We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over 25 years of Camping here - It's a Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Maunganui
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park
Save
You added Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   1 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
475 reviews 475 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Over 25 years of Camping here - It's a Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I have just paid our deposit for another summer holiday at the camp. We have had family holidays here for over 25 years now and think it is great! Our children 19, 21, 23 still enjoy coming along also!
The current staff are so friendly and helpful. We have made many friend there over the years. And look forward to meeting up with many of them each year.
The new facilities that were built a few years ago and a big improvement. Yes, button on showers can be a bit frustrating, but you get used to it. We stay for 5 weeks each Xmas Holidays.
The end of our holiday this year we unfortunately got flooded out, with water about to come in caravan, BUT this hasn't put us off friom returning again this year. In fact it is our favourite holiday - going overseas is great, but going to the Mount camp is relaxing!

Thanks to all staff for running a great camp.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I spent a week travelling around the North Island in a motor home. We had planned to spend our third night in Tauranga but were not impressed with the parks we found there. We were extremely happy to keep driving and stumble across Mount Maunganui, and particularly this park. It's in a great location, close to shops and the beach. As it was the middle of Winter, we had no trouble turning up late afternoon and getting a powered site with a great view of the beach and close to amenities. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Whilst we did not use the kitchen facilities, they appeared to be spacious and clean. The bathrooms were modern and also clean, with hairdryers provided in both the male and female bathrooms. The only complaint about the showers was the fact you had to keep hitting the button every 30 seconds to get water, but that is a minor issue.
Our only disappointment was that a lot of shops and restaurants were closed but I'd say this was more to do with the season we were travelling.
We'd definitely come back to Mount Maunganui and would recommend this park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed one night at this holiday park. We got a beeachfront site for our campervan. Beachfront sites are right next to a boardwalk, thus, sites could lack little bit of privacy as people walk right by your campervans. Park facilities were clean. Friendly staff. We paid $30/2 people, and we got a $10 refund as we returned the magnetic key that allows entry to park facilities. Good deal, good location. There are several restaurants across the street.
An added bonus was that the salt water hot pools are also next door and park guests receive a discount for enjoying the pools.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed in this several times, but the last stay will be the last. I paid for two days in advance. We decided to leave early since the storm was loud and kept us up all night. The following morning I went to check out and the attendant told me she could not refund me for the second day THAT I DIDN'T USE. She said that there's a sign at the front desk saying you can't cancel any reservations. That is fine IF I had reserved a spot and decided not to use it, so someone else could use it, BUT I wasn't costing the company any money out of lost revenue if someone could replace my spot. The WHOLE place was completely EMPTY. There were acres not even used. The company has a policy of blatantly stealing money entrusted to them, and passing it off as 'weather'. If I go to the movies and buy two tickets, and if my wife gets sick and wants to wait in the car, I can get a refund for her ticket, SINCE SHE DIDNT USE IT. Outright THEFT and DISHONESTY. I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THIS PLACE AGAIN!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, NZ
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Reviewer: TripAdvisor member, Whangarei, NZ
Date: August 2010
We have just returned from an extended weekend at the Beachside Motorcamp at Mt Maunganui. We had a beachfront site which afforded lovely views across the Bay of Plenty and down the coast. The camp is set out on several levels and caters for all sorts of campers - tents, caravans, RVs, etc. Amenities have recently been upgraded and are excellent. There are small shops - superettes and the like just outside the camp gate and the large shopping centre is about 10 minutes walk. For the most part of our stay, the weather was fantastic and we took advantage of this to make the walk to the top of the Mount itself. It's a fairly steep climb but the 360 degree views from the top make every step worthwhile. Alongside the camp are fabulous hot salt water pools of varying sizes and temperatures - just what we needed on a cool winter evening! We loved out stay here and would definitely recommend it to fellow campers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park

Address: 1 Adams Avenue, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Mount Maunganui
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Maunganui Beachside Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.