We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in maldives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Bliss in maldives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

The Hotel is one of the most beautiful hotels in Male and lives up to all the expectations of being a five star resort. It houses one of the biggest and the most beautiful coral reef in the North Male Attoll.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllwynDrego, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brief review of our resort. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly convey your warm words of praise and appreciation to my colleagues.

Our thousand year old Coral reef is undoubtly one of the finest reefs to dive in and also houses a ship wreck which is a frequented Dive site.

Thank you once again and Do keep me posted whenever you plan to return to our part of the water world.

Yours sincerely,

Allwyn Drego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    89
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
80
353
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
india
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

we had been to taj vivanta in may 2010 with our two children apprehensive about spending a week on one island ,we were happy with our decision ,this a newly renovated property and done up in nice contemporary feel ,the hotel was honest about informing us at the time of booking that there was work going on one side of the property we planned to go any way since they gave us rooms away form the work , the beach side villa is great #203 and charming with a great beach view, the water villas are also great with your own access to the lagoon. the breakfast to order was a highlight and restaurant serves great internatioanl food .Staff was very friendly and the GM was always available and helpful . the corals are next to the hotel and wonderful to snorkel, probably they need a watch guard to keep a track of the snorkelers next to the jetty to avoid mishaps.the water sports was average in terms of the staff .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllwynDrego, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, June 19, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of our resort. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly convey your warm words of praise and appreciation to my colleagues.
I have also noted your recommendations and must tell you that our waters are constantly monitored by 2 life guards, this is a service we recently started and hence our reef and the waters in front of the beach villas are now watched over.

Thank you once again and Do keep me posted whenever you plan to return to our part of the water world.

Yours sincerely,

Allwyn Drego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Not easy to put in words an experience that was beyond expectations. We wished our week long vacation would go on for longer.

If you like the sun and beach, and are looking for a place to unwind then this is the place.
Stunning sunsets, beautiful clear waters, stingrays, multicolored friendly reef fish, lazy breakfast mornings, scuba/snorkel/pool afternoons, and even lazier evenings at the bar and dinner.

This setting coupled with Taj Hospitality where everyone went that extra mile to make sure we were well looked after made our trip memorable and special.

Special thanks to all at The Taj Vivanta. A special mention for Catherine and Emilio at their Dive Center. They were simply awesome with our large group of wannabe divers aged 10 to 45.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllwynDrego, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our quaint and lovely resort. Am glad to hear that you and
your friends enjoyed their stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever
you plan your next trip to our part of the water world.

Yours sincerely,

Allwyn Drego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

great food, great rooms, excellent hospiality
children enjoy snorkelling and sting ray feeding

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllwynDrego, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, May 22, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brief review of our resort. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly convey your warm words of praise and appreciation to my colleagues.

Thank you once again and Do keep me posted whenever you plan to return to our part of the water world.

Yours sincerely,

Allwyn Drego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

If you are want a relaxing holiday, one which simply involves sleeping, eating and sun baking by the pool or on your sun deck then Taj Vivanta ticks all the boxes.
We were extremely impressed by the level of customer service. From hotel admin staff to the waiters at Latitude (especially Najah) to room service we were overwhelmed by how friendly, efficient and attentive they were. Simply walking through the resort, even the gardeners smiled and said hello.
We were on full board and found that it was ample with a decent variety. Pizzas at the Pizzeria were great and included with full board as a meal rather than going to Latitude. Drinks were very expensive but that was as expected.
We couldn't believe how immaculate the resort was. Even the sand was practically manicured. It seemed as though there were more staff working on the grounds than there were actual guests.
Rooms were of a high standard and very roomy. We stayed 2 nights in a Deluxe Beach Villa and 5 a the Water Villa and loved both. Obviously, over water was our favourite being larger and having the direct access into the lagoon. Air conditioners did wonders as gets very humid but very pleasant inside.
Yes, a negative was the cranes building the retaining walls on a section of the beach.
Overall, we loved our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllwynDrego, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, May 22, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of our resort. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly convey your warm words of praise and appreciation to my colleagues.

Thank you once again and Do keep me posted whenever you plan to return to our part of the water world.

Yours sincerely,

Allwyn Drego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

The breakfast included in the package rate was a la carte (no buffet option available) & very insufficient - they were serving baby-size omelettes & waffles even to adults & not too forthcoming with refills.

Service at the Latitude restaurant was slow & almost unfriendly - the staff for some reason there made it very clear that they were more happy serving honeymooners than families.

