We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Report” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Orquidea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sitio de Calahonda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Orquidea
Save
You added La Orquidea to your Saves list
c/ Don Jose de Orbaneja s/n, 29647 Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Good Report”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

So far this year – 2012. I’ve had two breaks at La Orquidea. My first visit was in a Penthouse unit and the second time in one of the more basic units.

Before booking, I extensively reviewed what was on offer in the local area, and I have to say that I was motivated by some keen ‘winter’ pricing by La Orquidea.

I enjoyed my stays so much, that I’m planning to go back before the end of April for my third visit this year!

I found these units very clean and well equipped to handle my stay. I had every convenience expected, and enjoyed a very comfortable and stress free experience. The staff in the office are both friendly and efficient. Absolutely no complaints from me! Some of the top floors have some awesome views and sunsets. You will probably need a car to fully enjoy what the local area has to offer. I was doing some writing, so I was able to enjoy the area during the day and undertake my writing late afternoon and evening. Taking advantage of the total peace and quiet. The area seems quite safe with a high degree of security within the units.

Room Tip: Good views from the top floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We wanted a quiet and slightly distant location for our holiday. Our family, with a 10 month child, had a great time at the resort. We did get the quiet and peace we wanted, with sights clos by car. Had some fine dining in the local restaurants, but also good cooking in our own kitchen :)
We arrived on a bank holiday, but had all well prepared, no problems arose. After our trip we found that som of our items where left behind. All was located and Flavio did more than one could ask for getting the stuff back to us by post

Thank yu for a great stay, and fine service!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We booked for one week with us -( our Grand-daughter and her friend )- Through Worldwide Exchange Club. Pictures looked great - That was the best bit.
The apartment was faded - grubby - The kitchen units were in a bad state of repair, the 'air conditioning' was a free standing circular fan which didn't even stand straight. There was no maid service at all... Not even a change of bed linen...The towels supplied were to do 4 people all week without one change.. We had to bag up our rubbish and carry it ourselves to the outside of the resort, and walk about 100 metres down to a lay-by in the road to get rid of it. We have never been in a 'resort' where you were given 2 rolls of toilet paper and if you needed more you had to buy it yourselves... Which obviously we had to do. when you leave you have to bag up your bed linen yourselves and leave it out for the cleaners.
There was we were told a 'courtesy bus which would take us down the very long walk to the nearest place with shops - pubs and beaches...It was however broken down and it seemed no-one even knew where it was and if it would ever be repaired.
A taxi journey cost about 12 euros for a return trip from the resort to amenities.
If you don't walk too good be prepared to stay in....it's not a gentle stroll up and down.
The pool cleaner only cleaned the 'big bits' of stuff floating in the pools.
We were told there was 4 or 5 pools....2 in the main part were open..the other open one was out to the main road and uphill about 200 metres...
Wi-Fi was available but only at a price.
The Good Things.....
The reception staff were very pleasant - the bar was run by a great couple - who tried their very best to give good service - and they did.... Good food and a bit of entertainment.... They made us very welcome.
We had car trouble and had to (unfortunately) stay for an extra 3 nights,and the reception were very good handling that.
That's the good bits....
When we asked for the extra 3 nights we were told we would have to move to another apartment,so we did as we were told and bagged up the bed linen,however they then told us to go back to the same apartment...And it was hours later they - after us complaining - eventually put clean linen in the apartment.
The overall impression of the site is that may have been nice once upon a time - but alas the fairytale ended years ago. We would not reccomend this resort to anyone we know or don't know!

  • Liked — The Bar - The Kids Water Shute - Then Leaving
  • Disliked — Lack of services and self maintenance
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

