We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice people, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atrium Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Atrium Apartments
Save
You added The Atrium Apartments to your Saves list
23 Maunganui Rd, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice people, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I am both a contributor and a users of Trip Advisor, I travel a lot for work and see the best and worst of hotels around the world. I am always interested to read reviews on places that I stay in to give myself a sanity check. Some of the review for The Atrium at Mount Maunganui make me question if I was staying at the same place as some of these people.

So let me tell the story. My wife and I were having a lazy week off and decided to spend it around the Bay of Plenty and Coromandel areas on NZ. We arrived in Mount Maunganui early afternoon after a good tip for the people who run The Church Accommodation in Hahei (another gem of a place) and went for a walk looking for a deal for 3 - 4 nights.

With not much happening in town and on the tail end of the summer season we figured that there would be deals to be had and were surprised that a number of Holiday Apartment complexes were not interested in incremental walk in revenue for a unit that would otherwise be unoccupied.

The folk at the Atrium were excellent, they were friendly to deal with and came up with a deal we were both happy with for a top floor studio with harbour views, they even offered to throw in a cruise ship arrival for free to sweeten the deal.

Magic. The unit was bright and airy, it was clean and well appointed and very comfortable and we got 4 cruise ships, one each day were were there )see attached photo).

The beach was 100 metres in one direction and the harbour 150 metres in the opposite direction. There were cafes and restaurants a few minutes walk away with a more substantial shopping precinct 10-15 minutes walk. Hard to think of anything more to ask for.

Contrary to what Prellin has suggested in another review, this is a well run Apartment Building with a staff who are interested in you and care about what they are doing. The building and the apartments (we had 2 over our 4 days) were well maintained and in good order.

When you take a cheap deal, you don't always get the Presidential Suite in our case we happened to be there when there was not a high occupancy so we did well. You can't expect that every time when you are on a cheap deal.

I have no hesitation in recommending The Atrium and if you look at all the reviews there are plenty of guests who agree with my perspective. I will definitely return to this building when next we want a lazy week at the Bay of Plenty.

Room Tip: I think the Harbour view is better than the Beach View. Noise was not an issue when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    10
    8
    12
See reviews for
29
26
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
paeroa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

we stayed on the top floor overlooking the harbour and loved it. nice and clean, good size lounge, friendly staff. will definatley be going back to stay in the future

Room Tip: the higher the floor your on, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

We bought a deal on Grab One and was very disappointed. The place is in urgent need of repair. The toilet roll holder was broken, shower soap holder broken, the dryer broken, the table on the balcony was rusted, tv stand rusted. The carpets was grubby, fridge door was dented in an curtains was moldy. Due to the condition of the place it seems they are attracting customers through the Grab One website cause I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

we took up a graba-deal which worked out at $90.00 a night, great place would definetly stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

we stayed 2 nights on the fourth floor in a 2 bed apartment and loved it,the apartment was clean and had everything we needed and more.had all your cooking needs ,dishwasher,dryer washing machine,and we were lucky enough to get a room with great view of the harbour,nothing like having a sleep in and watching the boats come in and out.the closeness to everything was excellent,and pool and spa was just the thing for relaxing after a day exploring tauranga /mount ,the access way to the mount beach was perfect,2min walk and through the gates your there.i read the older reviews and was a lil worried but obviously going by the last few something has changed and dont have a bad word to say about the atrium.in fact we will be back again shortly,secure ,clean and easy going owners ,great amenities and walking distance to everything,having a 3yr old girl tell you she wants to come back again and again does it for us.great walks,beach,play ground,perfect place to get away for a rest but still have the option of good shopping if you want too.

Room Tip: ask for room with a view ,probably 4th or 5th floor,dont forget laundry powder if you want to do was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed two nights in a one bedroom apartment on the 5th floor with a harbour view. The apartment was a good size and was very clean. Kitchen was well stocked with utensils/cutlery etc and oven/stovetop came in very handy for cooking dinner. We were provided with a portacot and plenty of bedding for our small baby.

Great location within walking distance to the beachfront, Mt Maunganui and shops/cafes.

Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Arrived without a booking and hosts provided a 2 bedroom unit on the 5th floor with views of ocean and harbor at a very good rate.
Stayed 4 nights room had all mod cons including oven which we utilized one night for a roast dinner most enjoyable.
Atrium centrally located with great access to all facilities including shortcut to beachfront

Room Tip: high floor for fab views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atrium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium Apartments

Address: 23 Maunganui Rd, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
The Atrium Apartments Hotel Mount Maunganui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atrium Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.