We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, first class food, friendly people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaya Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Gaya Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaya Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Pulau Gaya 88000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pulau Gaya
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, first class food, friendly people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked Gaya Island Resort for 5 nights of our Honeymoon. We were fetched from the airport in a luxurious mercedes and greeted so warmly at the port before departing for the resort. The boat ride was very short, a surprise as we thought Gaya would be a bit further from Borneo Island. However we arrived and had a fantastic welcome from the staff, before being shown to our Villa. The room is a decent size, the bathroom is large with a big tub and his and hers basins and the bed was really comfortable. On our first night, we arrived back to our room to find the bed covered in roses, towels created into hearts, a bubble bath of roses just run and champagne on ice. We were thrilled! The rooms are a fair walk up the hill, but nothing any individual should struggle with. The views from our room were beautiful, on a clear day Mount Kinabalu could be seen and we also overlooked the ocean. I agree with other reviewers that the view is a bit disappointing, there are often big ships moored not far in the distance and you even have a view of part of Kota Kinabalu city, which is a bit of an eye sore. But with this said, so much about this resort makes up for the view, so we very quickly forgot about this minor shortfall...

We opted for the full meal board option and think that this was excellent value for our money. You have the option of eating at either The Feast Village, where buffet is served, or at Fisherman's Cove - an upmarket restaurant where you have access to 3 course meals. There is no limit to how many times you can eat here. Breakfast was fantastic, served at the Feast Village, there was freshly squeezed fruit juices on offer, an assortment of baked goodies of muffins, scones etc, lovely fruit, any type of eggs cooked at your request and an array of delicious breads. We had lunch every day by the pool, the menu was great, we didn't have one disappointing meal. We tried the Spider Maki Sushi, the Caesar Salad, the Burger, Gaya Sandwich, Japanese noodles - no complaints, all plated beautifully too. We had dinner at Fisherman's Cove on the first night and were so impressed by the food. Each course was presented like a 5 star restaurant, and every dish was fresh, flavoursome and divine. I had the best meal of my life on our 4th night, I chose the Catch of the Day - the lobster thermidor - and was blown away. I savoured every bite, honestly amazing! My husband, who is not a huge fan of fish, ended up ordering only fish at every meal here as he couldn't believe how delicious it all was. We did eat at the Feast Village one evening, but found it difficult to compare the food to what we had enjoyed on our first night and reverted back to the Fisherman's Cove, where no children were allowed and the views were phenomenal. Joy, the assistant restaurant manager was fantastic, she made sure our favourite table was reserved for each reservation and went out of her way to make our stay unforgettable. On our last night at the restaurant, our table was decorated with a huge bouquet of roses, candles and a personalised message. We were so impressed! On our 3rd night, we enjoyed a private beach barbecue, the table was set on the shoreline surrounded by lanterns. We ate about 4 main courses as the food just kept flowing, there was chicken, steak, lobster, prawns, mussels, and we were absolutely stuffed by the end of the night. It was just all so flavoursome, the chef was a star! I would definitely recommend booking the meal plan without a doubt, its so worth it.

The beach was lovely, and although other reviewers have mentioned a lot of litter on the shore, we never saw any. Early every morning there were about 4 people sweeping the beach for litter which must have cleared it all. However with that said, we hired stand up paddle boards and about 5m from the shore, we were going through lots of rubbish which was very disappointing, the result of an illegal floating village on the other side of Gaya Island apparently. Such a pity and quite off-putting. The pool made up for this though, it was crystal clear and the bar inside it provided many late afternoon cocktail sessions.

We both had a Malay Massage at the Spa, they were amazing...and a complimentary foot spa before was a treat! We also arranged a guided meditation session which was great and we found ourselves on the brink of a deep sleep :) The only disappointment I had was that there were no nail treatments on offer...it would have been so nice to have a mani!

Certainly worth mentioning is the service provided by ALL staff at Gaya Island Resort. It is outstanding. Everyone greets you where ever you are, nothing is too difficult to arrange, each person is always smiling...so refreshing! Bowie, the guest liaison manager was brilliant. She helped us to arrange a trip to the Nature Reserve at Shangri La Rasa Ria on our last day in Kota Kinabalu to visit the orang-utans. She checked us in to our flights the day before we left the resort and even gave us a little gift when we departed, as a treat for our Honeymoon. Such a special surprise.

