We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure will return.. better hotel out there.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Away Suansawan Chiang Mai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Away Suansawan Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Away Suansawan Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   43/1 Moo 6 | Mae Rim-Samoeng Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Mae Rim
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not sure will return.. better hotel out there.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We ( family with 2 young kids )stayed for 2 nights during Thai new year in April. The best point for this hotel is excellent customer service and helpful hotel staff.. the room was clean but could not get good room temperature .. was hot most of the time and room is dated.As a Thai person I found the foods and drinks there was expensive. Also breakfast was very cold..not many choices .You need a transport to get around if you want to go somewhere..or hire a van from the hotel to take you... Wifi single not very good.. had to walk to the lobby area when I want to use internet to get good single....

Room Tip: You need a transport for this hotel .. And only one restaurant there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
35
45
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I visited Away with my partner. This attractive resort is set in a beautiful area with forest covered mountains as background scenery.

The resort offers a chance for a relaxing and pampering stay. There is a restaurant offering a variety of good meals at reasonable prices, and a great variety of tasty cocktails!

Having eaten in Bangkok prior to coming here, for such a smart resort I was surprised that the meals were reasonable in price. Including some tasty northern Thai dishes such a as a pork curry.

Whilst here we used the moped to explore the local area and visit a very beautiful waterfall. Chang Mai is a little further to travel but easily accessible, and worth exploring for the night markets and city life, However staying at such peaceful place with stunning scenery, a lovely pool and quiet setting ensures a relaxing stay, whilst in this area.

The spa is fantastic, offering a variety of pampering treatments. I had an aromatherapy massage, and was very well looked after by the friendly staff.

This is a family run resort, with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We immediately felt welcomed and looked after.

We also took advantage of the temple tour put on by the resort - this was an amazing opportunity to take in the Buddhist temples particularly one situated on Doi Suthep.

There is plenty to do, see and explore in this area, yet equally time for quiet and restful relaxation.. the perfect balance !

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this as a place to stay for those want to explore Chang Mai and the surrounding areas.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My partner and I decided to stay here after having the hotel recommended by a family member, and we had a fantastic time during our stay.

The resort is owned and run by an English/Thai family who went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. We found the hotel staff to be similarly obliging and attentive, regularly checking to make sure that we were well looked after.

The resort itself is well maintained and surrounded by beautiful gardens filled with trees, orchids and the odd butterfly, with a small lake forming the central focal point, and a backdrop of mountains and forest. The location is perfect for those seeking a little tranquility, being in a quiet area slightly outside of Mae Rim town to the north of Chiang Mai, but still close enough to enable those who wish to explore to be able to drive, take a taxi, tuk-tuk or rent a motorbike from the hotel (a fun and cost effective option!) to go and see the sights or pop into town for a drink or meal (although the on-site restaurant serves up some pretty delicious fare for those who would rather take it easy).

Day trips from here into Chiang Mai to see the marvelous temples, the night bazaar or other sights are easy, either alone or as part of one of the organised tours. The hotel is also not far from some wonderful scenic countryside in areas like the Doi Inthanon National Park or Mae Wang; large areas of forest scattered with small hill tribe villages, rice terraces and even the odd elephant! My partner and I spent some time trekking in the hills, and it was wonderful to return to the resort after a long time walking to relax, unwind, and just to swim and enjoy a cool drink by the pools. I can also highly recommend the Thai massage that the hotel offers - perfect for working out those aches and pains.

All in all, I can thoroughly recommend choosing 'Away' as a place to base yourself in northern Thailand, and we will certainly be back one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Read the good reviews from TA, booked then stay 3 nights. First impression was great, gardens, lake and trees, what a natrual environment!

However, later found out the resort is soooo isolated, far from twon and nothing nearby, got no choices have to dine in the only one restaurant at the resort, which the food was not tasty, with boring menus and overpriced.

There is no activities inside the hotel at all, they do arrange some tours going out, but in the resort itself is very very boring.

