We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stick insects” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The North Somerset Butterfly House

The North Somerset Butterfly House
Smallway, Congresbury BS49 5AA, England (Formerly Butterflies and More Ltd)
+44 7531 607007
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located 9 miles from Weston super Mare and 12 miles from Bristol, The North Somerset Butterfly House is a secret paradise in the heart of the westcountry. Immerse yourself in a tropical jungle filled with exotic plants and stunning tropical butterflies. During your visit, look out for Pete, Steve Backshalls "Bug Man" from his hit show "Live 'n' Deadly", he is always willing to share with you the hidden wonders of the Butterfly House.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“stick insects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Whilst on holiday in Burnham we found a leaflet on butterflies and more.We decided to visit as we like anything to do with wildlife. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely girl in the gift shop who gave us a photo list of all the butterflies etc that we will see to identify them.Whilst walking round we were met by Steve who looked after the butterflies who made us feel exceptionally welcome and showed us the stick insects that they had introduced.Our son who breeds them was in his element and was talking to Steve all about the different varieties that he has at home. Steve made plenty of time for him and they were talking for hours about them.We found it good value as our son was kept enthralled all the time we were there.We will be back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolNell, Public Relations Manager at The North Somerset Butterfly House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
It's good to know that the stick insects take a share of the limelight! I hope you also enjoyed the leaf insects - even we find them difficult to spot sometimes amongst the leaves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    20
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Butterflies Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

It was a rainy day and we were looking for things to do, so popped into the butterfly house in Congresbury. Being a keen photographer I did of course take my camera, and was suitably impressed by the fact that they provided a hairdrier to warm my lens before entering the house to prevent mist on the lens ... that's foreward thinking!

Upon entering the enclosure you immediately forget that it's a horrible drizzly day outside, and can simply enjoy the warm atmosphere and the pleasant environment that has been created. With a good variety of butterflies I had no trouble getting quite a few decent butterfly pictures with my macro lens, as well as a few other nice surprises like terrapins, various flowers and foliage.

With three children it's often expensive to go to places like this, but the price was very favourable. All in all it turned a miserable day into an enjoyable one. Strongly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolNell, Public Relations Manager at The North Somerset Butterfly House, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We're glad you appreciated the hairdryer! Overcast or rainy days are often good for photographers as the butterflies tend to be less active and more willing to 'pose'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I visited the butterfly house with my 11year old daughter, it was a hot day and I had thought in may be too hot to spend long in the house, however it was pleasantly warm and we spent close to an hour walking about, watching the beautiful tropical butterflies and finding the different catterpillers living on the plants. The plants and flowers where lovely, and smelt great too. It was nice just sitting on a bench and soaking in the atmosphere while my daughter continued looking for catterpillers and crysalis. We will definitely come again!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolNell, Public Relations Manager at The North Somerset Butterfly House, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We are glad that you found so much to see and enjoy in the butterfly house. If you do get too hot you can always cool off in Heather's Coffee Shop (next door) and come back later. We will look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A rip off!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

An expensive , overpriced attraction. It takes very little time to walk around with a 5 year old ,even if you walk around 10 times or more and spy the caterpillars and pupae etc. For the prices charged I expected to be absorbed by the attraction for at least an hour.... being offered repeat entry during the day does not compensate for lack of content, It has been allowed to get muddy underfoot and shabby from our visit last year. I would not recommend anyone to go after todays visit

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The North Somerset Butterfly House, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We are extremely sorry that you were disappointed with your recent visit. Unfortunately the heavy rain in the last few days has run underground from Cadbury Hill and sprung up inside the butterfly house. In spite of a deep drainage trench outside the house it has caused flooding within the house and hence the muddy paths. We have spent much of our time trying to sort out these issues when we would normally be doing routine maintenance. However, the butterflies are still flying well and we have 14 species breeding in the house, so we did not deem it necessary to close the house. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great trip to butterflies and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I took my two older grandchildren to see butterflies and more. When we first arrived we couldn't find it because it was hidden behind a garden conservatory centre. In we all went and what a lovely surprise. We were greeted by a very knowledgeable friendly man at the ticket desk. We went on it and were very quickly mesmerised by the beautiful butterflies floating past. The butterflies were kept in a huge greenhouse filled with lovely tropical plants and flowers. There were numerous paths which led around to different areas and they all met back up again, so you always had a different direction in which to explore. There we met the owner who was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of interesting information about the butterflies, moths and vegetation. We spent a little over 40mins in there, but if I had had more time I could quite easily has spent the whole afternoon. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely go again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at The North Somerset Butterfly House, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thanks for letting us know how much you and your grandchildren enjoyed the butterflies! Next time you visit, don't forget that you can re-enter the house as many times as you like throughout the day, so you can stop off in Heather's Coffee Shop for refreshments and start all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The North Somerset Butterfly House also viewed

 

Been to The North Somerset Butterfly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The North Somerset Butterfly House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.