We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes the place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachside Bed & Breakfast
21B Oceanbeach Road | Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yes the place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

All the other reviewers have summed this up.A great place to stay at the Mount. Jim and Lorraine are consummate hosts and the property is in excellent condition. Never mind that its a bit of a walk to the Mount and the shopping area, with access to the beach what could be nicer than a leisurely day strolling round this beautiful place. My wife and I are Pomms and The Mount is one of our favourite places having visited here for the last 4 years . The last three years we have stayed in serviced apartments but we shall definitely be returning to the Beachside. Jims breakfast is excellent and he makes sure you get what you want . The view from the guest lounge is superb. You can't ask much more from a B & B.

Room Tip: Rimu room best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review. We agree with you Mount Maunganui is a fabulous place to visit (and for us to live in) Glad you liked the breakfast!.
Best wishes for you next travel adventure!
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
48
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The beachside bnb, is hosted by 2 great people, Jim and Lorraine made us feel most welcome, it was like staying with family.
The room and the service was second to none.
We would recommend this place to any one staying around the Mount area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for your review Dave. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Hope to see you on your next visit.
Regards,
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast BC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent one night at the Beachside Bed and Breakfast and so wish we could have stayed for much longer!
This is a gorgeous place. Jim and Lorraine responded very quickly to our email requests and meeting them was delightful. This home is very tranquil and quiet and in a perfect location to head to the beach - a few minutes walk down a path. They have created a beautiful guest lounge on the top floor with a deck that allows beautiful views, you have access to a kitchen here, you can watch movies or sit and read and this is room full of light in the morning for where you can enjoy your beautiful cooked breakfast.

We would love to explore this area more and if we do we will want to stay at the Beachside B&B.

Room Tip: You do need a car to stay here as it probably is not so easy to walk from the bus stop with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Cucina,
Thanks for your extensive review. Regarding your points about car and bus. If guests arrive by bus or at the local airport we offer free pick-up and drop-off. The bus stop is only approximately 150 metres away from our B&B.
Regards
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

It is just a great place to stay with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. You can actually say it's only a stones throw away from the beach. The best breakfast we had while on our three week holiday. I can't praise Jim and Lorraine highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ.
Regards
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great B&B. Location is a stone throw away from the beach, body surf boards available for guest use. Room very clean and comfortable. Guest lounge available for use with small balcony, great sea views. Breakfast excellent, fresh fruit, orange juice, home made bread, cereals, full cooked breakfast.
Owners Jim and Lorriane make everyone feel really wecome and offer advise on local activities. Can't recommend this B&B enough.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Jo,
Thanks for your great review of our B&B. Glad that you appreciated our breakfast.
Regards
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

this is our second visit to this very friendly and relaxing bed and breakfast .
Jim and Lorraine are excellent hosts . the rooms are comfortable and very clean
Jim cooks an awaesome breakfast with home baked fresh bread and fruit salad each morning as well as cereals juice and then his lovely cooked breakfast .
the big bonus is the views from the guest lounge and the white sandy beach on the doorstep .
Such a great place will be back next year

Room Tip: all three rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hi Pamela,
Thanks for your wonderful review. It was fabulous to see you again; we are looking forward to your next visit.
Regards
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

broke our B&B V-card and stayed at the Beachside B&B last night. Jim and Lorraine are AMAZING people and they have a lovely home that is just steps from the beach. We are fit, so we walked to Mount Maunganui and up the mountain....grabbed a bite to eat in town and walked back. It was a great workout and felt good after our loooong flight from Canada.
If you aren't into walking too much, there is a bus that'll drop you off right near their place.
Overall, it was an amazing start to our trip and we'd stay there again in a heart beat.
The breakfast was deeeeelish and kept us well fuelled for our drive to our next stop...Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review Carl & Elaine. Looking forward to your next visit and the game of golf!
Happy holiday in NZ
Jim & Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 21B Oceanbeach Road | Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location. Our modern sunny well appointed home has great sea views and is only 30 second’s from the beach. We are close to the action yet far enough away to be quiet. Our superb location makes a great start to a memorable holiday. We are here to help you to enjoy your stay and our locality. All 3 bedrooms have their own bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Beachside Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list