Might suit olderies to escape city life but not for young ones.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 for a week after being really tired out with our work. This resort provided the refreshment we needed .... from the unique lakeside villa accommodation to the swimming pool to the glorious and well-priced food in the restaurant. It was so peaceful in a secluded location yet also conveniently located not far from the main road.
This place should not be missed.
One day we had trouble with our air con and the service man turned up in less than a minute to fix it. In the end he couldn't, so they moved us to another villa, which still a very comfortable rest for us. If you would like to be adventurous it is worth hiring their motorcycle and driving up the mountain - lots of awesome scenery and other attractions along the road :-)
Will definitely visit this peaceful and clean place again

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little more for the Lakeside Suites - their verandas are nested over the lake a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Booked this hotel for a spa treat after lots of "activity" in the city of Chiang Mai.

The room we had was lovely (lake view) with a lounge area with sofa, coffee table, tv and patio doors which opened onto our private veranda. The only thing that let the room down was the small bathroom and noisy a/c and no option of a fan.

The setting is private with nice, well kept gardens and two pools. One of the reasons we booked this resort was for the sauna which unfortunately, was not working.

The evening meals were not satisfactory. We ordered fish and chips which was full of msg and in-edible. The couple on the table next to us ordered something different and they were disappointed for the same reason also. The evening meals are overpriced and poor quality.

Breakfast is excellent, although there was a buffet one day we were there which was poor.

The manager was conspicuous in his absence. The staff in the restaurant are absolutely fantastic but with limited English so it would have been nice to have a matre-dee to help these charming waiters/waitresses out.

There was some convention at the weekend we were there and a party in the evening which did not disturb our stay. What did disturb us was the mini bus drivers (several of them) playing music and "hanging" around the pool table making quite a bit of noise in the evening and early the following morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluweyze, General Manager at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, especially as the fish and chips has been a very popular meal. I must point out that we do not use msg in our kitchen and the fish was sourced from the main supplier to nearly all the main hotels in Chiang Mai.
I was surprised that you say the food is over-priced, most main dishes are between 120 and 200 Thai Baht ($4 to $6.5) and are very competitive against other 4* hotels in Chiang Mai. We don't have a maitre dee but we are a boutique resort.
What surprised me most was the comment on absent management. I normally work a 7 day week ensuring the smooth running of the resort and I meet quickly with guests who have a problem or need advice on tourist options. All guests need to do is request at the front desk to see me. I did spend 2 days away from the resort in March while my wife was in hospital in Bangkok but as I will work the other 29 days I don't consider this 'absent management'.
Fans are available on request to guests who prefer them. I can find no record of any complaint about noisy air-conditioning but we would have repaired it or moved rooms if there was a notified problem.
We have ensured that there will be no recurrence of noise from drivers and I apologise for any problem that was caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We loved this boutique resort. Set 30 minutes from the city it benefits from masses of trees, gardens and a divine little lake. Rooms are mostly villas,beautifully decorated in a light and airy way whilst retaining a measure of Thai-ness. The resort is so quite, walking to breakfast is an event in itself watching the birds feeding in the trees or looking up to the mountains.
The staff went out of their way to be helpful, they seemed to offer a natural friendliness.
The location was excellent as a base to visit the area attractions and we took the evening trip to the Night Bazaar for the obligatory shopping.
Wi-fi, DVD rental, boat and bicycle hire were all complimentary, a lovely touch.
There is a decent fitness room and a lovely little spa.
The resort was very individual but had the standards required for a comfortable stay. We will recommend this resort especially for families and couples.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Away Suansawan Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Suansawan Chiang Mai

Address: 43/1 Moo 6 | Mae Rim-Samoeng Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mae Rim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Away Suansawan Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a relaxing, boutique, garden resort situated in the beautiful and tranquil Maerim Valley, a 30 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and in the centre of the wide range of Chiang Mai's attractions. Offering a full range of recreational activities the facilities include two swimming pools, a beautiful Thai spa, a fitness centre, a sauna, and a lakeside relaxation sala with library These facilities are surrounded by the finest relaxation environment and nature. The resort features 47 understated rooms & villas in huge sub-tropical surroundings with approximately 1,000 trees, an impressive lake, 3 fishponds and many garden areas with relaxing garden salas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Away Suansawan Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Away Suansawan Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.