We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Sands Lounge and Dining

Summer Sands Lounge and Dining
1 Marine Parade, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Caen, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is a good café place, we've been there close to 10 times now and thought the food was really good. The pancakes, eggs bene, gourmet chicken sandwich are our favourites. Cafe and milkshakes are fine too.
It is true the place lacks atmosphere a bit, it is quite big and often really quiet. It is ok for a brunch but I can understand people being disappointed when going for dinner because it really doesn't feel like a dinner place.
We only went there with GrabOne vouchers,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Rehashed food - no thanks!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Breakfast for a family of four on a rainy Saturday morning. Service was slow and disinterested, we watched as yesterday's cabinet food was brought out of the fridge and put back in the cabinet (only stayed as we had all ordered cooked breakfasts!) no ambiance and apart from a lady on her own we were the only ones there! We have visited a year or two ago for late afternoon drinks and nibbles and found it fine - so not sure if that is the better time of day to go or if ownership has changed and its on the downhill slide.........

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Hearty Meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went there for breakfast, was impressed with the quality of simple yet hearty meals. Great meal to start the day and go out discovering this amazing country.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing - not quite up to the standard it portrays”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I went here for dinner with my partner after browsing the website. It was a complete disappointment. The website states that it is an "up market & relaxed atmosphere restaurant". The statement couldn't be further from the truth. This is much more a cafe trying to be a restaurant. We ordered garlic bread for starters, which was served as warm bread with melted butter and no garlic. We had the surf and turf for main. This was a little better but very underwhelming. We would have been a lot less disappointed if the restaurant hadn't attempted to class itself as an upmarket restaurant. I'm sure this would have been suitable for a family meal but not for a romantic evening with a loved one.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
475 reviews 475 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Better breakfasts than other meals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have eaten here 3 times in the past few weeks. Prefer breakfast to dinner meals. First time we went for dinner, very disappointed with all 3 meals ordered. But had voucher to go again for dinner, thistime it was reasonable. Have had one breakfast there andit was good. And have voucher to return again, so hopefully it will be ok again. If it wasn't for vouchers we have paid for, I don't think I'd be returning in a hurry.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Sands Lounge and Dining also viewed

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Summer Sands Lounge and Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Sands Lounge and Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.