We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting, beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaya Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gaya Island Resort to your Saves list
Gaya Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Pulau Gaya 88000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 3, Pay 2
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting, beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed on honeymoon and loved the place. Its location is fantastic, with so much marine wildlife around. The staff were all really friendly, helpful and relaxed. The restaurants are lovely, with the outstanding breakfasts being a particular highlight. Use of the Bunga Raya sister resort was a bonus, and there was plenty to do for 3-5 days. It's not cheap, but it made our honeymoon.

Room Tip: The Ocean Villa was beautiful with a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    101
    55
    16
    5
See reviews for
76
189
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Sunbury
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and as you take the speed boat from the main island you see rooms high up in the hill side amongst the trees. The whole area where the hotel is built is top quality as are the rooms. The higher up you are the better the view. Yes other travellers have said you can see the mainland but it does not describe itself as an island in the middle of no where, it says it is 20 mins by boat from the mainland so of course you can see it. This does not detract from how the hotel blends into the trees with nature walks, wooden decking walk ways across ponds and through forests.
We paid for the full board option which is worth it as you can eat in the alacarte for no extra and any snacks, there is no other way to get a meal unless you pay for a boat trip back to the main land.
Also if you do 6 days and full board we got a package that meant we both got a full spa treatment every day ! which was amazing as the spa is a beautiful tranquil place and the massages hurt but for the right reasons !
You do have to be fit and able to get around as there are a lot of steps and hills to climb.
Last note is, there is a second beach a 5 min free boat ride away, great bbq lunch and good snorkelling .....

Room Tip: If you are fit, the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

First of all we have been impressed about the nice architecture and botanical surroundings, but after we saw the hordes of uncultivated, barbaric tourists, which have been applied with Special low Price fares we were quite disappointed!
Furthermore the beach and sea are quite polluted. On reason could be, that the Resort is just opposite of Kota Kinabalu Harbour.
Additionally the aircon is sometimes too loud (probably Needs Sound dampening)!
Dining at fisherman's cove was fantastic, but the buffet at the feast village cannot be recommended.
Also the spa was wonderful and really advisable!
Staff in Restaurant and spa has been very friendly, but somtimes bothered by the crowdiness.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have tried both sister resorts, Pangkor Laut and Gaya Island Resort and were positively surprised by the rooms in Gaya which are a lot newer and therefore more modern and equiped with more comfort than Pangkor Laut. The service staff in Gaya was fantastic, very friendly and attending to every wish.

The only thing where we see potential for improvement is when it comes to food. We tried the Feast Village buffet which has a wide variety of foods but the single dishes taste mostly average. Maybe less would be more here, reduce the variety but improve the overall quality. Well, it is still a buffet. One example I would like to state, the BBQ at the buffet line was grilling tough lamb chops for the buffet and good looking skewers for the beach front diners.

Fisherman's cove on the other end was great tasting, but probably not quite at the level where it should be considering the price. A catch of the day (Seabass) that comes at MYR 250++ should have a bit more of a WOW factor than it actually had.

Be prepared to walk a bit, other than in Pangkor, Gaya Island has no shuttle services and some of the Villas can be rather far (15 min walk).

Also the weather will play a large role in your activities, the private beach was closed due to weather conditions which limits the possibilities of leisure activities quite a bit.

All in all a great experience and recommendable!

Room Tip: Even though you have to walk a bit, choose one of the rooms further out with seaview, we were at 801...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I booked the resort as part of a trip around Malaysia for our wedding anniversary. We had three nights here, and stayed in a Kinabalu Villa. Prior to coming we were slightly concerned about the negative reviews the resort had received. However, I can only suggest that those reviews were either extremely unfair or their experiences were so far removed from ours, they may as well have been staying at a different resort.
The resort is on an island in the jungle, and the villas are surrounded by jungle on one side and the sea on the other. Despite this, the villas are luxurious and modern, and very spacious. The views are superb and the atmosphere of the resort is incredible; it is peaceful yet every whim is catered for and staff will go out of their way to assist. There are many activities on offer yet the resort is perfect for just chilling out and unwinding in a privileged setting. We also had a massage in the spa and it was the best treatment either of us have ever had.
We stayed over Chinese New Year, so there were numerous large groups of Chinese celebrating the New Year, but we still did not find the resort unduly busy. This is down to the incredible efforts of the staff to keep things moving along smoothly and efficiently. Some staff members consistently went out of their way to help, namely Litticia, Yati, Penadvent, Edith, Yuri, Ad, Az, Fissy, and Silih in the front of house and restaurant areas. If you take it in the context of the New Year, the service provided was exceptional. I was in the Mandarin Oriental in KL over 31 January - 3 February and the staff there were not as attentive as at Gaya Island, again possibly as a result of the peak season.
In sum, it was a special part of the trip for us, due to the location, the atmosphere and the privilege of being in such an environment. In addition, the staff made it a fantastic experience, and if you want an incredible experience away from City life, take the chance and go to the island. Quite simply, I have stayed in 5 star hotels around the world for business and pleasure, and this is the best in which I have stayed so far.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel with excellent personnel. Great rooms with magnificent view. One of the best spas in Asia but the breakfast and lunch is very poor, the choice is limited and the waiting time to have a coffee is unacceptable. There is an exception to this which is the Fisherman's Cove restaurant with great views, food and service. Do not go to this hotel if you want a secluded, quite place. Too many families with children around.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Mr Antonio,

Greetings from Gaya Island Resort- a walking tropical resort!

I would like to unreservedly apologize on the areas of disappointments as shared by your self in your review. I would like to share that our menus are now further enhanced on variety as well as on the services in the outlets are further improved.

Again, I am very sorry on the disappointments and we were indeed running busy with families during your stay and I am very sorry on the overall experiences that did not meet your expectations, as shared.

I look forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future and wishing you all the best.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We found this resort last year when it launched after traveled to Pangkor Laut Resort (Another YTL Hotels). First at glance, the resort is really nice which surrounding nature & wildlife environment. Guess what! It is located at the Marine conservation park area! Well, the location and panorama of the resort is really scenic, with two private beaches & beautiful garden view. Our rooms are allocated at the middle of the hill which located far away from the main facilities. The room amenity is good, clean housekeeping, comfortable bed, fantastic ambience and many more. For dining experience, the resort offers Feast Village, Fisherman Cove, Pool Bar, and Tavajun Bay. Well, our packages is not including Fisherman Cove Restaurant. The foods come with variety types of cuisines, from western to chinese, malay to japanese as well. But there are still need to improve for the food quality and the choices of the food menu, especially buffet! The menu didn't have any new changes and we almost ate the same cuisines on our travelling days! About activities, there're many things we can do at the resort, somehow likes snorkeling, diving, kayaking, swimming, nature hiking, and many more. Well, we did enjoy the activities especially the sunset cruise! We were onboard resort's 39 feet's Little Princess yacht and sightseeing at the tunku abdul rahman park area to wait for the sunset. That's a really exciting experience to enjoy the sunset view on a private yacht! Also, Gaya Island Resort is the best place to see the sunrise in the early morning!
Travelled on February 2014, with family.

Room Tip: Rooms no. 805-812 are good to see the sunrise, the Mount Kinabalu is just in front of your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Island Resort

Address: Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Pulau Gaya 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Gaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gaya Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaya Island Resort Malaysia/Pulau Gaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaya Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.