We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility and a nice break from city life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Hayahay

Save Saved
You added Isla Hayahay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Isla Hayahay
Brgy. Lomboy, Pangangan Island, Calape, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Calape
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Tranquility and a nice break from city life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were there for 2 nights and did not manage to do the island hopping bit due to time constraint. The resort gives off a very cosy feeling, makes you wanna just lie on the hammock and drink beer (San Miguel Grande at only 100pesos!) all day! Insect repellant is a Must and for those light-sleepers like moi, be prepared to put up with the air-conditioning unit in the room..! Other than that, great food, lovely staff and Isla Hayahay is truly the answer to a rejuvenating trip, away from the hustle bustle of city life..!

Look forward to my next trip and spending some time in the clear blue waters~!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    24
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
35
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The manager/owner is a grumpy and Condescending old man.

• Accused me of trying to cheat him by not mentioning a 3rd person in the room (my 3 year old son), although his own policy states: "There are no charges for children under the age of 3 years sharing with parents".
• Tried to convince me that I was either stupid or trying to cheat him. He wouldn't leave the issue alone even after I showed him that his own policy was: "not to rent the room per person but per room".
Petty scams:
• Motorcycle rental is 850/ 8 hours ( this is more than double the going rate of 400/24 hour period ), we had no choice but to rent from him as the only other way out of their secluded compound was a tricycle or paying 4,000 for a them to drive us.
• Island hopping: Their regulations state 700 / pp but we were charged 750 in the end. The island hopping tour was supposed to include lunch and refreshments, we were charged for 9 beers about 600P. This was impossible
Nice staff but slow, forgetful, not too bright. Stressful and unfortunate experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangangan, Owner at Isla Hayahay, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
This is an interesting interpretation of the reviewers booking and stay at Isla Hayahay, and a view that is in direct contrast to our own. Note that the reviewer begins the review with a personal insult, one of many endured during the reviewer’s stay. It reveals a lot about a person’s character and attitude. The irony here is that we were entirely courteous and polite to the reviewer during his stay. However, we’ll give our perspective in relation to the points raised in the review, to give reader’s the opportunity to place this review in the context that it deserves (vis-à-vis the others at this listing).
1. The reviewer booked his room via an online booking agent – Late Rooms. When making a booking at Late Rooms the type of room and occupancy is clearly defined. You need to check a box and agree to terms and conditions to acquire the booking. Even though the reviewer’s hotel voucher gave him the facts he declined to accept them and then began an incredulous mission of trying to prove his point, which was essentially an impossible task. This went on and on even though we gave him the room. At all times we were courteous and polite. The terms of conditions of the booking are to pay upon arrival, which he declined to do. At one point he insisted that breakfast was included, although the 18 point emboldened text on his hotel voucher clearly stated that it didn’t. The reviewer claimed that he did this all the time, that it was the norm for all hotels, that we were uneducated, untraveled people who knew nothing. The reviewer claims that we tried to make him look stupid or that we accused of him of being a cheat. None of this is true. We only clarified the reviewer’s booking and give him the opportunity to upgrade his room to the appropriate room. During the long drawn out course of this the reviewer constantly inferred that we were stupid and trying to cheat him . Still, we gave him the service that we give all guests.
2. There are no petty scams at Isla Hayahay. All services are clearly priced, either at our website or at our site. There are probably motorcycles for hire at lower rates than ours. The adage to remember is ‘you get what you pay for’. Our bikes are new, well maintained and above all legal. Many private individuals hire their own personal motorcycles here. Many are sub-standard and not registered. We did in fact acquire a ‘cheaper’ motorcycle at the reviewer’s request, but when it arrived he rejected it, because apparently the wheels were too small, even though the wheels were standard size. We respond to all types of transport requests for guests and there are various options for various budgets. Guests are not tied to us for services as they can inquire locally and find their own.
3. Our island hopping trip as advertised at our website is currently showing the price of Php 700 per person. We update the prices at our website annually in August, and display any upward adjustments during the course of the year at the hotel. It’s true that our current price is Php 750 per person. We’ve made the adjustment and all interested island hoppers are told this in advance. The reviewer shared the trip with 4 others, who paid the same price. Contrary to the reviewer’s view we are not ‘scamming’ anyone. All is transparent and nothing is hidden. The drink allocation for the picnic is a soft drink and water, not 6 bottles of beer. We put a large cold box of assorted drinks onto the boat for the trip and expect guests to pay for any additional drinks consumed. The reviewer was not charged for any drinks that he didn’t consume.
4. The reviewer ends his review with a further insult to the staff of Isla Hayhay, when other reviews at this listing are all complimentary. During the reviewer’s stay our staff was at all times courteous, polite, attentive and accommodating. Again, the irony in the negative description of our staff is huge. We leave it to the reader to determine bogus reviews from genuine ones at this listing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Isla Hayahay resort for 3 nights in January / 2013 based on its glowing reviews on TA. I am glad we went for the full board with the snorkeling and hiking tour package. The food was excellent and the staff are quite friendly and professional. We stayed in room # 3, which was basic but quite spacious and spotless. It has a balcony that faces the central driveway. The property has a nice 2- story structure which served as the main lounge area where we sat around to read and enjoy the cool sea breeze. The free Wifi, coffee and tea was a nice plus.
The one big gripe I have was the loud karaoke noise next door on the day we arrived at the resort. We arrived on a Sunday at around 2pm. The racket went on until 8pm when it finally stopped. We later found out that the karaoke only happens on the weekends when the tourists visit the nearby beach resort. I have to say that after that Sunday, the karaoke stopped and we were never bothered by it again for the rest of our stay.
I still highly recommend Isla Hayahay as the place to stay while on the west side of Bohol. It's great value especially if you opt for one of the packages they offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ok so I have chosen the unoriginal word 'relaxing' in the title of the review, but it aptly describes this place to keep brief I have bullet pointed into 'pros' and 'considerations' but ont take the considerations as objections - they are just worth knowing .
Pros
- exceptional response from owner in relation to booking, organising transport and friendliness to people staying
- wonderful staff in general. The little lass at reception was so ready to assist with a smile on her face
- peace and quiet (apart from the early evening Karaoke bar next door)
- ability to just click your fingers the night before to organise a driver and go on tours
- cleanliness of resort - cant remember the last time I saw grass being hand cut with clippers and the sand being raked. Rooms also good
considerations
- it is about an hour from the main town and further away from The main tourist area. The only challenge this would be for solo travellers or those on a budget. If you want to go on tours - you basically hire the car/boat for the day. If others are going then you share the cost - if not you have to pay all yourself. We were fortunate another couple went to do the excellent countryside tour (Tasiers are awesome!) this was 4000peso just for car (not including entry fees). Boat for the brilliant island hopping was I recall 2400pesos. I would recommend both though.
- there is no real beach . Just coral area in front of the resort. But hey - grab your snorkel and you can swim along a ledge for some great snorkelling.
Finally and just to reiterate - the place is very very...... Relaxing!

