We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henleys

Henleys
Dona Lola Commercial Centre | next to McDonalds Resort Complex, 29649 Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Spain
+34 658 63 86 84
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the Beach side of the A7 main road opposite the El Zoco Shopping Centre. Next to the McDonalds Dona Lola Resort Complex.Henleys is situated on the second row of Restaurants at the 'Malaga'end of the row of Dona Lola Restaurants
Hunstanton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What A Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We look forward to Henleys every year. We've had many great meals and wonderful evenings there. David and Shirley are so welcoming. We look forward to eating some hearty meals at Henleys again next year. We highly recommend them.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    8
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“A must go to on every visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Regular visitor to Calahonda and used to go to Henleys with my wife but now that I am on my own I still like to go with friends or on my own. Always get a warm welcome from Dave & Shirley and their staff. The food is excellent quality and very good helpings! As a regular visitor the thing I notice most is that I am by far NOT the only regular visitor, I am always seeing familiar faces in this restaurant which in itself says volumes for the quality, value for money and service. This is an evening only restaurant, cosy inside out of season but with several outdoor tables when the weather is warm but like a lot of the restaurants in the area views are of other people eating and drinking however this is outweighed by the friendliness of the other customers puzzling over the compelling table quizzes. Have recommended to others and have always had good feed back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Food & Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have been going to Calahonda for a number of years and once we had discovered Henleys Restaurant we have eaten there regularly since. The food is excellent, and Dave and Shirley make you so welcome.We would recommend it to anyone,if you don't go you won't know what your missing!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
“We went prepared to splash out............”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Although a regular visitor to Spain, this was the first visit by myself and a family party of 3 others to this restaurant. This was our last night so went prepared to splash out….
The restaurant has space for 30 diners and we thought had been redecorated since our last visit. It is pleasant inside – toilets are upstairs. We arrived at about 7.15 and were the only ones there for most of the time. Parking is shared with all the other restaurants at Dona Lola and the view from the front is onto a brick wall. Local children of other Bar owners play outside!
A good point, they encourage reviews on Trip Advisor.
They provided a high chair when asked. Shirley is the front of house and Dave the Chef. The menu is limited and there is a kids menu. There is a set menu. A big plus is the waiting time quiz – last year it was names of cars, this year catchphrases – well done!!!
We had a set of taster starters – excellent and hot. In the mains, the ribs were good, the salmon was ok. I had a sirloin which was tasteless, my dessert pancake with watery strawberry jam and a blob of ice cream was basic and my daughters mousse had the consistency of chocolate sauce and she got ice cream, not cream to accompany. The carafe of house rose, looked like raspberry cordial and tasted very bland.
Overall we thought it was okay but didn’t feel like a last night feast – our scores (out of 10); Food 9; Service 9; Ambience 7; Value for Money 8.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almoradi, Spain
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“ALWAYS have to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

David and Shirley always make us so welcome. Because we were on site for almost 4 weeks this time we had to have a couple of visits. Everything we ate was great and the house wine is excellent - although a little more expensive than what we are used to (at home in Almoradi we are more used to a supermarket purchase of 1 to 1 euro 95 cents).

Will be back later in the year.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henleys also viewed

Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 

Been to Henleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henleys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.