We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way 4 star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor Hotel to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Green, Datchet SL3 9EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Datchet
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No way 4 star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Our room had dirty upholstery and scruffy fittings. Our window was cracked from corner to corner and one of the tie backs was missing. Both chairs were grimy. The room was tiny and cramped. Breakfast was a joke; I gave up eventually as as soon as something on the buffet was replenished, something else would run out. Public areas are tired and the whole place is in need of a complete refit. This hotel is a long way from a genuine 4 star.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    41
    46
    28
    41
See reviews for
17
57
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently for two nights and were disappointed by the size and general layout of our tiny room. The room was next to the hotels extractor fans which were almost as noisy
as the aircraft from Heathrow which overflew every thirty seconds from dawn to dusk. The public rooms were gloomy with very dim lighting making reading difficult. Breakfast on Sunday was a shambolic affair with insufficient food and beverages. We left without breakfast as clearly the one member of staff present was unable to cope single handedly.
This hotel is certainly not 4* and might attract a 2* grading on a good day. I would avoid this establishment at all costs.

Room Tip: avoid them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello fritshersim,

I hope you are well & thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Manor Hotel.

I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable visit & would like to discuss your review in more detail.

Please could you contact me on 01753 543442 at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I attended a wedding reception in this hotel on 17th August which was very enjoyable. However my stay in the hotel on the night of the wedding was a completely different story. My room was very small. The bedlinen was clean but the bottom sheet was fitted straight on to the mattress (no mattress cover), the pillows had no pillow protectors and one pillow was old and stained. The tiles in the shower room were cracked as was the shower tray. The windows were filthy and could not be partially opened- they could only be opened fully or not at all and had to be kept closed whilst I occupied the room in order to drown out the noise of aircraft and traffic.

The wedding guests staying at the hotel were asked to meet with the bride and groom in the dining room at 9.30 the next morning (a note to this effect was left on the reception desk). The breakfast comprised a self service buffet of fried eggs, bacon etc. However, most of the food(including bread) had run out after the first 10 or so guests had served themselves and the remaining guests had to wait while a guest went to find a staff member to top up the food containers. Surely the hotel management, knowing that a lot of the guests would be breakfasting at 9.30 could have ensured that there was a plentiful supply of food available at that time.

The £79 (single occupancy) that I paid for this room represents poor value for money. I will not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: I understand that this hotel has an annexe. Rooms there may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Pauline872,

I hope you are well & thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Manor Hotel.

I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience & I would like to discuss your review in more detail with you.

Please could you contact myself on 01753 543442 at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August 2013 for a wedding. The room was small, the bathroom was tiny, with the cupboard under the sink falling apart, and the toilet was so close to the wall, you had to sit sideways to use it. Every few minutes planes fly overhead. We kept the fan on all night to try and drown out the noise. The breakfast on the first morning was undercooked and cold. The milk was sour. On the second morning, which was the wedding breakfast, the hotel ran out of food ( even though they knew the number of guests there). Then they ran out of plates. And only one member of staff was working, to cover 100 plus guests. The barman was rude, and not very helpful. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!! I

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello lovetravelling21,

I hope you are well & thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Manor Hotel.

I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience & I would like to discuss your review in more detail with you.

Please contact me on 01753 543442 at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for x 1 night on a seminar. The so called "double room " was very very small and not at all attractive. Outside the window were an array of ventilators which were noisy overnight. In the room one of the towels was very dirty and had to be changed. The "double "bed was small and very uncomfortable. Accoring to the marketing brief the hotel had been recenly renovated - if it had it did not show signs of this. Most of the carpets seemed to be the originals. The overnight room rate was quoted as c £125 /night = am very glad that we did not have to pay this ,as if we had been staying here and paying ourselves = we would have gone elsewhere!! The food we had , however, was good , well presented and tasty,and the staff were corteous and attentitive. Overall not a great experience .

Room Tip: Before you agree to stay in any room ,ask the staff to show you around. Dont agree to stay in any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello PeterLLondon,

I hope you are well & thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Manor Hotel.

I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience & I would like to discuss your review in more detail.

Please could you contact me on 01753 543442 at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke poges England.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a great Sunday lunch at the Manor hotel datchet, although it was on a groupon voucher so a 50% discount, very nice staff and a great lady serving at the bar made our stay spcial, it was a two course meal with a very nice soup, hot bread with butter followed by beef , lamb or pork, two of us had very tender beef and two had lamb accompanied by roast potatoes, red cabbage beans and a yorkshire pudding, the gravey was more a kin to a jue, very very nice, probably not how its spelt, with a nice glass of champane. We will soon return for the spcial fish and chips and a pint or glass of wine for under £10 on certain days only .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello dc66,

I hope you are well & thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the Manor Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch & it was nice to see you this week enjoying our fish & chips offer!

We look forward to seeing you again at the Manor Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I found the hotel room very clean, the decor charming, and the area quaint. Stayed for just one night passing through, not much nearby for restaurants, had to walk quite a long ways to find just a Tessco Express. The staff wasn't very helpful either in finding a place to eat, I don't think any of the staff I spoke to new English well, so that may have been the problem, not that they were unhelpful. But overall, a charming little place, probably the best in that area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan P, Guest Relations Manager at The Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Shale J,

I hope you are well & thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Manor Hotel.

I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable visit & we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards

Megan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Address: Village Green, Datchet SL3 9EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Datchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Datchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Hotel is situated overlooking the village green & near to the banks of the River Thames.It is within easy access to the M4, M25 & Heathrow airport is 15 minutes drive away.The Manor is 5 minutes from Windsor town centre & the Windsor Castle & is easily accessible to London via the train.The hotel has 54 bedrooms of varying size & 4 function rooms available to use for conferences, parties, weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Datchet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.