We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B and Best Hosts Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Beachside Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
21B Oceanbeach Road | Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B and Best Hosts Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

Jim and Lorraine and the friendliest hosts I have come across. On arrival they offered us afternoon tea in their lounge, which was great after a long drive. The house is two minutes from the sea and the balcony of the guest sitting room offers great views. The rooms are spacious and spotless with ensuite, tv, radio, magazines and drinking water. The attention to detail is unbelievable.

Breakfast included fresh fruit and yoghurts, full cooked breakfast, freshly ground coffee, tea, juices. Jim takes your breakfast order the night before to ensure all guests tastes are catered for.

I would highly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
54
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is truly welcoming and homely then this is for you. Everywhere is spotless, We were made to feel at home right from the moment we arrived. The breakfast is tasty and beautifully cooked and presented. Lorraine has an infectious laugh and is always smiling and cheerful nothing is too much trouble. Jim is on hand with plenty of advice should you need it. Sadly we only had one night here but we would return here for a longer stay. Well recommended.

  • Liked — Everything cannot fault.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We had not booked a place to stay in the BOP after visiting relatives in Katikati and were pleasantly surprised when we found Beachside which was wonderful, clean and had the friendliest, most hospitable hosts we'd ever met -- it really was like being welcomed into a friend's house. The breakfast was fantastic and we loved sharing afternoon tea with our hosts and enjoyed their company tremendously. Can't wait to bring our friends and relatives back to this place. Fantastic value for all age groups esp considering the many facilities (close to beach, toaster, kettle, tea/coffee, TV, DVD, radio, courtyard, etc) and that there are DVDs to watch in the guest lounge.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — That we could only stay one night!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

"I was greeted by the hosts Jim and Lorraine in the most sincere and warm manner. The property is literally above the beach and access is seconds away. This was very important to me as part of my holiday experience was to be lulled asleep by the sound of the surf. I was not disappointed. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice but what did it for me was freshly prepared fruit salad, home baked bread and a hearty fare of grilled bacon and eggs. I loved relaxing in the seperate guests' living room overlooking the ocean. It is here you can enjoy refreshments (complimentary teas and coffee), watch DVD's, listen to music or read and just chill. My room was very clean and comfortable and I had my own bathroom. I wouldn't hesitate recommending Beachside B&B, the location, attention to detail and friendly, helpful hosts made for a very happy and enjoyable stay."

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

This was one of the best, if not the best B&B of our whole 6 week tour of NZ. Our ensuite room was spacious,comfortable and spotlessly clean. Facilities in addition to the ensuite included TV,radio,DVD player with discs provided and our own private patio with loungers. The property which is very modern has direct access to the beach and is but a five minute drive from the Mount . Hosts Jim and Lorraine gave us a very warm welcome and were very helpful with things to do and places to eat. An added bonus of Beachside is the comfortable guests lounge on the top floor equiped with fridge, TV, tea and coffee making equipment and balcony with its stunning views overlooking the sea. It is here that the hosts serve a delicious breakfast both continental and cooked with lots of homemade goodies. Jim is also an expert coffee maker and makes an excellent flat white. Our only regret was having only allocated one night here but I have no hesitation in reccommending Beachside to anyone looking for accommodation in this lovely area of North Island

  • Liked — Hospitality and position
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

we found this B&B but didnt think it would be such a walk into town!
we had a small room-very clean and tidy but found it hard to sleep with the noise from the water pipes.once anyother guest ran the water-it was loud!!!
good cooked breakfast.nice hosts

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
To other potential guests reading this review. We do advertise on our web page the distance our B&B is from downtown Mt Maunganui (three and a half kilometres). We have a high pressure water system, so you can be assured of a good shower. In the two ajoining rooms we have asked our guests to if possible shower before 10.30pm and after 7am. We have also recently completely renovated the bathroom in question, and the noise level has reduced substantially.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 21B Oceanbeach Road | Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location. Our modern sunny well appointed home has great sea views and is only 30 second’s from the beach. We are close to the action yet far enough away to be quiet. Our superb location makes a great start to a memorable holiday. We are here to help you to enjoy your stay and our locality. All 3 bedrooms have their own bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.