We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "wow" location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge to your Saves list
Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1636 Bridgewater Road, Cape Bridgewater, Victoria 3305, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hamilton Island, Australia
1 review
“A "wow" location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We did not have enough time to appreciate all the surroundings and the fabulous location. Excellent full English breakfast with happy service from Denis and his team of helpers. We would recommend a minimum 2 day stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

A beautiful, full of character B&B in a beautiful location. Great place to recharge and a perfect end to a great ocean road trip! Wonderfully tasty breakfast too, all freshly prepared and the wide range of choice was outstanding. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Excellent location close to the beach, peaceful place. Lots of room for a family (in the holiday house). Dennis was very helpful and made excellent breakfast! Activity for kids both inside and outside. Easy being, totally recommended for relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: Holiday house for family or group of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Excellent location, very relaxing and a fantastic view.
Superb breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff !
Enjoyed walking Cape Bridgewater and the beach with no need to take the car at all. There is plenty of wildlife everywhere but no whales in February so we are already planning to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaviewlodge, Manager at Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to your next visit.
Have a fantastic 2014.
Regards Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nice old B&B with charakter. Our cottage was very big for 3 persons. We had a laundry in the cottage, ideal for us. Nice homemade breakfast (we ordered pancakes). Very close to the beach. Small restaurant closeby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaviewlodge, Manager at Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you back again.
Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Excellent, easy service, great breakfasts. Room is good size, terrace balcony looks right onto the beach. The kitchen is handy and well stocked with cutlery and equipment. There is a lounge room too which has TV and games, nice sofas, books etc.

Host, Dennis, is easy-going and professional; the breakfasts are delicious. We stayed New Year's Eve and he included a bottle of wine and an invite to a beach bonfire and celebration.

The value for money comparative to the area is fantastic.

The area is fantastic for walks, surf and swimming and of course the Cape Bridgewater headland with its seal colonies and other wildlife (wallabies, kangaroos, red-bellied black snake, Pacific gulls, bristlebirds, penguins...and if you're lucky and time it right, blue whales). There are also blowholes and petrified forest, and a very well installed wind-farm.

Great for a break from Melbourne or as an add-on to a busy Great Ocean Road trip.

Highly recommended we would stay again.

Room Tip: Any - they all have the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

No air con, ceiling fan, fridge, telephone or television in room. Had to carry an esky filled with ice, up the flight of stairs, each day, for our basic refrigerated items. Does have small fridge in communal kitchen and tv in communal lounge. Owner gave us a couple of portable fans to use, as were in a heat wave. Lock on screen door to balcony was broken, so couldn't be left open at night, to let air in. We were expecting these basic facilities for our money - if we had been made aware that the rooms didn't contain these items, we could have made the choice as to continue with the booking or go somewhere else. Room, en-suite and shared facilities were clean and breakfasts lovely. View of beach spectacular. Please let people know the room's facilities and attend to repairs, so there's no disappointment.

Room Tip: A must to get a "Sea View" room, as this is the reason to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaviewlodge, Manager at Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Firstly we are not a motel, we are a unique B&B and we do not have Tv's in every room due to the fact we have one of the best ocean views in Australia.
It was your choice to carry an esky upstairs because as you stated there is a communal fridge that has plenty of room if you you wanted to use it.
As far as air con is concerned, for 99.9% of the year we do not need it because of the sea breeze, you struck a bad patch of 4 days of nearly 40 Deg temp which I have not seen at Cape Bridgewatersince I have been here which is around 12 yrs.
The lock on the screen door is not broken, as soon as I read your review I checked the lock and it is fine, I wish you had have said something when you where here and we could have checked it out together. It sounds like to me you are used to staying in a motel room and not a B&B, but seeing you did not fill out our questionnaire I have no idea whether it is your first B&B.
I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfasts and I trust you will come back and not strike a bad patch of hot weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge

Address: 1636 Bridgewater Road, Cape Bridgewater, Victoria 3305, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Cape Bridgewater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Bridgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Bridgewater Sea View Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.