We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort to your Saves list
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crta de Cadiz, Km 193 | Urb. Marbella del Este, 29604 Elviria, Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Elviria
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Marriott is the top of the line when it comes to timeshares, and this is right up there with the best of them. Additionally this is a full resort - if you come for fun in the sun in season, you never have to leave the property.

We were here off season. We had a one bedroom unit. The unit consisted of a master bedroom with a king size bed. Linens, bedding, and pillows were first rate. The room was short on storage capacity - there were two night tables and a large piece which housed a flat-screen TV, but only had 2 small drawers for storage. There was also a closet. We were able to make do. The TV is fairly low and difficult to see from the bed.

The living room contained a pull-out sofa which could sleep an additional 2 people. There were also 2 chairs, a coffee table, a second flat-screen TV, and a DVD player. The DVD player was able to play my DVDs I brought with me from the US. Note that if you have visions of plugging an iPad or other device into the TV this will not work, as the European TVs use an SCARP connector.

The dining area had a dining table and four chairs. There was also a piece of furniture which could be used for storage. The unit has a full kitchen - full size fridge, oven with a range top, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker, and utensils. Figuring out some of the European controls was kind of tricky. There is also a laundry room with a washer and dryer. Both of these have very small capacity. It takes 2 hours to do a load in the washer, and then another 2 hours to dry it.

The unit has a very large balcony with a large table and chairs. The birds were singing right outside the balcony. OMG!!!!

There is a parking garage under the unit. I don't know who laid that out, but there are pillars throughout the garage. You could barely drive a small car through some of the pillars.

Free WiFi is available throughout the unit.

This is a full resort, with numerous swimming facilities, sports facilities. The main pool is large, replete with pool slides and other implements. There are two separate adult outdoor pools. There is a kiddie pool outdoors, and a toddler pool. There are two indoor pools. There are numerous saunas - both cold and hot water. There is a steam room and a fitness center. There is a basketball court, a bacci ball court, croquet court. There are kiddie climbing apartuses. And all of this is not to mention the beach and Mediterranean at the end of the property. They also have some kind of tie in with a golf course, but I didn't use that.

The location is great for touring. From here you can do day trips to: Marbella, Malaga, Gibraltar*, Seville*, Ronda*, Cordoba*, Grenada* (Alhambra), Cadiz, and Tangiers. If this is your first trip, try to get to the starred destinations above. Seville and Cordoba are kind of far (2 1/2 hours each way), but worth the trip. There are organized trips available from the concierge (for a charge). The concierge also has directions to these places which actually work. Make sure you get them before going to any of these places.

There are 3 restaurants on the property. Additionally there are two restaurants adjacent to the property. We only ate at one of these - Cristina's. The food was very good and the prices were reasonable.

If you want to do your own cooking or eat in your unit (who can eat three meals a day out?), there is a Marketplace store on premises which sells basic groceries. There are 2 groceries located right on the other side of the highway (A7). One is a full supermarket called SuperSol. The other is a smaller market but is open 24/7, including Sundays (when everything else in Spain closes up), and is called OpenCor. But it you really want to go nuts, drive the 10km to the Canada shopping center which has a huge supermarket/WalMart type store. The fish there was to die for. Also, there is a Court D'Anglais on the other side of Marbella in the town called Puerto Banus. This has a full supermarket (HiperCor), and is something like a Niemann Marcus.

DO NOT USE GOOGLE MAPS for directions in Spain. At best they are confusing; at worst they are just wrong. If you drive in Spain you'll understand why this is so. To get to the resort, take the A7 to exit 192/Elvira, which is about 10km EAST of Marbella. (The resort is not in Marbella.) When you exit look for the little Marriott signs and follow them to the resort. This will take you through a warren of round-abouts (which the Spanish love) and little streets. It is very difficult to describe this, but once you get the hang of it it's very simple.

There is an ATM machine at the entrance to the property.

Great trip! Great sights! Great resort!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    270
    40
    17
    11
See reviews for
549
241
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Fab resort with a quiet adult pool and a family pool with heated outdoor jacuzzis for the children. On the beach, what more could you ask for?
The chiringuitos nearby need to rerun their menus. My tips if you drive are head out to these casual style eateries.

Cabopino, a beautiful little port nearby, plenty of choice.

Puerto Banus and after you shop in El Corte Ingles, eat on the front in Picassos (about the only place that I wasnt ripped off in!)

Mijas Costa where there is a Wok off the motorway heading towards the mountains eat til you drop, fresh food cooked after you select.

