We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, but not as good as it used to be...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant

Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant
14a Pacific Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand (Formerly Mamma Mia)
07 5758245
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good, but not as good as it used to be...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Has there been a training camp run for restaurants on the Mt main strip - though shalt serve slowly?? The food, when it arrived was very good, the service was stilted at times. The problem was the length of time from drinks to starters to main course to dessert... Now we were in no rush, and food should be enjoyed, but this was bordering on the silly...
Would I go back - yes, because the food is good, but I would certainly push for better service, even though we were a largish group.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Loved Mamma Mia's the food was excellent as was the service, we will be back. Very easy restaurant to get to and parking was really easy. Fully licensed as well which was a bonus.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"Alright".. but won't rave about it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My friend & arrived at the restaurant with $40 "Grab1" voucher in hand. Luckily we had made a reservation as the place was really busy & we were seated right in the middle of the throughfare. I would describe the place as cosy (very small dining area & tables really close together), warm & authentic Italian.

Drink order arrived quickly, the waitress was efficient & also appeared "run off her feet!"
We ordered the bread platter - arrived quickly & beautifully presented - the bread basket for 2 was made from filo pastry & contained a variety of cute little bread rolls, there was also bread sticks of different sizes, 3 spreads - balsamic vinegar/olive oil, roasted capsicum, pesto - delicious. Good size for 2 people.

I ordered the 'Salmone & Funghi' pasta dish ($22.00) - spinach fettucine with smoked salmon, mushroom, peas, in a creamy white wine sauce topped with fresh herbs & pecorino cheese. The dish arrived quickly & appeared to me to be swamped with peas! however the flavours worked well, it was great portion-size, satisfying & filling. Only drawback was the fettucine was undercooked/clumped in some places - a bit disappointing, as I love pasta dishes.

Dessert was Tiramisu (I think about $14) & my friend had Creme Brulee. Pretty good desserts & good portion-sizes.
One thing that did mar our dining experience, was that the very busy waitress inadvertently dropped cutlery on three occasions, close to our table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reliable Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Good service and atmosphere. The food was delicious. I ordered the veal scallopine and was surprised to find the meat was cut into quite small pieces, but there was a lot of it and it was great to see lots of roasted veges on the dish also.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We dined here last night and were very impressed, the food was delicious and the service was great. Can't fault this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.