We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORDS CAN'T EXPLAIN! EMOTION WILL!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Steccheto

Lo Steccheto
Strada Provinciale dell'Esse 6, 52047 Marciano della Chiana, Italy
0575845222
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $45
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Luxembourg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“WORDS CAN'T EXPLAIN! EMOTION WILL!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is not just a restaurant, this is a once in a life experience !!
First the food OH MY GOD everything leaves you wishing you could stop time and stay in that moment forever! it's that good! i am 45 years old and i have visited many restaurants in that time, this is for me the best i ever experienced.

I mention Emotion and this is what we felt when we heard our wedding music being played by chance, coulped with food left us in tears, what more can i say!!!

Thankyou Jean Carlo and Luana for everything

Never stop

Steve Claudine Katrina & Sam xxxx

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    281
    101
    17
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredible gastronomic pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Upon entering the restaurant in the last week of April, the melody of Perry Como singing a Christmas carol came through the speakers. There was so much paraphenalia everywhere that there was no ledge, table top or anywhere free of nic nacs. Yet, it was apparent that regular cleaning was done asit was inpecibly clean - there was no dust anywhere! Eclectic for sure! There's nothing better than a restaurant that not only has wonderful food, but has a welcoming atmosphere.

Giancarlo prepared us an incredible delicacy of gastronomic pleasure. Platters of food were placed before us - from pizza and veggies to pasta and seafood followed by a still-warm lemon pie. Truly the pride of Tuscany; if not all Italy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Outstanding eating in an eclectic setting with a dynamic host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Lo Steccheto must be visited when in Tuscany. No menu, Jean Carlo the eclectic owner and chef chooses the meal served in the multi room main floor of large house he resides in with his brood. Everything made from scratch. The topping on the appetizer pizza, which had a different crust than usual were incredible. The meats the rissoto with artichokes and the truffled ravioli. Squid cooked to perfection. More food than you can ever imagine comes out on plate after plate. And just as enjoyable is his array of collectibles from Jean Carlos 87 years (although he looks 60). Many of which he made himself. Don't forget to try the homemade aperitif's of all flavors. Is there anything this man can't do.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Most amazing meal and relaxed dining environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Giancarlo is an excellent cook and personable owner. His family ensures a perfect dining experience. So many Americans have had wonderful experiences in his restaurant, evident by his "guest book." We really cannot recommend this restaurant enough. From the incredible food, great wine, and charming/relaxing restaurant, you really can't go wrong. My true advice would be to go, relax, and when ready to sit down tell him to bring you whatever he would like - you can't go wrong.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful food great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have had dinner at Lo Stecchto three times and each trip has been unique,different and delicious. The food is exceptional, especially for the price. The eclectic decor fits right in with the old Hippy owner. Not an easy place to find but well worth the extra effort. It is all about the food and the wonderful preparation of each dish. If in Tuscany do not hesitate to go to Lo Steccheto and experience a dinner you will not forget.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Steccheto also viewed

Lucignano, Province of Arezzo
Foiano Della Chiana, Province of Arezzo
 
San Leolino, Bucine
Monte San Savino, Province of Arezzo
 
Monte San Savino, Province of Arezzo
Marciano della Chiana, Province of Arezzo
 
Lucignano, Province of Arezzo
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
 
Marciano della Chiana, Province of Arezzo

Been to Lo Steccheto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Steccheto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.