We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80's Budget American Horror Movie” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Colchester Feering

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Colchester Feering to your Saves list
Travelodge Colchester Feering
A12 London Road Northbound Feering, Feering CO5 9EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Feering
England, United Kingdom
1 review
“80's Budget American Horror Movie”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

How people on this website are reviewing this hotel as anything above 2** I don't know you must have stayed in a ditch the last time you went away and see this as an upgrade! The worst place I have ever stayed in the place smelt of damp, was dirty, marks on the bed sheets, spiders and daddy-long-legs gave you that homely Indiana Jones feeling. Tea and coffee facilities; I didn't even want to brush my teeth in this room let alone make a cuppa. I seriously thought I was on the set for a Texas Chainsaw Massacre movie, where each guest were to be killed of during the night! One of the lights didn't work in the room and the paint was coming off heavily marked walls and the toilet made very loud gurgling noises every half an hour bang on; at least I could now tell the time during my night of hell. Awful in the morning when I wanted to complain the two members of staff had left the front desk and were outside smoking and chatting together so I just left. I strongly recommend staying in the Holiday Inn Colchester Express close by which is excellent and like staying in luxury compared to this place. DO NOT STAY UNLESS YOU WANT TO EXPERIENCE THE SET OF FRIDAY THE 13TH!

Room Tip: Do not ever stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    34
    10
    13
See reviews for
34
36
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Usual travelodgeg room, reall good value if on a deal. Staff were great

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Booked at fairly short notice so wasn't able to qualify for the rates that these rooms are really worth, but had a reasonable stay none the less. I had a very friendly welcome (at 11pm) and a cheery goodbye which I think makes all the difference, The room was clean and quiet if a little tired. There didn't seem to be any heating control so the room was baking hot when I first went in, but it did cool down reasonably quickly. All in all no real complaints for the standard of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in a family room for 2 nights in April. Reception staff were friendly & helpful. The room didn't have enough bed linen, pillows or towels so we sent our teenagers to reception to tell them & a few minutes later they returned with the receptionist laden down with all we needed. We also were given lots of extra milk, tea & coffee sachets.
The room was clean, in good order & the beds were reasonably comfy & we slept well. It cost us around £54 for 2 nights which wasn't too bad.
We had breakfast both mornings at Little chef next door, had to wait ages to get served, had limited choice & expensive for what we got. If we'd had the time we'd probably have driven out to find somewhere better to eat, but being right next door, it was convenient for us at the time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Parking-Ok but needed to request a room overlooking car, space-usual smaller spaced room, cleanliness-ok, Quiet-not to bad, location-suited our purpose, food-had tea/coffee making facilities,but never enough tea/coffee scahets,but can request more if needed. There is a little chef but I dont eat there as I am not keen on the over priced and qulaity of there food. Value- ok for the price, Staff- polite,
In general Travelodge is a no frills,basic form of accomodation, it suited our budget,

Room Tip: If you are concerned about your car/content, try to contact in advance and request a room overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

One of the old style Travelodges on the edge of a motorway - we drove but you would need to for sure have a car there is no other way to get here it's in the middle of nowhere on a busy road.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here for three nights Feb 2012. Nice warm welcome and received the keys to room 12.All Travelodge rooms look the same but it was clean and without odours and useable. tv with free view channels, bathroom with a power shower over the bath and three good comfy nights sleep. There is a Little Chef next door for breakfast and a garage for snacks etc. We were visiting family so were not in during the day, but i would have thought it would have been peacefull enough, although there is a busy railway track somewhere close to the rear. There is also some very good deals to be had when Tavelodge are having a sale, we only paid £36 for three nights!! perfect and we will stay again often!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Colchester Feering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Colchester Feering

Address: A12 London Road Northbound Feering, Feering CO5 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Feering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Colchester Feering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Colchester Feering Hotel Feering
Travel Lodge Colchester
Colchester Travel Lodge
Colchester Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Colchester Feering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.