We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fountain Inn

The Fountain Inn
30 High Street, Cowden TN8 7JG, England
01342 850528
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Cowden
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Lovely old pub with friendly guvnor and locals in pretty Kent village.
Harveys ales in great condition.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fab pub grub!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to the Fountain last weekend for a meal with my husband and a friend. I must tell you all to try their Chicken and Ham pie - it is to die for. You need to get in quick as this dish is always the first to go. Great value for money too!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Village Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Visited often, both for a drink and food, never had a bad pint or any food that was not top notch
Open fire in winter beer garden for summer, locals & landlord all very friendly
Only point I would make is that it is in Cowden NOT Edenbridge

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We came here for an evening meal and stepped into a typical village pub with excellent food. They served me with the best lamb shank I have ever tasted! Highly recommended to thirsty and hungry travellers!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongara, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed at Becketts B&B and came here for tea both nights it was fantastic. Big serves and home cooking. Loved the Shank Stew I had the first night. Everyone was very friendly.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Inn also viewed

Hever, Sevenoaks District
Cowden, Sevenoaks District
 
Dormansland, Surrey
Penshurst, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.