We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel experience of my life!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor Hotel to your Saves list
The Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Green, Datchet SL3 9EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Datchet
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel experience of my life!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed with my hotel with my family, and words do not begin to describe how awful the whole experience was. I was travelling with a small child and can only describe the room given to me as a death trap! They "ugraded me" (??) to an "executive studio" that was outside of the hotel itself, across an A road and some train tracks with the most disgusting mattresses I have ever witnessed in my 4 decades of life! Needless say that we asked for a refund and left in less than an hour. I would most certainly advice people to avoid this place at all costs!

Room Tip: Avoid the "executive studios" across the train tracks like the plague! And check you matre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    41
    26
    38
See reviews for
18
52
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nice location on the village green with a good pub opposite. Very pleasant 30 minute walk into Windsor. Lovely on a sunny evening. Perhaps less so in mid winter. Small room and rather uncomfortable bed due it having been sat on frequently as there is nowhere else to sit. Very clean though. Good value and I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster south yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel executive room for three nights but was given a room nothing like the one on the web page.
The room we were given was next door to the hotel in an annexe.The carpet on the stairs was threadbare .
Once in the room we were shocked at how small it was and how dirty the rug was in fact it was filthy . How they can sell this as an executive room is beyond me .
The room that was shown on the web stated spacious bedroom with work station and marble bathroom none of these things were in this room.The bath was free standing in this room at the end of the bed?
So don't waste your money on this hotel .
We checked straight back out again and went to Eton just down the road and found a lovely hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Datchet hotels

Swansea
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed one night at the Manor Hotel. April , 2013.

The hotel is in a very good location, being very close to the M4 and for using the train for London and sightseeing around the surrounding area.

We paid £80 for a classic double room, described - "With standard - size beds, these are large, elegant rooms with plenty of space for luggage and suitable for double or single occupancy.
The en-suite Philippe Stack bathrooms are generous and well appointed, and several have walk-in showers."

We had checked in around 7pm, freshened up and went out again - not paying much attention to the bed etc. We returned around 10.30, and did not raise the matter with management, until we checked out in the morning.

Our room (215) was small , a 4ft bed against one wall, which led to a very cramped and uncomfortable night. I think it is suitable only for single occupancy.

The receptionist did offer a free upgrade the next time we stayed , but as that is unlikey, it was not taken up. She did say that rooms did vary. It is a shame this is not mentioned when the reservation was confirmed or when we checked in.

If you stay at this hotel, please double check when making the reservation.

Room Tip: Check size of beds !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Room was cosy with a freestanding bath in the middle, lovely touch and separate ensuite shower and loo. A very comfy bed meant a good nights sleep.
Food was of a high standard too. Succulent sirloin steak and the aromatic duck and noodle starter was wonderful.
My only criticism - and it may not have been the hotels fault - was that the WIFI was not working both evenings that I stayed. After a busy day, I was looking forward to being able to relax and file my days reports, which I was did, but was unable to send (Apparently BT had trouble in wider Datchet and it wasn't just the Manor Hotel affected). Otherwise 5*

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

just got back from a night in this hotel, room was small but plenty for a night stay with quick acess to windsor. taxi or train or walk in is not too far..datchets a charming village with the thames walking distance for a stroll..the hotels very cosy and breakfast was good..would recommend and we only paid £60 on last minute..bargain! as locations good. would recommend and come back if staying in Windsor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, Uk
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Manor twice and had 2 totally different experiences.
My first stay was in December as we booked our work Christmas Party there. I was allocated room 220 which is in short a box room! I was very disappointed as I saw some of the other rooms and the difference is massive! So room 220, top of the stairs which means you get the noise of everyone going to bed. There is not much room to move around. The room has a quirky window seat, however the window overlooks the extractor fan from the restaurant. With no air con in the room if you do have the window open you will be disturbed from 4am onwards by the noise of the fan and the smell of cooking oil. When I checked in there was no kettle in the room, only the base, the tea and coffee hadnt been replenished and the TV wouldnt work. This was sorted fairly quickly, however shouldnt have been like that in the first place. The bathroom is tiny and only has a shower.
My second visit however was completely different. This time I stayed in room 337 on the top floor which was absolutely stunning! This room has a beautiful beamed ceiling, a step down to a window seat and a large bathroom with old fashioned free standing bath and walk in shower. This room also has air conditioning. I think this is classed as an executive room so is a little more expensive but well worth it. I didnt eat breakfast on either occasion so cannot comment on that, however the bar is nice and cosy for quiet drinks and there are plenty of comfty seating areas.
It is amazing how diiferent the room types are. I would stay again if I needed to but would not book a petite double room.

Room Tip: Go for one of the higher graded rooms - both 337 and 339 are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Hotel

Address: Village Green, Datchet SL3 9EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Datchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Datchet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Hotel is situated overlooking the village green & near to the banks of the River Thames.It is within easy access to the M4, M25 & Heathrow airport is 15 minutes drive away.The Manor is 5 minutes from Windsor town centre & the Windsor Castle & is easily accessible to London via the train.The hotel has 54 bedrooms of varying size & 4 function rooms available to use for conferences, parties, weddings or meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Datchet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.