We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection & great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mandragora

La Mandragora
Calle de los Adarves, 29649 Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas, Spain
952930440
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dublin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great selection & great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The taster menu at €24 is just fantastic - one starter between two and a main course each ! The menu is varied and different from the usual run-of-the-mill Costa restaurants. Service was courteous and attentive. Pil Pil to start which was great. Then mains of Weiner Snitzel & Slovakian Goulash. Both lovely meals. I have to day that the value for money was terrific. Variety of dishes on the menu was refreshing. Good house wine. Great service. Definitely a return visit is planned. Well done and thanks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    50
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The menu here stands out, as most other restaurants (in the area) seems to have the same menus, this place have a more stylish menu. We visited this place twice and did not regret to come back. We received good wine recommendations; our waiter knew her wines. The service was good, and the meat was tender and tasteful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Found this restaurant on tripadvisor. Don't think you'd know it was there otherwise given its hidden in a courtyard of a building with small shops and other restaurants. The food is excellent and has a very good selection. Service is a little slow if you are in a large group but otherwise cannot fault it. I'd recommend the prawn pil pil and the goulash.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Stands out from other restaurants locally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ate here after reading good reviews on trip advisor and were very pleased that we did. The menu choices and quality of food was a bit different from what we saw on offer in other places so it was really nice. Service was friendly and efficient and we felt relaxed and comfortable at our table. Particular highlights were the fillet steak with goats cheese and pedro ximinez sauce - possibly one of the tastiest things I've ever eaten! Also the spanish black pork with honey and the plaice dish. It's well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had a wonderful evening with a superb meal and a good wine.The service was very good as was the general ambiance.Very good selection of food on offer cooked to perfection.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mandragora also viewed

Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 
Sitio de Calahonda, Mijas
 

Been to La Mandragora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mandragora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.