We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best attractions in chiangmai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maesa Elephant Camp

Maesa Elephant Camp
Mae Sa subdistrict, Mae Rim, Thailand
+66 5320 6247
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$926*
and up
6-Day Northern Thailand Tour: Ayutthaya...
Ranked #3 of 17 Attractions in Mae Rim
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the best attractions in chiangmai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I would say the elephant ride which cost 800baht for 2pax is really wotthwhile. Riding into the jungle n with the smell of elephant dung all around, its smething u cant find in a city.

Feeding of elephant is also allowed with buying of banana+sugar canes at 40baht. You may also snap a pic wit the elephants who will coil their trunks around you. However please do not hold the bunch of bananas near the elephant as they will jz snatch it frm your hand. Each elephant is being assign to an owner which makes it quite interrsting.u will also get to witness the owners bathing their elephants in the river.

After tht its elephant show,u will be amazed how smart these elephants are.they can kick football, throw darts and even paint. Their painting is unbelievable n one may purchase it.

Overall a very great experience with just 250 baht for entrance tix

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    267
    80
    29
    52
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“amazing elephants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went on an elephant ride at this place it was fantastic.We loved every minute of it.These elephants can paint we watched them.They also sell their paintings.you can watch them bathe they love it.Got a nice big kiss from an elephant,this is a must see place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Entertaining - But Only Use CASH !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Wife & I Decided To Take A Trip To The 'Maesa Elephant Camp' While We Were In Chiang Mai. Very Glad We Did So - They Are Such Amazing Creatures And Although I Am Not A Big Fan Of Animals In Captivity, This Is Probably A Safer Place For These Amazing Creatures Right Now. I Would Highly Recommend This Attraction To Anyone But Be Careful When Paying For Merchandise - Using A Credit Card Is VERY Risky As Your Account May Be Compromised !! (Only Location I Used My Credit Card While In Thailand And THEY GOT ME !!). Also - I Did Go For A Ride And It Was Pretty Amazing But I Felt Like A Real Jerk When The Trainer Told Us It Was The 5th Trip Of The Day For The Elephant And She Was VERY Tired. For The Most Part Though, The Elephants Do Seem To Be Treated Very Well And I Would Not Hesitate To Go Back - I'll Just Skip The Ride And Keep The Credit Card In My Pocket Next Time !!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faugeres, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An amazing Experience on a very large elephant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We loved the elephant camp. It was a bit touristy but it was very well organised and clean and the show was fun. All of the elephants appeared happy and there was a great atmosphere.If you get there a bit early you will see three elephants bathing in the river and rolling in the water - adorable!. We chose to ride over the mountain to the long necked tribe village, and the most enormous elephant took us there.We thoroughly enjoyed the ride through the jungle and the mahoot took some great photos of us on our giant beast!It was a great experience which we will never forget.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was nervous going here, fearful that I would see animals doing things that were unnatural and seeing them being treat in a way that might distress me. How wrong I was, this is an amazing place, the elephants seemed to delight in their tasks. When they played football one ball bounced of it's foot and he stuck out his back leg to get the ball!! Their art work was better than anything I could do. We visited baby elephants and fed them bananas. We watched the elephants bathing. The best bit was the elephant ride, so calm, high up in the trees. All of the elephants were well treated. It was a special day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maesa Elephant Camp also viewed

Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Mae Rim, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Maesa Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maesa Elephant Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.