We tried to arrange an Island Excursion, however to our disappointment, there was no availability on any of the 5 days we stayed there. We had a sunset cruise booked, but a sudden thundershower rained this out and the next one was only scheduled for after our departure. We did partake in a cooking course in the Fisherman's Cove restaurant, and it was lovely.

This might be a new hotel, and yes there is some exposed concrete etc, but I think that once the plants and vegetation have had a chance to grow and disguise this a bit - this won't be an issue. We spent most of our time by the pool and it was so lovely to kick back and relax. This is our first experience at a YTL hotel and is the beginning of many more holidays to come. We have been so impressed by the experience provided by Gaya Island Resort - we will be sure to recommend it to friends. Thanks for making our Honeymoon truly unforgettable!

Room Tip: For lovely views, choose the higher villa's, they are worth the walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Borneo!

I would like to thank-you very much on your support and review and I am happy to read that you had a memorable time with us and enjoyed the resort facilities and services offered through out.

I have congratulated Bowie on her nobble efforts on ensuring you are well looked after during your stay and I am proud to have Bowie in my team.

Again, thank-you very much on your review and we look forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    79
    50
    15
    5
See reviews for
60
160
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Where to start. The good bits. Lovely villas, fantastic staff and a truly superb restaurant called fishermans cove where the chef is as good as anyone specialising in fish in new york or london.

The bad bits

This is an island so its business model depends on getting people there and back. We have done up market islands before and all had either 'on demand' or continuous boat service. Not the brainbox at Gaya Island. They have 2 or 3 hour frequency. We arrived on a saturday night on the mainland jetty at 19.45. After no explanations and half an hour we all began to agitate a bit, then another half an hour, no explanation for the delay. Then finally after an 15 hour flight and 75 minutes waiting for the boat we all got on. What was happening? Even for arriving and departing guests they wont put on extra boats unless you cough up between $150-200 and they kept us all waiting the best part of 90 minutes.
We arrived just in time at 21.30 to see the buffet restaurant competely depleted.

The beach the next day has the smallest sun umbrellas on the planet - useless in hot sun.
The beach is frequently covered in rubbish due apparently to 6000 illegal immigrants on a sort of floating village around the corner. The sea looked disgusting until we asked the hotel to clean it up which they did but it happened again 3 more times in a week.

The wifi in the rooms is awful if you opt for the free service. TV was intermitent.

Finally, the resort is built on a hillside, quite a steep hillside. There are no buggies so you need to be fit to walk sometimes up to half a kilometre uphill in 34 degrees. It also rains every afternoon so you often find yourself walking in the rain past the staff in their vans !!! Apparently a neighbouring resort has had a number of buggy accidents and this put the management off. They need to think again.

The bar is small and the staff there do not match those at the fish place or breakfast. Breakfast s also poor value.

The staff sort of rescue the place because they are young and keen from an apparently ill advised management, who are never seen outside their offices.

Room Tip: Give it a year or two to improve
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!

I would like to unreservedly apologize on the overall disappointments as your kind self shared. Assuring you nothing less but further corrective and improvement measures on addressing the areas.

On the boat, I am very sorry on the inconveniences that your self experienced on waiting for the boat. In our records, we had your private boat scheduled for 2030 hours and we noted your early arrival and our efforts to get the boat earlier did not fruit a positive results as the boat were scheduled for another transfer for the period and you were not duly informed.

Again, we are very sorry on the overall disappointments and we would like to assure your kind self again that further corrective and improvements measures are now in-progress on the areas.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We walked up to mount Kinabalu and planned to relax ourselves in a nice hotel, hence, we picked Gaya island resort because of its exclusive location. It is about 20 mins away ferry ride from town and is situated in an island. Upon arrival, you see many nice houses built around a forest, it seems that you are living in a tree house. The decor in the room is modern with a large bath tub. You will sometime see monkeys on the trees. We also saw a monster lizard in the beach and also saw it swimming in the sea, too. The beach is not as nice as Maldives but there are many small fishes in the sea. You can really do nothing but just to relax in the beach or in the pool. There is a nature trail that you can take but our legs were too tired to do that. It is an I disturbed and quiet place to relax.
We only chose to stay for three nights as we worried that if the food was not good and we would be stuck. It turns out that the food is very nice, ESp the crab burger, it is a must try.
The people here are all very helpful, ESP Vivienne, she can help you to sort out many problems as we had some miscommunication with the dive centre and nobody could help us to arrange the diving the next day. Vivienne helped out to find a good diving centre for us in the last minute.
Highly recommend this hotel if you like to have a quiet time with the family.