Room Tip: If you want wi if to your room choose closer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Peaceful, friendly, easy, inexpensive, clean and easily some of the best food my wife and I had in the Philippines. Staff are exceptional. Transportation provided was prompt and safe. This resort has its own boat and does provide a very good island hopping experience but there are endless swimming/snorkeling opportunities. For no additional cost the boat crew on the following day brought us to the nearby "wall of coral" ... a vertical drop off coral wall that is stunning.

The resort is most definitely secluded. It is thankfully removed from busy tourist areas and the handful "good" beaches that abound with posh resorts and obese men in overly tight swimwear. It is right on the ocean in a mangrove area that is quite rocky but beautiful. Large coral fields are close by and again the snorkeling opportunities are very good here. If you are looking to lay on a white sand beach this place is not for you (go to Boracay). The true highlights of this resort are the food, the boat trips, the comfort and personalized attention by exceptional staff.

Thank You to everyone at this resort for a very pleasant start to our holiday in the Philippines. In particular thank you to Marisella (sorry I'm sure I've spelled this wrong). You truly made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We agree with the general tenor of all the reviews: this is an excellent place--tranquil, relaxing, clean, excellent food, attentive personalized service from Marisal, etc. It’s small (10 or 12 rooms), but cleverly developed and manicured to maximize its relatively small land area and ocean frontage. However, there are a few downsides to keep in mind. The place is quite isolated from other tourist facilities, so you have to eat here (but it is VERY good), it takes a lot of time driving to get here and/or go to other places, and you are reliant on the resort for transportation (which is available, but just be aware of this). There is really no beach (at low tide its silty and seaweedy) but swimming looks inviting from the rocks at high tide although it was too windy in the low season (October) when we were there to actually try. We booked the Adventure Tour for three nights. It included an island tour for one day, which was fine but involved a lot of driving. The other day was supposed to be mountain hiking, but was very disappointing. Only hiked for about one and a half hours (over some old rice terraces, along a poor path next to a stream to a waterfall, and that was it) spent at least twice as long driving there and back, the driver had never been there before and had trouble finding the place, there was confusion about the guide for the hike itself, and then the driver drove at an excruciatingly slow pace (25-30 KMs/per/hour) back to the resort. Finally, the strangest aspect of our visit was the action (rather, inaction) of the owner. Because it was low season we were the only guests there for multiple nights (there was always one other guest, but different people each night). The owner and his family had their meals at the resort and were generally present on the premises. We had communicated via e-mail and phone before arriving, but never once did the owner even greet us or come over and say “glad you are here” or something similar. Very strange, to us at least.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We absolutely loved it here! You can make this place whatever you want your vacation to be - a romantic getaway, active with activities, an extension of your family, or all of the above.

The staff, food, and experience were incredible.

Resort is secluded, which is an absolute plus as you are away from touristy areas. You are dependent upon them for all your meals, and they were all delicious. The fruit smoothies were also wonderful (I had both- the pineapple and the mango). They accommodated special requests at the bar and even for dessert.

The island hopping tour should not be missed. We visited a village on another island, snorkeled at multiple locations, and had lunch on our very own gorgeous tiny island.

Great snorkeling overall. Saw many, many things (sea snakes, lion fish, tons of starfish, seahorses, sea cucumbers, clams, wide variety of coral, different jelly fish and of course lots of fish. Can't remember everything...)

The country tour felt a little rushed. I did not like the conditions at the little "zoo" we visited (where the big snake is). Others did not mind it as they took pictures up close with the snake - not for me.

Take the time to get to know rhe staff. They are great people. Overall, we loved this place!

One last thing... Mosquito's... A lot of them. Bring repellant, and anti-itch cream as they will get you. If you forget, they have little packages of off.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isla Hayahay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Hayahay

Address: Brgy. Lomboy, Pangangan Island, Calape, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Calape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Calape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islahayahay is a fully equipped boutique resort, and it is situated in the peaceful Barangay of Lomboy on Pangangan Island, Calape, Bohol. Pangangan Island is designated as a marine conservation area, and is an ideal location for snorkeling, diving and ecological adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Isla Hayahay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isla Hayahay Hotel Calape
Isla Hayahay Hotel Bohol
Isla Hayahay Bohol Province/Calape, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Hayahay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.