We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve in Sunset Decks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Decks Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunset Decks Guesthouse to your Saves list
Sunset Decks Guesthouse
4A Engina Crescent, Sunset Beach 7441, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Bujumbura, Burundi
1 review
“New Years Eve in Sunset Decks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The morning that we left (0330!!) in the morning,both June and Lance were there to say goodbye!!!The evening before,we drank wine with them in the bar-living untill midnight!New years eve,at our request, they organised a bbq at the guesthouse!The bubbles to toast at the beach at midnight were foreseen by June and with them we ended 2013 and started 2014. This is the feeling we will remember!We feld part of the family!A great,warm,well runned guesthouse with 2 owners who make everybody feel at home!
A place to return to whenever we travel again to Cape Town!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

First I arrived late at night but I was owners of the guest house were waiting for me. I was made to feel and home, the place was beautiful and comfortable and way beyond my expectations. The owners of the guest house made me feel like I was family and still remember them till today, hopefully one day I will getva chance to go back and spent more time there. The room are clean, well kept spacious and beautiful with a beautiful view at the roof top. There is wine bar if you would love to sample and food is awsome. Honestly this is home away from home. And when I had problems they kindly offered their generous help.

Room Tip: This place offers personlized service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

lovely, clean, well maintained. Wonderful hospitable owners. home cooked breakfasts. Comfortable bed with lovely duvets and linen. Rooms have a private garden too. highly recommended... looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a private garden, area is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

June and Lains have set up a great situation altogether in Sunset Decks in order to relax and enjoy in the best possible way your break from your stressful every day routine..

The place is sighted in one of the most beautiful and quiet places around Cape Town. Engina Crescent itself is a very nice neighbourhood.

Breakfast is great. Very tasty omelets prepared by June. Kids get a special pancake treat.

Garden surrounding the rooms encloses a nice selection of tropical plants. The rooms are spacious clean and nicely decorated.

Our 16 month daughter particularly enjoyed roaming in and out of the room in a safely enclosed part of the garden out of our room. June installed a baby swing which she very much enjoyed.

The most important is the way June and Lains treat their guests. They are kind hospitable people that highly enjoy running their business inevitably resulting in great relationships with their guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort West, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I had a week-long getaway at Sunset Decks Guesthouse and it was an absolute treat. Excellent breakfast and very close to the bus station that takes you into the city and V&A Waterfront. Thank you June for making us feel part of the family. Would love to visit you again someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice guesthouse with helpfull hosts. The breakfast is custom made. The Sunset beach is expensive and piecefull area for total relax.
The beach is mainly for watching the Table mountain or the walking dogs with their owners- too many stones and a bit cold water.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Had a most wonderful weekend stay at Sunse tDecks, and can only echo what all the positive reviews say. Amazing hospitality from June and Lance, comfortable rooms and ideally positioned.
Would not hesitate to recommend and cant wait to sneak away for another weekend !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Decks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Decks Guesthouse

Address: 4A Engina Crescent, Sunset Beach 7441, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the exclusive suburb of Sunset Beach, we are 500m from the world famous Kite Surfing Beach, with majestic views of Table Mountain. Each unit has a toilet and shower or bath, its own fridge, cutlery, crockery, TV, DVD and patio with braai (bbq) facilities. Every morning we have scrumptious full English breakfasts in the dining room & join us in the fully licensed pub or on the decks for sundowners at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Decks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Decks Guesthouse Sunset Beach, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Decks Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.