We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Luxury, Incredible Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lana Thai Villa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mae Rim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lana Thai Villa
Save
You added Lana Thai Villa to your Saves list
Samoeng Old Road | Private Residence 7 at The Four Seasons Resort, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Mae Rim
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Luxury, Incredible Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

Staying at the Lana Thai Villa is a really wonderful way to enjoy Chang Mai and the superb Four Season Resort. We highly recommend it!

The suite is lovely... located conveniently beside the mind-blowing Spa, it also has a lovely view over the Four Seasons grounds.

Khun Nui, the Lana Thai house manager, is thoughtful and helpful. As a suite guest, you can use all the facilities at the hotel (spa, tours, food, concierge, lounge, pools, cooking school, etc.). You can also arrange tours, drivers, restaurants, etc. through Khun, at a fraction of the price of 4S options.

We couldn't believe that we were able to stay in the Four Seasons, with arguably better service (regular rooms don't have a Khun!) at a fraction of the price.

We kept wondering..."what is the catch?"... and were so happy to discover that there isn't one! This place is just one of those incredible "finds"... you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

There is nothing more peaceful than sitting in the sala that leads from one of the beatiful rooms at Lana Thai Villa, early in the morning, and taking in the calm and peaceful atmosphere all around you. The views of the manicured grounds of the Four Season's Hotel and adjacent Residences, with the rice paddy in the back, offset by the distant mountains that slowly emerge from the morning mist, birds chirping, chatter from the maids hurrying to their daily task, and the occasional perfumed waft of plumeria blossoms remind you that you are in a tropical paradise.

This is the third time that we have stayed here and it was each time a wonderful experience. Khun Nui, the manager of the Villa is attentive to every need one could have and always helpful with a smile. We love the exquisite decor of the place, and there is nothing left to desire for your personal comfort.

This is the perfect place to enjoy a luxurious vacation at a 5 Star Resort, with use of the Four Seasons' Pool, Restaurants and the famous Spa. Pure bliss!

We can't wait to come back,
Christine & Fred
San Diego

  • Liked — The calm, the surroundings, the service, the decor of the room, everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

This is a hidden gem, and a fantastic deal to boot. The Lana Thai Villa is a bed and breakfast run out of one of the private residences at the Four Seasons Chiang Mai. In other words, the owner of this residence runs a little hotel out of his property when he is not there. A friendly resident manager looks after the guests. He can book transportation etc.

Lana Thai Villa is not formally associated with the Four Seasons, but all staff members at the resort know about it and treat folks staying at LTV like guests of the hotel. All hotel services are available to guests of the LTV; all you need to do is open a charge account with the hotel when you arrive.

The villa itself is beautiful. We stayed in the Chinese Suite, which was very spacious, with a large balcony overlooking the resort, where we took breakfast each morning (a hearty continental breakfast is included in the room rate). The suite had a work area and a large bathroom area with stand-up shower and separate toilet.

The hotel provides maid service.

The resort itself is truly beautiful and peaceful, with a wide range of services. The main infinity edge pool is gorgeous. There is also a pool for the private residences. There is free internet in the library and free DVD rental from the concierge. The gym is clean and serviceable, though nothing special. All of these services are available to LTV guests at no extra charge. The general level of the staff here is fantastic. We had dinner one night at the Thai restaurant, and it was one of the best meals of our entire trip.

The only drawback is that the resort is located about 25 min from the center of town, making trips to the city inconvenient. However, the resort is located near to many interesting outdoor activities. As such, for the full experience, it makes sense to stay at the LTV for a couple nights and in town for some additional nights.

The Lana Thai Villa offers you the change to stay at the Four Seasons Chiang Mai at a fraction of the true cost. It is one of the best deals I have ever seen.

  • Liked — The patio overlooking the resort; the beautiful and peaceful grounds
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

We have had the fortune to visit Chiangmai for the third time in the past 5 years - each time we chose to stay at Lana Thai Villa. It’s the only place that we will stay whenever we visit Chiangmai.

Each time we come, we get absolutely spoil. The service is brilliant, we have Khun Nui, the residence butler who took such personal interest in our well-being. We even got lovely gifts from him on Christmas’ Day.

My favorite place is the little breakfast nook outside our room that we spent lovely mornings having fresh fruit juices and hot croissants and getting visits by the cardinal birds pecking away at the lovely red flowers just at eye’s level. I spent many an afternoon reading or just snoozing away in this corner.

We get to enjoy all the facilities the Four Seasons has to offer – yet we paid for less than ½ the rate of the Four Seasons.

Chiangmai is beautiful with gorgeous weather and many things to do and see. Even staying for one week seemed too short. And the place to stay is the one and only Lana Thai Village. Plan your trip and book Lana Thai Village early in advance to ensure that you will enjoy the same experiences that we had!

Au revoir Chiangmai and Lana Thai Villa !"
Emily

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

Lana Thai Villa was the perfect holiday! The villa is appointed beautifully- combining modern features along side perfectly chosen antiques and objects de art. In addition to all of the facilities and ammenities of the Four Seasons resort, Lanna Thai Villa provides private management service exclusively for your every need! An incredible find!

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

Our review stands in the light that we are the most spoiled people in regards to the most luxurious hotels in SE-Asia. Truly Lana Thai Villa managed to exceed our highest expectations. The setting of the Residence is magic (either during day watching the mountains, rice paddies or at night when everything is lit up with torches), the Lana Thai Suites are on the penthouse level of one privately owned Four Seasons Residence.
Besides the probably many people well known excellent leisure activities and pampering which all can be used from the hotel, the best about Lana Thai Villa is your personal resident manager Khun Nui, who is managing and caring for you to be spoiled without noticing. He presents the morning breakfast to your most convenient time on the outdoor sala with knowledge and a smile. Whenever you intend to leave the suite, Nui already knows instinctively and organises the staff to prepare it. Nui is also your best concierge regarding where to enjoy time outside the residence (though we hesitated to leave too often as it is so good). Also when you order in room dining, he is one who will care for a romantic unforgettable dining experience on the sala (without mosquitos, as you are on the penthouse level!).
So go if you want to be spoiled, but only tell those who deserve, so this paradise gets preserved!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

We had the pleasure to stay twice at Lana Thai. Every time we left the place we have the strong feeling that we will come back!
The stay in this luxurious villa brings us the sensation of peace and great joy. The personal touch of the service and the design give us the sensation of being treated as a Member of the royal Family. The villa is in the Four Season but its privately own by someone who personally cares about you before the day you arrive and the day who leave. We can enjoy the full facilities of the Four Season without paying the price of the Four Season.One word do not hesitate to come because you will come back!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lana Thai Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lana Thai Villa

Address: Samoeng Old Road | Private Residence 7 at The Four Seasons Resort, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mae Rim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lana Thai Villa Hotel Chiang Mai
Lana Thai Hotel
Hotel Lana Thai
Lana Thai Villa Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lana Thai Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.