La Orquidea is just what you need for chilling out and complete relaxation.
Our apartment was spacious and immaculate. The furnishing was pleasant and the flat screen television (with 5 English channels) was welcome when we needed to simply stay in and relax.There were ample cooking facilities in the well equipped kitchen, ideal for when you've had enough of dining out. There was a washing machine, iron and ironing board - so no problems with laundry and the drying was taken care of via our large balcony.
The bar served delicious food at fair prices and the beer and lager was 2.50euros a pint (cheap). Les and Anita (the bar owners), were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The pools and water shute looked clean, fresh and inviting but we didn't take advantage of this facility.
We loved the ambiance of La Orquidea and have stayed there at least four times previously and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: If there is a penthouse, go for it. We've stayed in one previously and it was so spacious and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaOrquidea, Manager at La Orquidea, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Hi Joy
On behalf of all our staff at Orquidea I would like to thank you for sharing your views on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you like our well equipped apartments and find them tremendous value. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Management
La Orquidea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was our last true family holiday together before I left for University so we wanted to make the most of it. La Orquidea did not disappoint. Our penthouse apartment was affordable and very well fitted out, modern, spacious and comfortable. The apartment was open plan, with a kitchen facing onto the lounge and a large balcony which had a table, chairs and sunbeds all set out. The bedrooms have great storage space. I would say the single bed was a wee bit small for me as I could not move about much in it, however despite the cosiness it was comfortable. The bathroom claims to come with a "Jacuzzi"...basically this is a bath with water jets in it. Nonetheless it is an added bonus, and is quite relaxing! TV has loads of English channels which is great. The hotel has 4 pools, although only 3 of these were in use when we arrived. Pool areas were kept very clean. The waterslide is great for kids, even if it is only small I had a bit of an issue with the sunbeds, as I have a pet hate of those plastic sunbeds with struts that dig into your back. This can be resolved however by paying 75c a day for a mat from the lobby, and then it is much better, or do what I did and buy a lilo. Service was great, the woman on desk spoke perfect English and even though when we arrived it was her first week nothing was too much trouble, and they can book any tours/excursions you like at the front desk. Location is a bit of an issue. The apartments are up a steep hill far from the centre of town, and to get there you either have to walk about 30 minutes (if you do this you must be fit, especially in the heat of summer), pay 6 euros one way for a taxi or 5 euros return per person (3 one way) on the road train, which very rarely keeps to its timetable and often does not show up at all. Calahonda itself is a bit off the beaten track, it's quiet and there are plenty of good restaurants and some supermarkets, but very few good shops. There is nothing along the beach via 2 bars and I was a bit disappointed there seems to be a lack of "buzz" about the place.The beach is very picturesque however, and because of the quietness you can easily find a sunbed. You have to walk all the way down the hill, and along a motorway before reaching a bus stop to take you to Marbella or Fuengirolla for the nearest decent shops (both about half an hour's ride away). In saying that, the views from our balcony were impressive, on a clear day you can see Gibraltar and even very faintly the Northern Tip of Morocco. If you are looking for a place away from the tourist traps, however, and you have a car, I would highly recommend it (plenty of parking space on site).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaOrquidea, Manager at La Orquidea, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Hi Ryan

On behalf of all our staff at Orquidea I would like to thank you for your detailed and comprehensive review of your stay at La Orquidea on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you found your penthouse apartment, spacious and well equipped and great value for money - this is a frequent comment from our guests. Indeed our apartments have been rated as 'some of the largest on the Costa del Sol'. Glad you enjoyed the pools and the waterslide.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly family resort and judging by the number of repeat visitors we have, we must be doing something right.

Hope you enjoy university.

Management
La Orquidea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a friendly resort with a nice atmosphere but was appauled at how dirty the swimming pools are, just take a look around the wall tiles really filthy. My children are grown up but if I had younger children I would not allow them in the pool, a friends family all went home with ear infections.....worrying.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaOrquidea, Manager at La Orquidea, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Hi Beany

Many thanks for staying at La Orquidea but we were disappointed to hear that you felt that the swimming pools weren't clean. Reception staff received NO complaints at all about pool cleanliness either during August when you stayed or at any other time this year and our maintenance staff and cleaning staff are constantly praised by guests at the immaculate state of cleanliness of our apartments, pools and gardens. Nor were there any complaints regarding ear infections. I am sorry that you didn't complain to our staff at the time when the pool maintenance men would have checked the pool and if necessary would have carried out further pool maintenance. We have many, many guests who come back and visit Orquidea every year and we welcome their feedback. If there is a problem during their stay we encourage our guests to report it to us, so that it can be rectified at the time and guests enjoy their stay and come back again next year. As you say, we are a friendly family resort and have welcomed our guests back for over 20 years now and many have become great friends. We would love to see you again next year with your family so please don't hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards

Management
La Orquidea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Apartment in need of a good refurbishment. No dining area just small breakfast bar ok for 2. Big balcony with views down to the coast. Onsite bar did meals but night we ate there only one other couple was in. Best restaurant 10 mins further uphill, 2 courses and drink for 2 people 30 euros. Resort high up from coast but we actually enjoyed walking it as it is not all steep (we are in our sixties). 'Strip' of bars and cafes part way down breaks the walk. A small road train does go up and down the hill (2 euros single, 3 euros return) so you are not lost if walking is difficult.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Orquidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Orquidea

Address: c/ Don Jose de Orbaneja s/n, 29647 Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas > Sitio de Calahonda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sitio de Calahonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa del Sol Holiday Rental Apartments La Orquidea is an exceptional Andalucian pueblo style Family Holiday Resort in Calahonda, on the Costa del Sol, Spain. We are situated mid-way between Marbella and Fuengirola close by the port of Cabopino, a quiet Marina with its own truly Mediterranean style. Noted for its peace and tranquility, we are set in sub-tropical gardens where the sun shines 320 days of the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Orquidea Hotel Sitio De Calahonda
La Orquidea Spain/Sitio De Calahonda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Orquidea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.