Room Tip: If you do not like to walk too far from the lobby very day for every meal, then, pick a room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!

Many thanks on your review and I am happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us and on Vivienne's extra miles into ensuring you stay is nothing less then a comfortable and relax one.

Your comments are shared with Vivienne and team and they are all very happy to read on your comfortable stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Wishing you all the best!

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Gaya Island Resort is located about 20 minutes away from KK by boat and is not your typical "higher-end" resort. For starters, the rooms are not connected by a corridor but they are actually spread out like semi-detached bungalows (4 rooms per block) set amidst lush tropical forests and many will require walking uphill to get to them. We found their setup to be very similar to another YTL resort, Pangkor Laut and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. But if you are looking for a typical hotel with an air conditioned lobby with lifts to take you to your room, GIR is not the place for you. You will sleep & wake up to the sounds of the forest and sometimes, the rain ; absolutely wonderful therapy.

Although it is located on Gaya Island and is considered a part of the Tunku Abdul Rahman marine Park (TARP), the beach and waters around the resort is not very good. The service at GIR is truly exceptional and, in particular, we like to thank Vivienne & Iuliana who made my family and friends feel so welcome ; Vivienne went to incredible steps to see to our needs right from the moment we stepped into the resort. This service level from Vivienne and others truly sets GIR apart from all other hotels.

The food at GIR ranges from delicious to mediocre ; for example, their crab burger, seafood pizza and "spider maki" are wonderful as are their fried noodles but their roast beef & linguine from the buffet is way to dry and lacks flavor (their buffet spread is also limited). I would suggest they pay more attention to their food variety and overall quality as they have a captive audience who certainly don't want to feel like they are captured !

Our family also arranged a whole days diving around TARP through "Dive Down Below" and we were impressed by their service. Their dive boats are fast & comfortable and their dive equipment is pretty decent. Again Vivienne of GIR went to great lengths to help us make arrangements with this dive operator after the "in-house dive operator" at GIR turned out to be hopeless for us. Our vacation at GIR would've been incomplete had we not been able to dive especially since there was quite a lot to see during the dives.

Overall, GIR is a wonderful gem where you can get away from the stress of the city and just have a holiday (which is the whole idea anyway !), relax by their wonderful pool daybeds and simply recharge your battery.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!

Many thanks on your support and review. I am happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed the facilities and services offered and will recommend Gaya Island Resort to your family and friends. I have shared your positive comments with Iuliana & Vivienne and have congratulated them on their extra miles on ensuring that you are well looked after through out your stay.

I have noted your comment on food and I would like apologize on this area not meeting your expectations. We take no excuse on improving our areas for the comfort of you and our guests. Moving forward, we are in the mid of reviewing our menus of Feast Village restaurant and further improved product is soon to be launched.

Again, many thanks on your comments. Me, Iuliana, Vivienne and team look forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here with a party of 6 friends and we had a wonderful time at this resort during the Good Friday long weekend under the resident's package for Malaysians and Singaporeans.

As it was Good Friday, the resort was quite packed at 70% occupancy rate.

Their lounge at Sutera harbour is a short 10mins ride from the airport.

The lounge is nicely decorated but a little small as it was packed when we arrived with guests awaiting to board the ferry and guests leaving the harbour. The staff was however professional and friendly.

The ferry ride to Gaya island was fast around 15mins and a scenic ride passing fishing villages on stilts.

Arrival at Gaya island, we were greeted by beautiful scenery of villas perched on the hills and the lush rainforest.

The staff were already on standby at the jetty to greet us and they assigned a staff each to every group that is checking in. Yun who is the sales executive is the one who welcomed us at the resort and showed us the resort and brought us to the restaurant for lunch while waiting for the room to be readied. Yun was very friendly and helpful and made the bookings for snorkelling, Yoga, dinner ,etc for us and greeted and talked to us everytime she sees us during our stay there. She really made us feel at home.

