We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“monkeys wear chains around their necks for money from tourists!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chiang Mai Monkey Centre

Chiang Mai Monkey Centre
Mae Rim to Samoeng Road | Mae Rim Valley, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand
053 297700
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 32 things to do in Mae Rim
Attraction details
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“monkeys wear chains around their necks for money from tourists!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Such a distressing attraction, i lasted less than 3 seconds in this complex! soooooo sad to see beautiful monkeys ripped from their natural surroundings and living in a concrete pen WITH CHAINS AROUND THEIR NECKS! what was even more distressing was seeing groups of people (families with small children, young couples with no brians i guess) actually watching the show! we were lied to and told that the monkeys were protected from poachers this way and were released back into the jungle after 4pm but needed to return again. later on i found out that this is now illegal and has been for over 10 years, all animals are free in thailand and are now protected by law, it is only a handful of visitors that keep these parks alive. i was so disgusted, the silly guide apologised but i don't think my message got through. STAY AWAY FROM THIS ATTRACTION! oh and if this is not distressing enough, just nextdoor to this is the elephant riding school and crocodile farm no doubt with the same goal.......cruelty!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    5
    9
    104
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unless you want to ruin your day avoid at all costs!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I wish I had read the reviews before going there. As soon as you cross the entrance some women will ask for money so you can hold a baby monkey that lives in a very small cage and is moving so much you can feel his distress. Then they will try to sell you some fruit so you can throw it to the poor animals. The monkeys have very short chains around their necks or live in very small cages.

The "show" has surprisingly a few good moments where we can see that the monkeys are not stupid and can do smart tricks like identifying numbers written on wooden tablets. But that only made me angrier. I wanted them to be respected and have appropriate care like I see in other zoos around the world. Instead the whole place seems amateur at best and it is definitely a tourist trap.

If you hate animals and want to feel depressed and angry then go. It's going to make your day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Place should be shut down! I agree.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Every monkey they have lives with a band around it's neck on a line. As soon as we walked into the compound, I knew we were going to regret it. It is really sad. Please don't give these people money!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Centre should be shut down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went to the Monkey Centre as I was in the area visting some other attractions. Had I have read the reviews on TripAdvisor first I would have avoided the centre.

When you walk in there are several monkeys in small cages throwing themselves around because they are so distressed. The cages aren't big enough for the monkeys, there is barely enough room for the monkey to fully stand up.

After seeing these monkeys in their small cages you are taken out to the back yard to see a lot of open space. If the space was turned into large enclosure the monkeys would have had enough room, but instead they are chained by the neck to tree stumps. Their chains aren't more then 50 centermeters long - they can only pace around their tree trunk.

After seeing all these poor monkeys tied to the tree stumps they are taken out to perform for us in a small stage area. They ride bikes, do maths, pick coconuts and swim for coins.

The centre should be shut down, it's disgusting.

AVOID AVOID AVOID!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“More fun than sleepy tigers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had a lot of fun being close up with animals that's awake and not sleeping.

I got to touch and take as many photos as I wanted with the baby and adult money. The entry fee was 200 baht per person. You can pay 20 baht for a basket of food to feed the monkey (which also helped calm the agitated ones). They also have a small shop that sells monkey toys. Very cute monkeys. Make sure you keep your valuables safe as the baby monkey likes peaking into your pockets haha.

We got to see a show which advertised as 30mins but it was much quicker than that. It was very entertaining but I can tell from the photos they've been doing the same shows for a long time and I suggest they do something new to keep the tourist coming back because business doesn't look good.

Besides that that's not much else to see and do.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Mai Monkey Centre also viewed

Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Chiang Mai Monkey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiang Mai Monkey Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.