We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Bristol Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £79
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Congresbury
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Near Bristol Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Husband and I stayed 1 night prior to flying from Bristol Airport. We arrived early on a Friday evening, booked in, given warm cookies, found our room (eventually ) on Level 1, nice big room with balcony, coffee etc good views over Bristol. We went to the bar area to have drinks and evening meal, a wedding party on same floor, we ordered a bar meal each, and as all the evening wedding guests started to arrive in the bar area we felt like we had intruded on their night, it was a very happy atmosphere, the bar was very busy, but our bar meal never arrived, when we queried the time we had waited we were told the computer hadn't registered our order, the young barman apologised, offered one free drink (? not a drink each ) our meals arrived about an hr after we ordered and were good. Some noisy guests in corridors late at night. Next day we looked around the hotel and found the other bar and restaurant in the leisure complex, may have been an option for us the previous evening. Must admit we found the directions to our room very confusing, not very clear. The morning buffet breakfast was very good, staff were friendly and pleasant. We found this to be a good hotel option near the airport . Some plane noise but not major issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    338
    218
    106
    78
See reviews for
211
541
49
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great building, grounds and location. The room was nice, the English breakfast buffet was very good. The nearby gym and spa was a bonus. We got a deal on the rate and would definitely stay here again. A wedding was on both days we were there but we were far enough away not to be bothered by any noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol South, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I would like to point out a couple of convenience "points" 1) The speed ramps on the driveway to the hotel - specifically the exit are too high. I am accepting of these but not when I have the bottom of my car scraped, I have a Jaguar and although it is not a 4x4 neither is it a low slung sports car. 2) I have a little trouble with walking (only slightly, I'm an ex soldier long story) when trying to carry things and this particular hotel the car park is a fair way down a steep slope. You can bring the car closer to the door but it is only 1 cars width so if you stop there you block the right of way for other guests........ We may check in at different times but you will know we pretty much check out at similar times and everyone just wants to get away. I appreciate you will get staff to help if we asked but sometimes we don't want help only just to get on with enjoying the stay and not waiting around for someone to come. 3) Why no free WIFI for guests? It is pretty much expected in the day & age, I moved on to St Ives in Cornwall after staying with you and our accommodation was a pub - it was available there! 4) There was no mirror over the dressing table / desk. There was a very large wall mirror just outside the bathroom but nowhere convenient to plug in our hairdryer (hotel supplied ones are never great but that's the norm') so can I ask when the room was designed where is a woman to keep her hairbrush and any hair products when drying her hair? Luckily enough we are not too old so my wife sat on the floor..... Is this what we should do in a Hilton Hotel? 5) Finally only a small thing, I had a quick tea in the bar area on the first evening, it was a Burger & Fries. Now I know you promote the Marco Pierre White connection and try and make the food look "modern" but it was supplied on a thin piece of wood???? The chips & veg' in designer looking little pans on the wood???? What for! I had trouble eating the meal comfortably and lost some of the meal on the floor because it wasn't on a plate...... The same problem as two other tables around us found. We didn't complain as its your way, we just had a laugh at your presentation. I suggest you go back to putting food back on plates haha I don't think you'll take much notice but you did ask! Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and will probably be back if we can't get closer to Bristol Centre again (if those points are addressed we would probably stay here in preference), upto you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 Night last year.
Reception nice and quick and easy were given some nice truffles on check in very tasty and a nice touch.
Corridors leading to room were very smelly and seemed dirty with a smell of sick not too pleasant.
Rooms was nice and large with tea coffee making facilities nice and modern with plasma tv and very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was ok good choice of English breaky with continental style.
Would stay again but not if too overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a saturday night very busy, room was really good at first glance and the view was great. A few things need attending to in the room but still it didnt take anything away from our stay short but sweet, will visit again to go back to the marko pierre white restuarant which apart from the wait was top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for a night because we were flying from Bristol Airport the following afternoon. We paid extra for a 'deluxe' twin room with breakfast, which claimed to have a coffee-maker and free water in the room, as well as views over the Bristol Channel. We encountered our first problem when we actually went to find our room! The reception staff gave poor directions, failing to mention that, due to an extension of the original building, certain lifts needed to be taken to get to different floors. Eventually, we had to go back down to the desk and ask specifically where to go. It would be a vast improvement if a member of staff accompanied guests to their rooms.

Initially we were shown to a room on the lower floors - views over the car park, no coffee-maker and no water... we thought they'd made a mistake, so we took our booking form down and questioned them about it. The staff at the desk said that it definitely was one of their 'deluxe' rooms, despite having none of the things mentioned in the description. At first, they told us they were too full to move us to a different room, then they said they could upgrade us to a double, but not another twin room.

The upgraded room we were moved to also had no water, nor a coffee-maker. As it was on a higher floor, you did get a view over the gardens (but not the Bristol Channel). The room was drab overall, with worn furniture. The carpet was also dirty and there was plenty of dust on the bedside table. Strangely, our bathroom had a large window on the side of it and a mirror opposite it, meaning that you could see everything in the bathroom, no matter where you were in the room. This made for a very uncomfortable washing experience! There was no blind or anything for the window, so you didn't even have the option of some privacy if you wanted it.

We had dinner at the MPW restaurant which is affiliated with the hotel. The food itself was actually very nice and seemed to be of a high quality, the main problem was the service! To be fair, we had some very polite and friendly staff serving us (Bernadette and [I think] Marco) but they seemed overwhelmed and everything was very disorganised. People tried to take our order multiple times and the service was painfully slow. When we did get our meals, our accompaniment for them did not arrive until after we had both finished our plates. This was immediately taken off our bill by the serving staff, who looked slightly embarrassed - evidently not the first time that that had happened! I would say that the meal was overpriced.

The best bit of our stay was the breakfast. The staff in the morning were very good and the buffet style was ideal, particularly the English breakfast buffet. The reception staff definitely need to be trained on customer service and how to apologise when there are complaints! The bar staff could have done with a lesson on how to cheer up too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

From the welcome on reception from Hannah and male receptionist and the warm cookie
we both knew that this was going to be a happy visit to this lovely hotel. The room was
excellent, large, well furnished and decorated, large TV, and the views over Somerset were fabulous, especially the cow in the field. Even she seemed to be enjoying herself.
The meal in Marcus Pierre White's restaurant was excellent with great food and the service was
very good , with Joanne the restaurant manager looking after our ever need.
In fact the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Very well done to Cadbury House. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Address: Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Congresbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.