We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mains, shame about the cheese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Vous

Chez Vous
Limpsfield road, Warlingham CR6 9LA, England
441883620451
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Vous is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Warlingham
Price range: $23 - $58
Cuisines: French, British, Wine Bar, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chez Vous is our modern French Restaurant & Hotel in the heart of Warlingham Village, Surrey. Reputable local Chefs Martin Bradley & Laurent Pacaud invite you to indulge in their fine cuisine in a relaxed and contemporary atmosphere. Our surrey accommodation offers you a relaxing stay. We also cater for parties, events & weddings at home and at many Surrey venues. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great mains, shame about the cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I went with a friend - polite, efficient service though a tad slow at the end.
Good menu and great main courses - confit of duck with rum and pineapple jus very good. To accompany the remainder of our bottle of red, I ordered the cheese, having checked what was on offer. This was a disappointment - 4 cheeses, beautifully presented with date, apricots, grapes and celery - so cold! Certianly nowhere near the room temperature required for the flavours to come through and I wasn't left with any of the enjoyment that comes from French cheeses. La Barbe in Reigate is the winner for this course in my opinion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    61
    21
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great food but service let them down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Good selection and really good food, great selection of wines, would have been a great eating experience but really let down by poor service, had to wait ages for a 2nd drink in the bar. Got meals all mixed up lost my mains so the rest of the party had to start without me. Shame as the food was lovely

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Special lunch for best friends 50th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

well, i've lived in warlingham for 3 years and had the pleasure of being invited to a lunch for my friends 50th. my friend had private hired the bar and restaurant. canapés and champagne on arrival (delicious canapés with lovely veggie options) followed by a simply wonderful 3 course lunch matched with fantastic wines. Sean, the front of house manager looked after my friend really well and also was very attentive to my own requirements. i had the crab risotto, lamb for main and a trio of wonderful deserts. for me the highlight (apart from the food) was the service and how much attention the staff put into creating a special day for a very dear friend. we will be back!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable experience! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

With friends - visited on Saturday evening - our first visit of many!! Excellent food and service - with lots of little touches that made the difference.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fab food, but Fawlty Towers service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Having just moved into the area, we are keen to try all the restaurants and pubs to find out for ourselves which are good and which should be avoided. Second on our list was Chez Vous - an impromptu decision to have sunday lunch out. For those who just want a quick precis, the food here is delightful, bordering michelin star, but the staff, whilst friendly, fall short. I would still, however, recommend it. So, we should have known from the outset that it was not going to be straight forward. We started phoning from 10.30am, and right up until we left to drive up the road (12.15pm) the line was permanently engaged - obviously a fault on the line. So we booked last minute through square meal, just to make sure of a table. Upon arriving we were greeted nicely, but when we explained we had been trying to get through on the phone, and asked what was wrong with it, the front of house struggled to acknowledge what we were saying, and just ignored the question, despite repeating the question. She said she had no booking for us, but we showed her the confirmation on our iphone. We were told to take a seat in the "holding pen" by the bar. Sat like lemons in our coats, we watched as various groups of people arrived. Some people greeted, others not, some had their coats taken, others not, some offered drinks, others not. Two people serving front of house, with no real clear idea of who is doing what, is fascinating to watch - we watched for 25 mins. When we arrived there were about 4 other people in the "pen", which increased to about 10. Everyone deserves to be greeted and everyone should have the offer of having their coats taken.
We had our orders taken in the "pen", opting for just two courses, mains and desserts, so no starters. On going through to the restaurant, with our coats still on(!), we were grateful that they had set an additional table for us, as they hadn't seen our square meal reservation - a nice touch. Service in the restaurant was nice and polite, first glass of wine from bottle poured. bread was a choice of two types of french bread - so very limited, but nice. The food came and was delicious. Just two minor criticisms - if you know your customers are not having starters, then remove the starter cutlery, and in the very best restaurants, they know on a table of 3, who is having what, not having to ask. Food was great - cannot fault at all. Just a shame that we had to pour our own wine throughout the meal. When it came to desserts, we asked the waiter what the trio of desserts were - he didn't know. He went to the kitchen to find out, came back and one was not on the main list - chocolate opera. we asked what that was, he didn't know. so off he went to the kitchen, again. I felt embarassed for him. Desserts finally came and again were delightful and delicious. We weren't offered a coffee, so we got the bill and left, by which time the restaurant was full. So, as I said before, the food was really great, and we would definitely return for that. To make this a really top notch place, they need to get the front of house right, get someone there who has a real presence/personality and can manage a tight ship. A few higher chairs in the "pen" - the layout of which doesn't work at the moment. The average age on Sunday was 70+, and many struggled to get down low enough to sit on little stools / low sofas. And make sure the waiters know all the dishes, and get them to pour / offer a top up of wine. Then this would be a michelin star restaurant. Two courses for £19 and 3 for £24.50 on sunday, was excellent value - and the house white at £16.50 was perfectly acceptable. Bearing in mind you can easily pay £14 for a very average (chewy) sunday roast in a pub, I would recommend going here instead - far, far superior food. Yes, I will be back, but for the food, not the service - but we live in hope..........

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Vous also viewed

London, England
Warlingham, Surrey
 
Warlingham, Surrey
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Chez Vous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Vous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.