We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mo:mo night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gurkhali Nepalese Restaurant

Gurkhali Nepalese Restaurant
49 Landsborough Parade | Gemini Resort, Golden Beach, Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
07 5437 5604
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Nepali
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
“Mo:mo night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Value for money delicious mo:mos. unlimited servings for $20.00. My family & friends liked it. Will go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Must Try!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Absolutely Amazing Food here.Admittedly alot of the dishes we ordered were a little on the sweet side but they were all fantastic.. We didn't order curries which I'm guessing wouldn't be as sweet.
We had the steamed pork Mo Mo dumplings, himalayan fried pork and apple chat. Great start
to the evenings meal.
Mains were whole fried snapper, duck with plum sauce and orange chilli caramel pork.... DELICIOUS!!!!
We took left overs home as planned. We then debated having dessert (bring so full & satisfied) and decided we should order them anyway... Boy are we glad we did.. The gurkhali melt was to die for, and the banana dessert was nice too.
Being locals who are truly loyal to our favourite restaurants, this restaurant is now a new favourite on our list and deserves massive recognition.
After being hesitant to try them after reading the bad reviews, we are so glad we did & can't understand what went wrong for them.. We will back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had never eaten Nepalese cuisine before and were pleasantly surprised when the meals came out. The food was absolutely delicious, beautiful fresh ingredients with loads of flavour. Will definately go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Qld
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight on the Sunshine Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Visiting the Sunshine Coast and drove past a sign for this restaurant outside the Gemini Resort. Wasn't expecting too much, as I have been to Nepal and food outside its homeland often disappoints, but didn't feel like a club meal so thought we would give it a go.

We arrived very early on a Saturday night without a booking. We were welcomed warmly and quickly settled. Service was great. We ordered a very reasonably priced wine and then an entree of mo-mo (Tibetan steamed dumplings) which were fresh and delicious. We followed this with mains of Sherpa chicken and pork belly, plus a luscious salad. This food was utterly delicious and I wouldn't hesitate to return, just sorry I live too far away to visit regularly. Prices were also very reasonable and the staff delightful. I hope they do really well. With such freshness and quality, I'm sure they will.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum. Memories of Nepal come flooding back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just great. Staying at Gemini - ordered a meal that was delivered to our room last night, we even got tot specify the time of delivery. Went down at about 5pm to order and, the smell -- was in Nepal a few years ago and it all came flooding back. An excellent addition to the cuisine of Caloundra and very good for Gemini Resort guests..! Tip for the new... Meal sizes are bigger than you think. I only just got through my entree and had my main for lunch today. I'm not a huge eater, but and average adult.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkhali Nepalese Restaurant also viewed

Caloundra, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Gurkhali Nepalese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurkhali Nepalese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.