mansion House Bay, Kawau Island, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, lovely walks, coupled with the stunning Mansion House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went on the Kawau Water Taxis Mansion House Cruise, which provides more than enough time on the water. You leave Sandspit at 10.30 and get to Mansion House Bay around 11.30am.

The trip lands at Mansion House, which is spectacular, even more so considering its history and its importance to NZ. We managed to look around the house, have a picnic lunch, and complete the walk to the Copper Mine Lookout returning via Redwoods track and Two House Bay in the time available. Neither track very challenging (although the last part from Two House Bay to Mansion is a little steep) and our 7 year old managed just fine.

We'd recommend just the Mansion House Cruise if you are physically capable of walking the tracks. Take a picnic and lots of water. If not, the Mail Run, which has less time on the ground, may be more appropriate.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mailboat Trip To the Mansion House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very enjoyable trip on the Mailboat, stopping at the Mansion House. We didn't go for the BBQ on board, preferring to spend time at the Mansion House and they have a good cafe/restaurant in the grounds. House being refurbished but very interesting and surprisingly under-stated considering it was one the Governors Mansion.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historical house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I liked the history. The boat trip out there was good. Have been there quite a few times over the years and it is good to see how it has been looked after and improved

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Royal mail cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The Royal mail cruise around Kawau island looked good on the brochure. However, for what they charge $$ (lunch is extra) surely they could provide a cup of tea and biscuit for the 4hrs on board. My advice is to disembark at Mansion house 1st stop and enjoy the grounds and cafe. The boat trip whilst pleasant, is a after all a people and cargo shuttle first! Wish the staff at ticket sales were more descriptive and open before reliving me of my money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moorlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The mailboat trip to Kawau Island was the highlight of our trip to New Zealand.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The mailboat trip to Kawau Island and the Mansion House was certainly one of the highlights of our recent visit to New Zealand.

We were the only tourists on board the mailboat, other people were going about their business. The post lady cooked an excellent bbq lunch for us on the back of the boat.

The scenery was spectacular, the captain very friendly and informative. The Mansion House is undergoing refurbishment, but was an interesting place to visit.

An excellent and memorable day, and strongly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mansion House also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.