We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neighborhood favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meson de Calahonda

Meson de Calahonda
C/ Los Adarves , 87 | Centro comercial El Zoco, 29649 Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Spain
+34 952 93 21 00
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Meson De Calahonda is located at the open Shopping Center (El Zoco) in the Urbanización Calahonda. It is decorated in a rustic Spanish Style.Our cuisine is a blend between the traditional Spanish style and a Mediterranean touch.We are a Spanish,Traditional Restaurant with moré that 20 years of experience!! Highly Recommended¡We Would like to invite you to try our mediterránean cuisine!!All our products are fresh and homemade!Lovely Food & Quality Prices.Excelence Wines Selection.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neighborhood favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We rented a condo in the area for a week, and this was my favorite spot for dinner. Excellent food (soups to start, Hungarian goulash, sole meuniere, kebabs, etc), nicely priced house wine, friendly staff, and very cozy atmosphere on a cold winter night. I think there were only eight tables inside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    58
    17
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Tried this restaurant after reading other Trip advisor reviews and we definately weren't let down. The staff were so pleasent, the food was second to none and all washed down with a lovely bootle of wine and all this at such a resonable rate.
So good we went 2 nights later.
Both times we started with the House Tapas and this was fab, Between both nights we had the Duck, lamb, chicken & pork kebabs and Rabbit and bacon and one was as nice as the other and all served up with a lovely selection of fresh vegtables
My only complaint was I just couldn't manage a dessert but you cant have it all
So if you are in this area or even near by definately give this restaurant a call.
Quiet small and cosy so call and make a booking so not to be disappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lovely people, food excellent. Winter inside really homely and cosy. Prices are reasonable. Good menu selection. Food all freshly cooked. Adivsable to book. When in Spain, we always eat here a couple of times a week and have never been dissapointed yet.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nearly missed this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We initially walked past this restaurant to go to another one nearby but they were unable to accommodate us so we went back to Meson, really glad as we could have missed out on a superb meal. We had the set menu, (ate at 8pm) three courses for 13 euros. The service was excellent, food great, freshly cooked. My one little gripe and just to make others aware, we were given a small taster of a delicious sausage & some sort of lovely cream cheese, but when we got the bill a charge of 3 euros were added to the bill. We were given a complementary champagne cocktail to start so this made up for the nibbles. All being said we would go back again if in the area again. The restaurant was busy but we managed to get a table, but I can imagine it could be difficult at other times.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Charming and Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whenever I'm in this part of Spain, which is usually at least twice a year, I always choose to visit this restaurant which produces high quality, varied food at an affordable price. Unless you go early at 7pm, just as the restaurant is opening, you'll need to book in advance but despite it's small size it offers a large number of covers. Be prepared to wait for your food as the service is slow at the height of the evening period but enjoy the ambience. Typical main course has a price range from 8-20 Euros.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson de Calahonda also viewed

Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 

Been to Meson de Calahonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson de Calahonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.