We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly host and really great accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Lodge Sunset Beach

Sunset Lodge Sunset Beach
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sunset Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Lodge Sunset Beach
Save
You added Sunset Lodge Sunset Beach to your Saves list
6 Ornata Street, Sunset Beach 7441, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Friendly host and really great accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Thanks Bill! My young daughter and I had a super time in Cape Town, but it was your little haven of calm that we retreated to every day - with comfortable and luxurious accomodation, very clean and our every need taken care of. Located in a well appointed spot of Cape Town. Just lovely!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was my third time to Sunset Beach. I have enjoyed being in this comfortable, clean home
very much. The owner, Bill, is always willing to help and give good advice as to places to
visit while in this beautiful town. I enjoyed his wonderful breakfasts and he was always ready
to offer coffee or tea after an afternoon away. Bill is like family now, and I would stay only
here while in Cape Town. He has become quite a gardener, and his beautiful flowers are
an added treat. Bill is thoughtful and it shows. There are a couple of birds that return
daily, knowing his bird feeder will also accommodate their needs. This is a safe place, and close
to the bus. Hope to see you next year!!!

Room Tip: Loved my ground floor room, but awesome view from upstairs balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was a very last minute holiday, for a first time visit to South Africa, literally only days before travelling! Bill answered many questions by email and Skype. With so little time to plan, Bills reassurances and trip advisers comments, decided for us Sunset Lodge here we come!!
As everyone has already said, Bill is a ray of sunshine, wanting you to make his home, your home during your stay. Nothing is too much trouble . He too, arranged transport to pick us up at the airport, sat over a cup of tea arranging car hire to be dropped off at the B&B. looked online to help book tickets for table mountain etc, and phoned to book afternoon tea at The mount Nelson.
Clean comfortable rooms, mega breakfasts, whatever you want, convenient safe location.

Room Tip: Huge room on balcony with view of table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our 2nd visit and it was better than the first. All credit to Bill and the great breakfasts. A great place to unwind for a couple of days before going off touring. Bill is always willing to help and put you right.

Again thanks Bill

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa, Congo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The family and I have only stayed at 4 or 5 places in SA, this place is by far the best. The owner of the property makes this place even better. Great/sizable rooms, large pool area and only 300 meters from one of Cape Town's nicest beaches. Can't thank Bill/owner enough for making our 2 weeks in Cape Town the best holiday ever. My family and I will only be staying here for future visits. Only 15 minutes from the Waterfront too, so you get the best of both worlds (shopping/attractions and quiet beach time).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of 5 adults (myself, my husband, our 2 daughters and the boyfriend of one of them) staying for 5 nights. We were warmly welcomed throughout, from the first 'come in, I've just got the kettle on, would you like a cup of tea?' onwards. We had the 3 rooms by the pool and were urged to treat the place like home. We braaied (barbecued) several evenings by the pool, and Bill (our host) even did a load of washing for us, returning everything beautifully ironed the next day at no extra charge. The rooms were comfortable and spotless, there was always hot water when we wanted it, and a beautiful cooked breakfast was served at whatever time we wanted by the pool. I would highly recommend this guest house and it's lovely owner Bill to anyone wanting peaceful, relaxing, comfortable and reasonably priced accommodation in Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORKING
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just enjoyed two relaxing weeks at this beautiful location with a kind and helpful host. Bill made us welcome from the start and we did feel as if we were guests in his home and not just a guest house.

The rooms downstairs, of which we had one, fronted onto a lo vely garden and swimming pool with lots of bird life. Bill helped enormously with transport and arranging bookings for the trips which we took.

We would both thoroughly recommend Sunset Lodge, it is within easy reach of Cape Town itself and a good spot to venture out further afield.

Try it and you won't be disappointed!


Matt and Jackie Martin

Room Tip: Upper deck with views of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Lodge Sunset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Sunset Beach

Address: 6 Ornata Street, Sunset Beach 7441, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the owner of Sunset Lodge I pride myself on the quality of service and hospitality provided during your stay. Sunset Beach offers a safe and quiet location and an excellent base for visiting all of Cape Town's major tourist attractions. Sunset Lodge offers the choice of five beautifully appointed en-suite guest rooms, each with large patio windows leading onto their own patio, solar heated pool and beautiful gardens. My breakfasts are hearty and healthy and will give your day the perfect start. I also have an English style bar where you are invited during your stay to join me for complimentary sun-downers and to meet your fellow guests. Bill Takher. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Lodge Sunset Beach Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Lodge Sunset Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.