We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Wave Motel

Blue Wave Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Wave Motel to your Saves list
Blue Wave Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   209 Valley Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand (Formerly Links Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything you need!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The unit had everything we needed and it was reasonable price for the 4 of us. Free Wi-Fi, separate room for us and the kids, enough room for the whole family. A pleasant and clean place to stay and the owners were very welcoming and helpful. We highly recommend! It was also close to the beach and other local attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWave M, Manager at Blue Wave Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Blue Wave Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very clean, quiet, nice and cozy spacious room, WIFI, friendly and helpful lovely host couple (felt very safe and comfortable), close to beach, Fish 'n' Chip shop, Thai restaurant, Convinience store (all about 5mins walking distance), and about 40mins nice beach walk to the Mt. (lots of nice cafes, restaurants, and beautiful scenery). Will definitely come back and stay there again! Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWave M, Manager at Blue Wave Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This place is probably the worst we stayed in! Everything was so old (bed, carpet, furniture...) i cannot say if it was clean or not as it was so stained and old. This place is not acceptable for the price they ask, and unless they undergo good renovation this place is not recommended at all. (at leat our unit) There is no deck or outside area so above all you are stuck in a poor unit. Depressing when you are on holidays...The person at reception was very nice and helpful though and comprehensive when we decided to stay only 1 night instead of 2.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWave M, Manager at Blue Wave Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which we do take seriously and always endeavour to improve the experience of our guests where possible. We are sorry that you didn't have a good time staying with us. We are replacing the carpets next week. (We note that you were requesting to shorten your stay from 2 to 1 night even at check in. We hope that our initial refusal for a refund did not influence you to find fault in the room.) We have good cleaning staff at our motel and we are constantly refreshing their cleaning standard. Blue Wave Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO, USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Positive: Unit ("villa") we stayed in was quite large, kitchenette well equipped and was close to the beach. Was as clean as they could get it for a place so old. Owner Nigel very receptive and helpful and did meet our requests for restaurant suggestions and when needed a hairdryer.
Negative:- but all furniture, carpet, curtains and bed VERY old and outdated. Couch was discolored and carpet had many stains. Curtains definitely needed replacing and bed sagged in center and was extremely uncomfortable. TV in bedroom did not work. Maybe the other units had been renovated but this one was not in good shape- I felt it was NOT worth the price they asked until they replace the furniture.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWave M, Manager at Blue Wave Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry you did not have a good experience at our motel.
We take your comments seriously and try to improve where we can. The curtains and bed have been replaced in your Villa just after your stay. New carpet has been ordered and will be replaced in the next week or so.
Your complaint about the TV in the bedroom not working is a mystery to us- we checked it out after reading this and found both TV's working fine and no other guests have had trouble with either of them. If you had let staff know of this problem or any others you experienced at the time, we may have been able to do something about it to help improve your experience. Blue Wave Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The owners couple were very warm and welcoming and We loved their friendly personal touch !!
We enjoyed our one night . The unit had everything we needed and it was decent price for 4 of us to stay.
Very good free wi-fi as well.
Highly recommendable place to stay for family holiday especially !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueWave M, Manager at Blue Wave Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you appreciated your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a rather enjoyable stay in Blue Wave Motel, only that there were 2 sepearte taps for cold and hot water, which is rather inconvenient. Also, it is a little pricy, but on the bright side, they service the rooms everyday n try very hard to make the guests feel like home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Lovely stay had the Blue Wave Motel. Owners were lovely, great value for money. Was close to beach and the major shopping mall. Very central to Mt Maunganui, Papamoa and Tauranga.
Planning to stay there again in Nov.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Wave Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wave Motel

Address: 209 Valley Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand (Formerly Links Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Wave Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Wave Motel offers spacious ground floor villas in a quiet central Mt Maunganui location. Free WiFi, full cooking facilities, parking in front of each villas. 2 minutes stroll to patrolled surf beach. Close to shopping centre, BayPark, golf courses and all the excitement Mt Maunganui has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Wave Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Wave Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.