We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowfield Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lowfield Inn
Save
You added The Lowfield Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Marton SY21 8JX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Marton B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just stayed in the Lowfield Inn with my partner. Good sized room that was spotlessly clean and with plenty of tea and coffee. We stopped for an evening meal that was excellent. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of choice. And throughout the stay all the staff where particulaly helpful and accommodating. Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Remember the tasty and good quality food when the Lowfield Inn first opened?
Well you can forget those crispy chunky chips because they have been replaced with reheated mammoth chips and also portions have shrunken but prices remained the same if not increased.
Oh and for the lady behind the bar...please smile to your customers it costs nothing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hubby and I had a weekend break at the hotel. The setting with lovely countryside was ideal. We were shown our room and I was disappointed as we had no view except of the sky from a skylight! My hubby liked the room as it was spacious, which it was. I felt a little claustrophobic though with no view.
The sheets, as we told the manager, weren't the best either.
That's the moan out of the way! The staff themselves were really nice and helpful. The hotel was in an ideal setting for our break enabling us to visit national trust and nearby towns. The morning breakfasts were superb on both mornings and quite a variety too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window not be put in one with a skylight if, like me, you prefer a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Not easy to find, but when you do it seems somewhat out of place! Outside the small village of Marton sits this newish hotel and restaurant . There are only a few rooms and they are well laid out and spacious. No complaints. The large pub and dining area was almost empty and the supper ordered appeared quickly, nothing special but adequate. Breakfast as a cooked option was only available after 9am, however fresh continental breakfast was available to order (the night before) on the outside landing. In the summer this would be great as there is a verandah to sit outside on. A useful one night stop over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just finished Christmas shopping. We decided to go lowfield for lunch. We ordered two beef dinner. We were so hungry and was delighted when our dinners came. The dinners looked great on the plates. Until I try to cut the beef. The beef was dry and tough. The middle of my dinner was cold. My roast potatoes was hard. We decided not to complain until we saw the other tables were also sending their dinners back. So we followed. The second dinners came it was not much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent one night here on Saturday 1st December with my wife. Our eldest daughter and her husband and two sons had an adjacent room.

We struggled to get the room warm enough so that it wouldn't seem to be cold when getting out of the shower. The room was a good size and clean. The cups for Tea and Coffee could do with being a bit larger though, although there was an ample supply of Tea and Coffee.

We had our evening meal at The Lowfield Inn and it was very good value both in terms of quality and quantity with a large and varied choice. The local brew (Ding Dong) slipped down a treat.,

Breakfast was very good although there was a heck of a cold draft where I was sittng so had to put on an extra jumper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Have stayed here twice and going back this weekend.. beautiful location... stunning food. The cooked breakfast is simply amazing it rivals top 5* London hotels! Staff very helpful and friendly. The menu at te pub is extensive and everything we had served delicious and hot.
We have stayed in the family room and a double room. Both times were lovely. We also love Shrewbury town which is about 15 miles away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lowfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowfield Inn

Address: Marton SY21 8JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Marton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marton
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lowfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.