We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Head

King's Head
Southam Road, Napton-on-the-Hill CV47 8NG, England
+44 1926 812202
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
King's Head is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Andy & Julz Judd welcome you to The King's Head. January 2012 - Present.The Kings Head is situated on the edge of the beautiful village of Napton on the Hill, Warwickshire and close to the Oxford Canal network. Here at The Kings Head we are committed in providing each and every guest with a warm, hospitable service, together with good quality food with an unpretentious price tag. Due to the increasing popularity of The Kings Head, we advise advanced bookings for any lunchtime or evening but especially so at weekends. Telephone bookings only. We are very proud to produce all of our products ourselves and whilst our busy chefs work very, very hard to prepare and produce each individual dish with the minimum delay,at prime/busy times this is sometimes inevitable.The Kings Head also offers an Excellent Catering and/or Mobile Bar Service for all Events, please feel free to contact Andy Judd (Proprietor & Head Chef) to discuss any enquiry you may have.If you would like to hear more about The Kings Head, why not like us on Facebook (The Kings Head Napton).
Banbury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

First time my wife and I had dined there , there was 6 of us , 2 had been before.
The food was was very good and fresh, there was only one vegi option on the menu but when we asked 3 more dishes were offered which is quite amazing!
Would go again , hopefully soon!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    52
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited here with friends for a meal. The menu has a good variety of dishes, unless you are vegetarian where if you also do not eat fish you have no choice. We had three courses and the food was good throughout the meal. My only complaint would be my chips were only tepid, which meant I only ate a few before they were cold. Service was very good throughout the meal. The setting is very nice with plenty of tables to accommodate a busy night. My only suggestion would be to expand the vegetarian options.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We only went by accident, last time we went 9 years ago we were not impressed, but Thursday we were traveling down the S Oxford canal and needed something to eat, it was the only place we knew was open so at 7-30 we walked up. The place was so busy we got the last table. I knew it was a Hooky pub so was not bothered by the beer and seeing how full it was started to get good feelings about the food.
We sat down and a young lady brought our drinks and menus across. The menu looked very impressive with a wide choice of dishes.
We started with a shared starter, there was more than enough for two. I followed on with a steak dish and my wife had place parcels which came with home made Croquettes mine with a bucket of fat chips. The meals were just great, they not only talked a good job, they did a good job.
It will be less than 9 years before we return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“This is Pub Dining at its Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My mate and I called here (having previously booked) one Thursday evening at 6.30. Good job we took heed of all the folks who advised us to book, as the place got very busy very quickly - and I'm not surprised!

We received a very friendly welcome from a young man at the reception, who showed us to a table of our choosing and took our drinks order. No sooner had he disappeared off to get them - there he was back again, complete with drinks! The dining room is nicely furnished with wooden tables and a mix of high and low back "faux" leather chairs - very comfortable. The room, I would guess, has been recently refurbished with the vaulted ceiling and its beams retained.

The menu is extensive - which never sits well with me as I wonder how any chef can cope with too many options - and contained some real innovative gems, such as pulled pork terrine with pickle, fried onions and pancakes. I couldn't resist this for my starter, and my pal chose the homemade scotch egg with brioche soldiers. Both were delicious! However, the pork might have been better with apple sauce as the pickle was just a tad sharp for my taste aand I don't think it was homemade either. Never mind, nicely served and well presented!

On to the main courses of homemade beefburger and assorted trimmings for my chum and a rib eye (medieum rare) for me with chips and salad (instead of peas - no problem). My steak was cooked to perfection and the chips superb. the salad was nicely dressed and the garnish of mushrooms and tempura-style onion rings was terrific. My pal's beefburger was equally well received.

We were then persuaded to share a pud - Bailey's cheesecake. Lovely presentation and my friend dubbed it excellent although I didn't try it as I really cannot stand Bailey's.

The staff, despite a large birthday party having arrived, were attentive and efficient throughout. All in all - well worth a visit - but heed the warnings as we did - reserve your seats to avoid disappointment!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having eaten here lots of time, it is evident that these people put in a great deal of hard work. All the food is freshly prepared and cooked.
The level of service is always excellent. We usually have the steak and can honestly say the food is always enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Head also viewed

Napton-on-the-Hill, Warwickshire
Napton-on-the-Hill, Warwickshire
 
Ladbroke, Southam
Priors Hardwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.