We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aquarius Motor Inn to your Saves list
Aquarius Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   447 Maunganui Rd, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Aquarius for two nights over the weekend in a rear apartment first floor.no Robles with noise and very friendly owners. Unit had all facilities required. Suspect that the unit is close to needing a small makeover but nothing to worry about. Happy to return at any time and will recommend to others.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Owner at Aquarius Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards your 'minor makeover' comments, I assume you are referring to the bathroom, as these units have recently been recarpeted and redecorated. The bathrooms have been refurbished since your visit (repaint, new toilet cisterns and seats, vanity lights, grout/tile cleaning) as they were starting to look a bit 'tired'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
12
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thank you to Kevin and Lynn for the exceptional device they provided throughout our eight night stay. From our late night arrival where they reserved a parking spot for us to providing alternative bed linen as requested this couple made our stay memorable. The location is superb and is right in the middle to access all amenities. As for the sleepless night; doesn't every traveller carry ear plugs just incase!!! You will find friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, a quiet place to sleep and all within walking distance of a world class beach. Supermarket down the road, bus stop at the door.

Room Tip: We booked a family room which had a separate bedroom, sunny courtyard at the back and kitchen as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Unfortunately a sleepless and disappointing night at this motel. The location is a comfortable 10 minute walk to Main Street in the Mount where there is a plethora of awesome dining and bar experiences.

We rented a studio unit, which was pretty basic but clean and tidy and of reasonable size. Unfortunately a large group of rowdy drunk guests returned to the complex at 1am and were noising etc. The Manager was onto it quickly however it wasn't over until 3.30am.

The biggest issue was the total lack of any sound proofing between rooms and even the outside. We could hear all the going on's outside our unit AND the unit next to ours so when paying a hefty premium price for a studio unit, not having any sound proofing was disappointing. There was the normal array of kitchen utensils, microwave, Cable TV, a tiny dining table and bathroom amenities such as shampoo, soap etc were supplied, however there was no hair conditioner. Again when paying $150+ for a studio "motel" unit, hair conditioner is expected. There was a King Bed PLUS a single bed in the studio unit ... personally I'd rather have a small sofa.

Staff and Service were fine but unfortunately I can't recommend this motel and we wont stay there again 2/5 for value, 1/5 for sleep :(

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Manager at Aquarius Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we had a couple of groups that had been to weddings and birthday parties. These people were rather noisy on arrival back at the motel, and as you mentioned, management were proactive in minimising the 'damage'. However, we do apologise for the interrupted sleep you experienced.
The situation with 'noisy' guests occurs very infrequently and we do take steps to stamp it out on the odd times it occurs.
We were pleased that you found the 'staff & service were fine' and the unit was 'clean & tidy' as we like to excell in those areas. You also found the location was desirable.
We are obviously disappointed with your experience and understand your 'negative' recommendation, however we wish to reiterate these 'one-off'' situations are few and far between.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I would have no hesitation in recommending this place. Clean, great furniture, comfy bed and bathroom area had a spa which was awesome. Owner welcomed us as if we were family and we were walk ins. A great place to stay if exploring The Mount as locals call it. Thankyou from your Australian guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice place to stay at the mount, clean rooms and very friendly owners. We went as a family this time, normally we stay with friends but as they had a big party on we thought we would stay at the Aquarius only to find other friends from the party stayed here too. My husband stays there on business when he goes to the mount.

Room Tip: Would probably say that the rooms towards the back of the motel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Owner at Aquarius Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thankyou for your feedback regarding your stay in June. We do pride ourselves in having our rooms spotlessly clean so we are pleased that you found your room as we would expect.
We were only too happy to upgrade your room from a one-bedroom unit to a two-bedroom unit at no extra cost and I am sure you appreciated the 'extra' space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Aquarius Motor Inn to not only teams such as us (17 players and management) but to families or individuals. Lynne and Kevin are the most amazing hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. Including doing the teams laundry and driving us to collect supplies. There attention to detail is reflected not only in the immaculate presentation of the rooms, and motel complex but also in the way they related to all team members. The motels is well situated to supermarkets, shops and the beach. The spa baths in the rooms were lovely as was the swimming pool and spa outside.
To all the staff at Aquarius Motor Inn a huge thank you for making our competition week pleasurable and taking the stress off all the Trust Waikato Team
Gaenor
Trust Waikato Team Manager

Room Tip: All 9 rooms allocated to the team met the teams requirements. The team managers unit was great as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Owner at Aquarius Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We loved having the team here, and thank you for your feedback. Hopefully we will see you all back here sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Was looking around for motel and come across this lovely motel.

Price very reasonable and get more we wanted. Clean and tidy room. Big tv, skytv, spa bath, eletric blanket, comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful host.

Not flash but definetly a great motel around. Recommend to everyone

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquarius Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Motor Inn

Address: 447 Maunganui Rd, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aquarius Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.