We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bells Estate Great Ocean Cottages

Bells Estate Great Ocean Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bells Estate Great Ocean Cottages to your Saves list
Bells Estate Great Ocean Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   545 Great Ocean Road, Bellbrae, Victoria 3228, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We recently spent a night here and were very disappointed with the place. Whilst the location was charming, with its lake, alpaca and pony, the accomodation was not value for money. We stayed in the 2brm cottage, which for $330 night, fell well short on its amenities. The cottage is advertised as having full kitchen facilities - maybe the case if you expect a sink and fridge tucked into a corner and not much else. The linen provided for the rollaway bed was torn, and the beds themselves are very low budget and uncomfortable. The worst thing of all is that the cottage is one of two ie semi detached, with NO sound insulation, so when the neighbouring guests arrived home at midnight, it sounded as if they were right in the room with us. The owner was not there on arrival, which was OK, but made no effort to come and meet us when he did come back. Overall, a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Dont sleep in the 2brm cottages, they are too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just had a wonderful night's stay... Terry was helpful, friendly and very pleasant. The room was spotless and in great repair, the kitchen well stocked and the open fire was charming. We were toasty warm and very comfortable. Thanks Terry... We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Was a bit confused when we arrived - honestly thought it was going to be better than it was.
It wasn't really bad - but it could have been better.... Lots of bugs, spiders & mozzies, was looking forward to a nice spa - but it was out of order! The double bed needs replacing, it looks like its about to collapse & I swapped a king bed at home for a single bed, not knowing I would be sleeping in a single! The website is a bit misleading I think ..

Terry was really nice, and the property is beautiful - it just needs some small improvements!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid December 2011. Terry, The owner was so friendly and helpful. The accommodation was great. We were travelling with our 18 month old and Terry had set up a travel cot and highchair on arrival. The two bedrooms were a great size, with plenty of bedding and towels and was very clean and homely. Set on beautiful land with a grazing alpaca and pony and a solar powered pool and a gym. Fully kitted out kitchen and Terry kindly let us check out late.. handy with a little one. We regret not being able to stay more nights. Great place and good proximity to Bells beach. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellbrae
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#2 of 6 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
20.8 mi away
Cumberland Lorne Resort
6.0 mi away
Anglesea Beachfront Family Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Ti-Tree Village
Ti-Tree Village
#1 of 5 in Ocean Grove
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
2.7 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 6 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
2.8 mi away
The View on Grossmans
The View on Grossmans
#4 of 7 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bells Estate Great Ocean Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bells Estate Great Ocean Cottages

Address: 545 Great Ocean Road, Bellbrae, Victoria 3228, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Bellbrae
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bellbrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bells Estate Great Ocean Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bells Estate Great Ocean Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bells Estate Great Ocean Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.