We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and stylish digs a quick drive to heart of city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Breeze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantic Breeze to your Saves list
Atlantic Breeze
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   41 Bay Beach Avenue, Sunset Beach 7441, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Sunset Beach B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and stylish digs a quick drive to heart of city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We just checked out after 4 wonderful days at the Atlantic Breeze, and I have already recommended it twice to others on their way to Cape Town. We are a family of 4 with two kids aged 1 and 3. On one day's notice, Jo went out and bought a crib for our use (she has only been in business a few months, and we were the first guests with a baby), set up an extra bed for our older boy, and stayed up till midnight to welcome us despite our failure to call (when our flight to CT was delayed two hours). No extra charge for the 2 kids, by the way.

The lion room, where we stayed, was large enough to accommodate the extra twin bed and crib with room to spare. Bed was comfortable and the room stylish and cozy (down to the free cookies and kit kats replenished each day).

The public areas were modern and beautiful, both indoors and out. We also really appreciated the honesty bar with quite cheap prices for wine, beer, spirits, and non-alcoholic beverages (plus free tea and coffee, both in room and in public areas downstairs).

Jo was a superb hostess -- she cooked delicious breakfast each day from a fairly extensive menu, had wonderful suggestions on restaurants and activities, and was a pleasure to be around.

The guest house is located just 2 blocks from Sunset Beach, which provides unparalleled views of Table Mountain, especially at sunset (hence the name). We used the beach to take our family Christmas photo, such a great background it was.

Wifi is available, and inexpensive (25 rand for 100MB usage), but not free. Speed was adequate.

Racking my brain for any downsides, the most I can come up with are these:

1) Could have used a bathroom fan to help dehumidify after showering, but otherwise the bathroom was beautiful;

2) Our room, and most if not all the others, are internal and open into the open concept upstairs of the house. This would be fine, but the doors don't provide much soundproofing. So you could hear people coming into the house from the room even with the door closed. This isn't the sort of place that attracts drunken, obnoxious college kids, so this really falls more into the category of potential concern. I certainly was never bothered or awoken by anyone other than my own kids.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanticbreeze, Owner at Atlantic Breeze, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the time and effort you took to write this review, especially in everyone's very busy schedule this time of year. It is vital for us to learn what our Guests believe we do correctly and this feedback helps us to be mindful always and to aspire to offer the best hospitality we can. Thank you again and may I extend best wishes to your family for a very Happy and Healthy 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our stay at Atlantic Breeze for five nights was absolutely exceptional. The welcome was perfect, the room was perfect (Zebra Room) and the breakfasts, well, they were to die for. Jo & Roy have a clear winner here and that's without mentioning the beach just a 400 metre stroll away. The backdrop to the beach is the iconic Table Mountain and guests must visit the beach just to see the sunsets. A fantastic place to stay which we highly recommend without hesitation. A brilliant base for seeing all that the area has to offer.

Alan & Sally C

Room Tip: We had the Zebra Room which was perfect. It overlooks the front of the hotel. A large and very sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanella-1, Owner at Atlantic Breeze, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
May we thank you for this very valuable feedback. We are committed and aspire to provide our Guests with the best possible stay ensuring they feel comfortable and right at home straight away, which is why your positive feedback is so important to receive. Sunset beach yes is a glorious location with the stunning views as you say just around the corner from us and it is a great base to see more of the Cape. Thank you once again and your enjoyment was our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I cannot express enough, my gratitude to Jo for her warm, freindly and welcoming hospitality, on my recent week long business trip. Her establishment is impecably clean, tastefully decorated and always has a feeling of comfort and relaxation. Breakfasts are more than sufficient with outstanding cuisine, also having Jo's personal touch.
She also attended to small requests with enthusiasm and energy.
Atlantic Breeze is truly an experience whether you are on holiday or business, I will definitely be staying there again in the future.
A heartfelt "Thank You" Jo for your freindliness and your effort, I couldnt express to you enough how much it was appreciated!

Room Tip: The Rhino room was tastefully furnished with an outstanding bathroom, everything I needed was on han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanella-1, Owner at Atlantic Breeze, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Kevin, thank you so much for taking the time and effort to provide such a lovely review, it is much appreciated and also good for us to learn what we are doing right. I have some more guests in this week from your Company and again they are delightful people and I and my team will take good care of them. Hope very much, Kevin to see you again here and once again your feedback is invaluable. Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I had such a great stay at Atlantic Breeze about a week ago and felt right at home with the excellent service i got from the TEAM.The rooms are neat and I love the garden area with the pool and braai area.It was nice to know that the beach was like 1minutes walk away from the guest house and not to mention the nearby shopping centre where you can get a variety of snacks and takeaways.