Some in our party stayed in the Kinabalu room and some the Gaya room. The Kinabalu room offered extremely beautiful view of the sea, jetty and the Kinabalu mountain on clear days from the balcony. It was wonderful waking up to such gorgeous views.

The villa is tastefully designed. The bed is comfortable and the bath room is huge. The bathtub can easily fit in 3 persons! However, the bathtub gives cracking sound on and off when someone goes into it. The Kinabalu villa is high up on the hill and requires walking up a relatively steep slope so I don't recommend any children or people with walking difficulties to stay there as there is no buggy service in this resort. The Gaya villas however are easily accessible.

Food in the resort is generously portioned and quite expensive so the resident's package is really worth it. We ate so much until we are so full.

The pool is huge with floating cabanas and plenty of deck chairs. The beach is clean with many cleaners cleaning it throughout the day. Occasionally we can still see rubbish floating up the beach.

The Tajavun bay is a more picturesque beach comparatively and is only a short 5 mins ferry ride there and is complimentary by the hour. Its a nice experience to have lunch there too but the food and beverages there is rather limited. You will be greeted by wild boars there during lunch time! However, the manager in charge of the beach restaurant there , Joffrey from Philipines, is very friendly and professional. He is always smiling talking to the guests. The snorkelling is not as good at Tavajun Bay compared to the main resort house reef. The complimentary snorkelling trip by the resort is well organised and professional. Its very popular and can be fully booked fast so book early! They even serve fruits on sticks and ice water and prepared fresh towels after the snorkelling.

The spa village has a nice ambience located in the mangrove swamp but the massage treatments is quite pricey. Yoga sessions which are complimentary are held at the spa village outdoors in the morning. They are worth going for and the instructor Prabna is very good too!

The Nature walk is also worth going as Justin is very knowledgable and passionate about his job. We saw snakes, many lizards, Lingzhi, bats, etc on our nature walk. Really enjoyed ourselves.

Staff will greet you throughout the resort. This i must say , they have done well!


Now for the negative aspects of the resort which can be improved :

1)Housekeeping seems to be inconsistent. One day they replenished all the toiletries and another day they forgot to replenish them. Also same for the complimentary coffee/tea in the room. Also those staying in the Gaya villas had different brand/quality bath gel from those are the Kinabalu room. They seems to be in the tranisition of changing their brand of toiletries with the body lotion and conditioner from a better brand and the bath gel and shampoo from a brandless one.

2)The bellman service is bad. The reception says they have arranged for our luggage to be picked up at 12pm and transfer to another villa of our friend who has late check out. However, at 3.10pm , the luggage has not arrived!!! We were waiting for our luggage to shower and change into our fresh clothes so that we can check out of the villa in time. It took us 3 phone calls to get the luggage delivered to the villa finally.

3)Some of the TV channels listed in the room menu is actually not available. They should update the list.

4)They should consider having a buggy service for guests staying at the Kinabalu rooms just like resorts like Banyan Tree as it is quite a steep climb. I can imagine elderly people with knee problems will have a lot of difficulties going up and down the hill.

I must say if you are on the resident's package, this is really worth trying as it is really value for money!

Room Tip: Go for the Kinabalu rooms if you want a beautiful view but you must be able to climb up the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to unreservedly apologize on the areas that performed below expectations, as shared by your self. Assuring your good self that the areas are all looked into and further corrective and improvements measures are now taken in our efforts to prevent on any recurrence of similar conditions.

I also note that Yun, Joffrey, Justin and Pradna stood on exceptional platform on ensuring that you are well looked after during your stay. I have congratulated them on their nobble efforts and I am very proud to have them in my team.

Again, I am very sorry on the areas that performed below expectations and I would like to thank you very much on bringing this to my attention.

