We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay for business or pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solplay Apartment Hotel

Save Saved
You added Solplay Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Solplay Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Manuel Da Silva Gaio 2, Linda-a-Velha 2795-132, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Linda-a-Velha
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay for business or pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My colleague had stayed here before and so it was at his recommendation that we chose to stay at Solplay for the week that we were in Lisbon.

Located just outside of Lisbon and not far from many popular beaches and tourist locations, it's an ideal spot for a hotel. And being atop a large hill made the views from just about any window/room spectacular.

The hotel, in general, is also very modern in appearance, well laid out and pleasant to be in. This fades a little bit once leaving the lobby for the rooms, but overall remains undiminished. The hallways to the rooms are somewhat spartan, maybe a picture here and there, but other than that bare. Where this presented a problem was when there were people in the hallways it became an echo chamber. No carpets, rugs, wall-hangings to diffuse the sound. During tourist season this could become aggravating to anyone who is a light sleeper as the echos could be heard very well in my room.

As to the room, mine was very spacious. A large bedroom as well as a large kitchenette and sitting area. Adjoining both on the outside was a large balcony and patio with furniture. A large bathroom as well. Perhaps my only complaint with the bathroom was the tub style shower with only a half length glass door. Because of this I was constantly getting water all over the bathroom floor.

The room has internet, but only via a wall outlet. Perhaps my biggest complaint about my stay there. The wall outlet was out in the kitchenette/sitting area rather than in the bedroom. I would have much rather been laying on my bed at the end of the day whilst skyping home or reading email. No wifi in the room made this impossible as did the fact that the outlet for ethernet was 50 feet away in the next room. I sincerely hope they remedy this in the future.

Breakfast was good. A very nice spread of meats, cheese, breads, yogurts, cereals, eggs and so forth. Being down there at 7am was nice as the sun was just barely peeking over the horizon and it was very quiet (well, except for the grating noise of a toaster oven desperately needing oil). All in all made for some truly beautiful mornings.

They have spa and pool areas, but as I didn't use them I can't really comment on them. But like I said, this place is a truly great place to stay whilst in Lisbon. The staff are very helpful and friendly, both over the phone and in person. Room cleaning was efficient and thorough. Will definitely be staying here again when I return.

Room Tip: It's my opinion that you can't really go wrong with a room choice here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    101
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
106
76
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very convenient for a family holiday, space apartments, well equiped, excellent sea & pool view (we requested an apartment with view). Very good service, employees very dedicated and friendly. Inside and outside pools are excellent, as well as the kids club. Should rehabilitate some rooms (exp improve bathrooms).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 10 fantastic days. The hotel has great facilities and all the staff are exceptional. We had a one bedroom apartment, which was very spacious, very clean and well equipped.
Solplay has two pools (indoor & outdoor) and a paddling pool for toddlers. Don't be put off by other reviews......the outdoor pool is cold, but you soon get used to it, especially on hot days. But for the faint hearted, the indoor pool and jacuzzi are delightfully warm!!
There is a great gym for those of you who want to burn off a few pounds and a cinema for those of you who want to take it a bit easier!!

The staff are very friendly, professional and always on hand to make your stay a pleasant one. Breakfast has plenty of choices and the evening Buffet is of exceptional quality and great value, plus kids eat at half price (8.50Euros) and under 3's are free.

There is also a daily kids club for the little ones.

The hotel provides a daily Free shuttle bus service in July & August to Lisbon (Rossio Square), which is great as the hotel is about 15-20mins drive to Lisbon Centre.
And that is really the only downside to Solplay. The area around the hotel is mainly residential with not a lot happening.

Even with this in mind, I would highly recommend this hotel because of the fantastic staff, there great service and for the superb facilities of the hotel for both couples and families a like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

very comfortable hotel for a family (2 bedrooms apartment) with nice facilities (swimming pool, tukrish bath, sauna...). A very pleasant and helpful staff. It is a pity that Solplay hotel is not in the center of lisboa, very nice town ! but thanks to the shuttle we were able to visit the town evry day.

Room Tip: the apartment with view on the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed (two adults and one child) at the hotel for two weeks and had a fab time. The gym was really well equipped and the inside pool was large and warm. All facilities were well maintained and looked after, the toilets were spotless. Our 1 bed apartment was comfortable and large enough for us all. Our balcony on the second floor overlooked the pool with views down to the sea which were very nice indeed.
The staff were the best part of the holiday, very friendly, helpful, accommodating and caring.
The free bus shuttle to Lisbon or Cascais was great.
We all had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very good hotel, huge apartment rooms, big terrace, friendly service and good accommodation.
Somewhat insulated location in a more residential area, but public transport allow for nice trips and visits to the centre of Lisbon as well as to the coastal area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in Solplay, with our 3 kids and it was great. The 2 bedroom apartment was perfect, very spacious and confortable. The pool area was very nice and relaxing, with a nice pool indoor and outdoor.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solplay Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solplay Apartment Hotel

Address: Rua Manuel Da Silva Gaio 2, Linda-a-Velha 2795-132, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Linda-a-Velha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Linda-a-Velha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solplay Apartment Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hilltop overlooking the Tagus river, the Solplay hotel is located in a quiet area on the outskirts of Lisbon. The accommodation offer comprises comfortable studio apartments, suites and family suites. Almost a home away from home, the Solplay Hotel is ideal for both business and leisure travelers, for short and long stays. Free wi-fi and free parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Solplay Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solplay Apartment Lisbon
Hotel Solplay Apartment
Solplay Apartment Hotel Portugal/Linda-a-Velha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solplay Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.