Atlantic Breeze 41 Bay Beach Avenue, is a must for your next Cape Town Trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanella-1, Owner at Atlantic Breeze, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you Esra for the time taken to provide this review, it is much appreciated. Particularly as you mention the team, as it is the whole team that help to make our Guesthouse special with a home from home atmosphere we try to create. Myself & my team are delighted with your feedback, thank you again and hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I held a small and intimate wedding reception for 36 people at Atlantic Breeze (and stayed overnight on our first night as a married couple). I cannot praise Jo enough for the spectacular venue, food and hosting that her and her team provided on our special day. Jo provided an exceptional and professional service which made our wedding day and night an absolutely amazing experience which I will never forget.
Our room (the Zebra room) was lovely and spacious, very clean and beautifully decorated.
The breakfast was one of the best I've had in ages!
Thank you Jo and Roy for such a wonderful party and stay.

Room Tip: They are all lovely - Zebra and Giraffe rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanella-1, Owner at Atlantic Breeze, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you both so much for deciding on Atlantic Breeze as your venue for your Special Day. It was our absolute pleasure to help create just the day you wanted. May we extend to you once again our very best wishes for good luck, much happiness and fine health - have a great life together, you are a special family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at Atlantic Breeze with my mother for a week. The guest house is even better than it looks on the website! It's kept spotlessly clean and has a wonderful homely feel. Compared to hotels which I often find impersonal and bare, the guesthouse is beautifully decorated with African paintings and stunning photos of animals. Adding to the home from home experience was the service offered by Jo, the owner. She offers a very high quality and delicious breakfast of fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurts and pastries and cooks hot food to order, exactly how you want it. For example, french toast with fresh fruit, full English, smoked salmon scrambled eggs and more. She went to great lengths to make our stay the very best. My mother admired the large wooden giraffes she has in the hall and she arranged for 2 to be purchased and delivered to the guesthouse and even helped us wrap the 5 foot parcel so we could fly them home! She literally bent over backwards to look after us - service which i've never had anywhere else I've stayed.  She also has two gorgeous cocker spaniels who we loved playing with (don't be put off if you're not a dog fan - they don't have the roam of the house!). 

In terms of location, Atlantic Breeze is just around the corner (2 minutes) from Sunset Beach. The beautiful sunsets prove why the beach has its name. We used the new bus service that goes directly into Cape Town in its own bus lane so avoids all traffic. The stop is just up the road from Atlantic Breeze and it was very easy to use. We enjoyed relaxing in the lappa in the evenings with drinks from the very reasonably priced honesty bar. The location offers a perfect combination of a delighted place to stay with a quiet location and lovely beach with easy access to the busy city and the sights, as well as the wineries in the hills. 

If visiting Cape Town I'd certainly recommend staying at Atlantic Breeze. I will definitely be returning. 

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a 6 night stay at Atlantic Breeze. We highly recommend it. A modern property, it is spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bedrooms are well appointed, each themed - ours was Zebra. Our hosts, Jo and Roy provided a warm welcome and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The location at Sunset Beach provides easy access to central Cape Town. We spent the first 2 days exploring Cape Town on foot and the hop on / hop off bus before hiring a car to visit Cape Point, Hermanus and the Winelands.. The Atlantic Breeze was excellent. Stay there if visiting Cape Town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are themed as per safari animals - bedcover/pictures etc. Our was Zebra and it was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Breeze

Address: 41 Bay Beach Avenue, Sunset Beach 7441, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Sunset Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sunset Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Breeze 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Breeze is conveniently located in the exclusive suburb of Sunset Beach, just a 15 minute drive from the exciting city center and famous V & A Waterfront.Rooms are decorated in an modern African theme, offering en-suite bathrooms,satellite television, air-conditioning, hospitality tray, safe, wireless internet access,Comfortable guest lounge, Braai area, pool, secure parking.We are in walking distance of the beach, Sunset Beach is an internationally renowned venue for wind & kite surfing. Close to the Milnerton & Atlantic Beach golf curse and the Killarney race course. For the business executive we are only 10 minutes away from Montague Gardens, Paardeneiland & Century City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Breeze Sunset Beach, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Breeze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.