We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class country pub/hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbot Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Talbot Inn
Save
You added The Talbot Inn to your Saves list
Selwood Street, Mells, Frome BA11 3PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Mells B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First class country pub/hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here on the opening night with my husband - absolutely tremendous - one of the best country pubs we've ever stayed in. Log fires everywhere, lovely staff, wonderful dinner with really good quality local food, and the breakfast was superb - even though we had overslept and only came down at 11am.

Our room was larger than we expected with a wonderful bathroom, and the bed was so good that we have decided to buy an identical one for our London home.

We'll definitely stay here again for our next trip to Bath, and will try to stay longer next time to enjoy the local area.

Mrs Nicole Cartright

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    27
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went to the Talbot for supper with friends on Friday - having been fairly regularly over the last 20 years - all expectations of the 'new' Talbot were exceeded by some distance. The bar is just the perfect place for a drink - packed with locals, visitors and diners - and the restaurant experience could not have been bettered. Superb, keen, friendly staff - exquisite food - and the most ambient of atmospheres. We live in neighbouring Whatley village where our pub closed 3 years ago....the Talbot is going to be the place for us .......congratulations Matt and the team for creating the perfect place on our doorstep!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

What an experience! Stayed at the Talbot for two nights prior to moving on to BH for a function. We were so well looked after, I cannot remember when I have received such great service from every single member of staff. Rooms were very well done - genuine effort & consideration being paid to every aspect. Food was of a very high standard, would put a lot of 'West end' restaurants to shame. Special mentions: Matt, thanks for the hospitality. Floyd: Thanks for the late one. Justin: Thanks for the ironing!

Would not hesitate to recommend The Talbot to anybody.

Room Tip: We booked 6 rooms for all the family. I saw them all. They were all superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Have not yet visited the Refurbished Talbot
Would like to say what a fantastic Inn the Talbot has been these last ten years,
Providing excellent meals, with the best ingredients, reasonable prices, great choice, superb helpful kindly efficient staff, and Rob a great manager, a very genuine atmosphere, and much loved by "locals",
and will be greatly missed,
Will write another review after the opening of the refurbished Talbot
it will be a hard act to follow
anne

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Inn

Address: Selwood Street, Mells, Frome BA11 3PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Mells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Talbot Hotel Somerset
The Talbot Inn Mells, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.