We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gettaway,excellent services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   68 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Samoeng Old Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Third Night!
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Mae Rim
5.0 of 5 stars 551 Reviews
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great gettaway,excellent services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

My friend and I stayed for 3 days and it is most beutiful resort I have been to. I love setting of the whole resort . We felt like actually living in a Northern Thai village with the rice field and baffalo in the resort.The staffs were excellent in their service and really created a home atmosphere. The reason I am giving 4 points out of five is that the pavillion needed some renovation to perfect the standard for a FS. For example the closet door in our room doesn't close tight . They also need to work on the sound isolation too because you can hear cleary people walking upstair when you are living in the ground floor of the pavillion room, as well as knowing someone was using the restroom because of the flushing water heard . However, we had a great stay there and will be visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    58
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
95
297
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

The service and atmosphere of the hotel is excellent. There is a dedicated guest relations officer serving you right you arrive at the lobby. Generally speaking, the service standard of Thailand's operators is high. But, Chiang Mai Four Seasons offers you a personalized feeling without any pretensions.

I appreciate most the floral decoration. They arrange a wide variety of flowers into small and big pot into very extraordinary arrangement.

The cooking school is fun. It charges USD150 per head. You will be amazed when the driver drives in the newest mercedes sedan to the nearby Thani market. But in the Chiang Mai city, you can find loads of kitchen school which is one-fifth of Four Seasons charge you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2006

This was supposed to be really good fun. We had stayed at the D2 the last time, but as a hotel reviewer, I had to try the Four Seasons as well. And it was horrible, for a hotel of such high standards, and enough money to make it good, it was appalling.

The rooms were old, they were in need of renovation, if you had guest above you, and they were moving, you could hear them. The pathways were very dark at night, and the buggies are dangerous. The TV set is old compared to the D2 which has plasma TVs.

The location is way too far from the city, and the only thing you can do is go Elephant trekking, which you can arrange from downtown as well, so it doesn't matter.

Next time you go to Chiang Mai, and want to spend little money, it's be much better to go to the D2 ...

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2006

I have stayed in almost all the four seasons in the world and this tops them all! So romantic and wonderful. It is a must!

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2006

This is the best place I have ever stayed in! We were welcomed with jasmine garlands. I'm not sure what peoples issues are with the rooms; we stayed in a mountain view room (although we couldn't see the mountains for the trees) and I loved the room - really felt like I was in Thailand.

Really enjoyed the cookery school and the morning food market is worth getting up for. We had the romantic dinner in the rice barn which can be hired privately for 1 couple per night - it's very special.
Tennis courts were impressive and very good quality rackets.

We're normally quite an active couple but we couldn't bring ourselves to leave the resort, except for one night to check out the night market. There's a really good buzz in Chiang Mai city itself.

I hope someday, I'll be able to go back to this resort. The only downside for me would be that the prices are extortionate - although that does mean you won't see any chavs here! I also agree with the review from Germany that it could do with another restaurant. It was quite nice just to sit on your porch (sala) and have room service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cologne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

Exceeded all expectations - quality always the best, prices high. Excellent tour desk, with luxury transport (Mercedes, 4WD and Elephants). Cleanest water buffalos ever seen. You will not be disappointed, but the credit card bill will be a shock!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 68 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Samoeng Old Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of gourmet coffee and tea with relaxation atmosphere situated opposite to the Four Seasons Resort Chiangmai. Serving organic coffee and homemade cakes. An art gallery feature local an international artwork. Work exhibited is changing every 6-8 weeks through out the year. High craft premiums and handmade designed-twisted products are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Mae Rim
Four Seasons Chiang Mai
Four Seasons Thailand
Chiang Mai Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.