Wishing you all the best in your future undertakings and I hope to see you back with Gaya Island Resort in future.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

we had a great time during our 3-night stay in the resort. it's a whimsically memorable experience.

very attentive staff who are friendly and making every way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. not exaggerating. this makes the hotel we stayed after Gaya Island Resort a bit less pleasant. =P

it was my boy's birthday during our stay. a delicious cake was prepared for us at the dinner. three other guests (kids) also came to join in singing the bday song. my boy was thrilled ... completely! they also sent in some balloons to decorate our room. thanks a lot for the lovely arrangement! :)

the villa is very spacious, clean, comfortable and NEW! we luv the bathtub!!!!!! the only bummer is that the toilet was stuck. they basically sent staff to our villa every day ... the best thing is that they dealt with the issue and put us in another villa afterwards.

one more note is that it probably worth requesting for rooms closer to the main area. ours is a bit of walk uphill. it was extremely pleasant in the evening/during night time ... but not so when the sun is up there. we do get good view from our room, so it's only the walk to/from the main area.

the private beach is lovely. it's 5-min boat ride from the jetty. you can enjoy some quiet time there.

the swimming pool is not big but of decent size. we could spend the whole afternoon in the swimming pool. we had lunch there and saw some wild boars.

we enjoyed the activities in the resort too. we joined the complimentary snorkeling and morning trail. a great way to explore the site and learn more about the nature. it's esp precious for the small ones.

pretty nice food there. not cheap but at least you can understand as we are in an island and it is of good quality. just that we didnt usually have a big appetite so we always asked for the lunch menu i/o the buffer they served for dinner.

last but not least, i wud like to compliment the slippers provided. it's the most comfortable hotel slippers i hv come across, no exaggeration.

Room Tip: nearer to the hotel area and/or less uphill, then you wont have to walk so much
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Gaya Island Resort-a walking resort!

Many thanks on your recent review and I am happy to read that you had a enjoyable time with us as a whole. I am also happy to read that the team reacted promptly on the occasions where your first room had toilet challenges by changing you to another villa. I have congratulated the team on their pro-activeness and job well done. The toilet is now further checked and the defective flushing system is now replaced wit a new set.

Again, many thanks on your support and I look forward to welcome you back to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I just ended our 5 day 4 nights stay at Gaya Island Resort. Overall, it was a superb experience. Firstly, the culture inculcated at the resort was uniformed, superb in its delivery with warm hospitality and staffs were able to remember your names. Service was immaculate, food was excellent and the aesthetics were immense. However, there are room for improvement in several areas. Firstly, the speedboat ferries to and fro the resort from Sutera Harbour should be made complimentary for guests' use or perhaps a certain number of transfers could be included or costed into the price so that guests would not have to be told the charges during their stay. Secondly, I find the cicadas disturbing and scary in the evening, rendering the evening hike up to the villas a nerve-wrecking experience as these insects are attracted to the lightings, they ended up terrorizing the villa's entrance, making guests very uncomfortable although this is certainly no fault of the resort. On hindsight, the cicadas are very much "residents" of the region collectively known as Borneo. My wife was freaked out but take nothing away, the experience Gaya Island provided was great. Finally, I would suggests more variety on the dining menu. We had the Kadazan dinner which was exceptional. The Fisherman's Cove was lovely although we would have preferred something more value for money. The options at The Feast Village for breakfast was varied but could have something distinctively different for each day. Dinner at The Feast Village is limited though. We did not try the buffet as we thought that we could do with an ala carte order but were restricted to the lunch menu for ala carte. In addition, the villas were exciting. The only bad thing about it were the pillows, too flat and doesn't offer enough support for the neck. Ending it all, I find the whole Gaya Island Resort experience delightful, pleasurable, satisfying and would definitely recommend greatly to anyone seeking a hideaway of a different genre, one that is truly Distinctly Borneo.

Room Tip: If you have seniors travelling with you, they may find the hiking up to the Kinabalu or Canopy Villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirinjit, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Borneo!

I would like to thank-you very much on your review and constructive comments shared on your recent stay with us. I note, overall you had a memorable time with us and enjoyed the services and facilities offered.

I an happy to share that we have got synthetic pillows available upon request. With customer comfort as heart, we have also noted your pillow comment in our special request list and this will be made available for you upon your return to Gaya Island Resort. Moving forward, we are in midst of finalizing our pillow menu for our listing in our in-room compendium.

Again, many thanks on your comments and assuring you nothing less but further improved experiences upon your return to Gaya Island Resort in future.

Kind regards,
Kirinjit Singh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaya Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Island Resort

Address: Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Pulau Gaya 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Pulau Gaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gaya Island Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gaya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaya Island Resort Malaysia/Pulau Gaya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaya Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.