We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish that could not have been better cooked.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Pot

The Lobster Pot
Main Street, Burtonport, Ireland
+353 (0)74 9542012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Burtonport
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Aughrim, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fish that could not have been better cooked.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived starving, and were told that they had sole as a special but there was only one. The sole was cooked to perfection and my wife had mussels which were also perfect. We had a portion of crab claws and they were just beautiful. If we are ever in the area again, we would return for another meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    28
    19
    8
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Oh dear, we visited this restaurant after not having been there in three or four years Our last visit had been outstanding. We were utterly dismayed with what we experienced. When we complained we were met with an expletive! Unfortunate that this place has descended in to mediocrity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim50z, Owner at The Lobster Pot, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I find your review quite unfair. You did not get greeted with bad language that is not my practice ever. I remember your visit vividly because my wife and I both came out to your table and tried to resolve the problem, however we saw very quickly that was never going to happen. The people next to you said and I quote I don't know what their problem was, ours was beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you like fish & fresh seafood, then don't miss out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Burtonport is a small port, but well worth a visit, especially if your hungry. The Lobster Pot is a great place to stop off for a pint and fresh fish food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Food excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Service and food were excellent. Mussels cooked to perfection and the sauce was mouth watering... staff very friendly and chatty. The place itself had a warm and costy athmosphere. Will be back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visit The Lobster Pot regularly when we go to Donegal, the garlic mussels for starting is a must, followed by the highly recommended the hereford beef

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Pot also viewed

Dungloe, County Donegal
Gweedore, County Donegal
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands

Been to The Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.