Walk the Golden Mile, then head into Venencia (hope I spelt that right) for all sorts of Spanish
tapas etc.

A bit more of a drive, head off to Benahavis, a village which prides itself on it's restaurants. Go to Los Abanicos, its a treat.(Closed on a Mon.)

At the other end of the scale, Fish Alley as the long street of restaurants in Fuengirola is called is also worth a little visit!,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here from Sunday 3rd February to Wednesday 6th
First time in a long time ive moved into a room and found it perfect,
I used the Gym which is perfect has all the good equipment and a water spout for fresh safe water to drink, downstairs was a lovely adult only pool with a very large Jacuzzi.
Also was an adequate steam room and sauna, Males Only (Not shared) Women have their own to.
The apartment was lovely and I was lucky to get sea views but please don’t worry if you cant afford the extra I had a good old nosey around all the resort and all the apartments look lovely even the garden ones, so don’t feel left out ok.
Its so expensive to stay here in the summer months so would never afford it then try getting before end of March for okay prices.
No breakfast when I was there but was clearly stated before I left, I was just glad the steam room etc were all open.
The Cheese burgers from Charlies is bad, the meat is okay and the French fries but the frozen roll??? Was all crumbling and by the end the roll hadn’t had the top left on it? The cheese? Two slim squares, you know the type… A big chain type of cheese and heavily frozen roll, bad as its around 13 Euros.
I took a good 5-10 minute walk to the local supermarket up and down at least three big hills so if your unfit keep this in mind.
The bus into Marbella is a pleasant 5 minute walk away from the hotel and over a bridge, the bus comes every 30 minutes and was aroun1.45 Euros.
The swimming pools were all great and some minor works going on though no noise or anything, so don’t worry about any of that.
Got a VIP Call to my room from the timeshare gang on resort stating I had VIP Vouchers and all, so went to see them I found it funny as Suzanne tried to work her charm on me about how good the resort is and the all, Suzanne your sales patter is electric it might work on some.
So when you get the VIP Call unless you want charmed by a seductive Susanne or co then don’t go, though the free bottle of plonk may persuade you lol.
5 stars all the way, you will find it hard to say anything bad about this place.
The bar staff and the reception staff were all VERY Nice to me and talkative as I was alone, so thanks to the pretty reception staff.
Beds are very very very comfy...
If I ever meet a lovely woman I will take her here, its very romantic.
Adam

Room Tip: All the rooms look excellent very cleverly designed resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

From the moment we got there it was fabulous. The staff was outstanding. Our apartment was very comfortable and clean (which is very important when are away from home. Our trip was the end of January, so lots of things were closed, but that did not put a damper on our trip. The staff gave us lots of good information as to what to see and where to go (street markets, restaurants, museum, etc). The hotel was situated so that we could visit Malaga, Gibraltar and lots of there little towns near by. I know I'm suppose to be giving my review of the hotel, but I have to say the people were just wonderful and very patient (we speak very little Spanish).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This Marriott is in a good location, for sight seeing or just relaxing. Staff attentive and wanting to please. The resort has restaurants, grocery store, spa, indoor or outdoor pools, beech. We were there in off season so not so busy which we enjoyed. Rooms were tastefully decorated and spacious. We were lucky enough to have 3 bd. rm. condo. with a view of the ocean, which would suite any family or group of friends. Each bedroom had it's own bath. We were able to do a lot of sight seeing, easy drive to places like Ronda, Granada, Old town Marbella, Malaga. Would go back again if we were in the Costa del Sol which we plan to be in the future

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The resort was super nice and staff very friendly ! Food yummy!!! Tours very organized ! The units were very clean and spacious !!!! Restaurant was so cozy and romantic atmosphere ! Love it ! Stayed for 6 days !!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A fabulous situation and a perfect equipment of these luxury appartments with large terraces. Good drinks and every kind of food all day long.The two rooms had bathrooms one of them with a jaccuzi. We had 3 tv sets with many channels. We had all the ustensils to cook and even a super Nespresso machine with capsuls. The furniture was comfortable even on our terrace. We couldn't expect better. Thanks Mr Marriott!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but prefer a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor if you want to have a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elviria
8.5 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort Marbella
7.4 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#8 of 79 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
9.7 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#17 of 79 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort

Address: Crta de Cadiz, Km 193 | Urb. Marbella del Este, 29604 Elviria, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella > Elviria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Elviria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Marbella Beach Hotel Marbella
Marriotts Marbella Beach Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Marbella
Marbella Marriott
Marriotts Marbella Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.