We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusted never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Morgan Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Molly Morgan Motor Inn to your Saves list
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
New England Highway, East Maitland, Maitland, New South Wales 2323, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in East Maitland
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disgusted never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE
very unprofessional management
there rude they dnt know how to approach they dnt care they just want money the room was very dirty walls carpet mould in bathrooms pillows smelled like perfume we do not recommend for any1 to stay here
put your money somewhere else where uyou will be treated better trust us

Room Tip: stay some where else cleaner room money worth
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Having just been relocated to the Hunter Valley,we found the Molly Morgan Motel ideal for our stay. As we are new to the area, we phoned ahead & found the Reception staff very helpful.Upon checking in to our Deluxe Room,which was dated,but very clean & tidy,we asked at Reception about the local area & both husband & wife could not have been more helpful in answering our many questions in regards to the Hunter Valley area.We stayed at the Molly Morgan for more than a week,having Breakfast daily,& enjoyed their restaurant-Angels Inn,which was opened Monday till Thursday.We found the meals very good.& the service was also excellent.Even had several swims in the pool.We would thoroughly recommend staying at the Molly Morgan Motel as the Staff are excellent & the Motel has commenced an Upgrade -so "Happy Days" for all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Came here after being stuck in a motel in Moree in northern NSW for five days during the worst flood there in 35 years (no picnic, believe me) on our way back to Sydney from Bundaberg. A 4WD, with the numberplate nutjob-003, in the carpark should have given us a clue about the calibre of this ostensibly three-star flophouse. Where to start? The noise from the traffic thundering past? Perhaps the deluxe-classified room's foot-long lizard, which apparently was there as an environmentally friendly way to get rid of the cockroaches and mosquitoes that we discovered infested the place in the wee small hours of the night? The officious desk clerk who, when we complained about the lizard, told us to just open the door and shoo it away; and later, when we returned to inquire about room service for dinner, sighed, rolled his eyes and said: "You again?" The cold, fat-congealed dinner we were served more than an hour after we'd ordered it? The odd-tasting, barely edible eggs at breakfast? The fact we'd been told at check-in that there was a bath in the room when there wasn't? (No big deal in itself but irksome in the extreme in conjunction with everything else.) Perhaps the staff felt motorcyclists were undeserving of better? Who knows. There are plenty of good quality motels in the Hunter. This is not one of them. Give it a miss.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these East Maitland hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with a family of 4.I had no issue with Molly Morgan and found it worth the money we paid.Th bathroom was clean,which is a big thing for me and my family.The room had that old smell and the furniture was old and tired we had no issue with the air-conditioner like previous reviews.Overall we had a good experience with Molly Morgan,it is close to the stores and New England Hwy which worked out well for us.


  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Had problems with booking as per previous review. In our case specifically asked for family room with queen and 2 singles and booked 9 hrs in advance only to arrive and find a normal room with queen and single. Again there was an issue with the girl on receptions poor grasp of English. Despite the fact that the motel was under a quarter occupied the room was unable to be changed.
Room was old with the carcass of a 70's style radio between the bed as a bedside table. Questionably clean. Not enough pillows. Air con noisy and did not cool. Windows did not open. Cooled room by opening back and front doors although insects were a problem.

Surprising quiet given was on main road and we had a reasonable sleep. Did not order breakfast

Room Tip: Can offer nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Couldn't find anything wrong with Molly Morgans very nice place to stay, we were there for 3 nights and had very nice time there and in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Coast
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Having booked a room at this motl 2 weeks in advance, we were dismayed to be told on arrival that all the rooms were booked and they would have to put us in a spare room - this took a while to understand as the girl on the desk spoke little english.
When we parked and walked up a very dangerous narrow staircase attached to the side of the conference centre, we entered a very dark narrow corridor. At the end we found our room, just an internal door with a single lock. On entering the room it could only be described as spartan. The room had a doubl bed (we requested a queen) 2 singles with little room between these beds, a table with no chairs, and a tiny window mounted airconditioner.
The window facing the east had most of the vertical slats missing and this window faced a set of traffic lights on the highway, meaning that we had a very broken sleep, then woken at 6am as soon as the sun came up. Our beds were hard and lump and the airconditioner managed to freeze up after 2 minues of operation, ensuring that we were wokn by the air con when the highway was quiet.
On check out we mentioned these things to the girl at recption but she said she didnt understand much english.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Molly Morgan Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Morgan Motor Inn

Address: New England Highway, East Maitland, Maitland, New South Wales 2323, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > East Maitland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in East Maitland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Molly Morgan Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Morgan Motor Inn Maitland/East Maitland, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Morgan Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.