We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast! Great coffee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sidetrack Cafe

Sidetrack Cafe
3 Marine Parade, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
07-575 2145
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast! Great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Always my favourite place to go out for breakfast. Such a great selection. I recommend the sidetrack tower.

Coffee is great and the friendly service tops it off.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a very small cafe on the beach front and so can get very busy. However if you are not in a rush it is worth the wait, so be patient. The staff are always friendly even when it is busy and the food is great, but they close early so don't expect to eat here in the evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We come back here every summer holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I really like the menu and cabinet food at this place. Our favourite is the Sidetrack Tower. Its a tradition that we go here on New Years Day every year and get the tower. The coffee is good too and the hot chocolates are awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great latte coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been a regular here in the last couple of years when staying at the amount. Their latte is always great. Nice and strong and good flavour. I think part of the secret is serving it in a small glass rather than a big bowl. The food is also very good except perhaps for their muffins. There are 2 other good cafes on the strip so keep the standard high guys.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Kieran makes the best, and most consistent coffee at the Mount. As discerning coffee drinkers my husband and I know a good (or bad) coffee when we see or drink one.
my long macchiato was so good that i had to have two!!!
and the toasted muesli and fresh fruit is beautifully presented, with seasonal fruit.
So far two out of two breakfasts, and I am sure we will be back tomorrow.
(Kieran also has a social conscience - he shaved his hair off for Kids Can child cancer, and now I see he is doing a fundraising walk to help a local woman surfer who was paralysed in a surfing accident last month.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidetrack Cafe also viewed

Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
Mount Maunganui, Tauranga
 

Been to Sidetrack Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sidetrack Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.