While the indulgence water villa we stayed in was excellently appointed, air conditioning was very poor for the hot May maldivian sun. Room service food & beverage was highly overpriced & serving sizes were grossly insufficient - though the quality of the food & beverage itself was excellent.

The dykes constructed around the resort substantially subtract from the view from the indulgence water villa & from the view from the swimming pool - the resort should be honest about this & start featuring these unsightly dykes in pictorial promotions of their property so that guests are not surprised & diasppointed.

We stayed here for 4 nights & frankly after the first 2 nights it started feeling very dull as if we were marooned against our will on this overpriced sultry robinson crusoe island.

Our Amex card was not accepted at the time of checkout/payment even though it had a very high available limit on it - obviously a technical glitch on part of the hotel which they covered up by saying that they needed a 'pin code' to make the amex charge go through - very frustrating.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllwynDrego, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of our resort. Please do accept my sincere apologies for not being able to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us. We have also noted your detailed recommendations and will endeavor to work on them at the earliest.
We do not serve a buffet breakfast but all food is served a la carte, and one can order as much as they want to consume for breakfast, we do not impose any restrictions here. However based on your feedback we will once again revisit our portion sizes. As recommended we will start showing the dykes in pictures, however i would like to inform you that the Dykes along the water villas have been in existence since 1997 and we are only rebuilding the same with stone. The dyke in front of the swimming pool is the only new one. Once complete we will be featuring these dykes in all our photographs. With regard to your Amex card not going thru we are checking with AMEX because this is a genuine problem here and we hope to resolve it alongwith our service providor and Amex soon.

It is our desire that every guest who stays with us leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef, Maldives strive to excel and surpass guests expectations at every interaction, as members of The Taj Group of Hotels, We pride ourselves as being "World Class", It is feedback from discerning travelers such as yourself that help us in our "Quest for excellence."
Thank you once again and do keep us posted should you plan another trip to our part of the water world.

Yours sincerely,

Allwyn Drego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My wife and I have just returned form 2 weeks (extended to 3 weeks due to the UK ash) in the Maldives. We spent 1 week at the Taj and then 2 weeks at Coco Palms DK.
We were concerned before going about whether 2 weeks was too long to be in the Maldives. Well we had 3 weeks!! Fortunatley we went to 2 different islands - as they all have there different characters.
This resort is fantastic. The highlights are the quality of the accomodation (water villa number 128) and the staff - all extremely pleasant and helpful. We were put in a water villa rather close to all the off-shore work that was going on - we mentioned it immediately to reception and we were moved to 128 the next day.
The food was excellent - we went 1/2 board. The only odd aspect of this was that if you eat in one of the other restaurants, instead of having an "allowance" off your meal, you paid an additional $50 each to have whatever you wanted. Unless you wanted lobster and 4 courses, this did not seem a good way of arranging it - consequently we only ate in the main restaurant.
The daily Ray feeding was a difinite highlight - a great way to swim with them as well!!
Snorkelling was great - we didn't dive - but the local reef was clear and had many interesting fish.
Interesting, the fitness centre was fine when we were there - only 1 machine out of action!
My only gripe was the high cost of WiFi - regardless of whether you use the resort computer or you iphone, it was very expensive. At our next resort, the wifi was free. I am glad we didn't have all the hassles of changing flights etc that we had in the following week as this would have cost a fortune!
Having said that, this was a great week and can be thoroughly recommendedd

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllwynDrego, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, May 8, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of our resort. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly convey your warm words of praise and appreciation to my colleagues.

I have also noted your detailed recommendations and will endeavor to work on them at the earliest. The wi-fi out here is charged for because its an outsourced service and we pay a mini fortune subscribing to it, also bandwidth charges out here are very costly.
Thank you once again and Do keep me posted whenever you plan to return to our part of the water world.

Yours sincerely,

Allwyn Drego


Allwyn Drego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Address: Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hembadhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIVANTA BY TAJ. A FRESH NEW WAY TO HOLIDAY.Vivanta By Taj - Coral Reef, Maldives has all the exotic ocean views and dramatic sunsets that are de rigueur for any tropical holiday. The twist comes when you step into your villa and instead of the usual beach dcor, find a streamlined, sophisticated take on resort accommodations. Vivanta by Taj has revamped the resort experience from stem to stern and offers the ideal escape at a stunning value proposition. Divers, beach bunnies, and honeymooners - we welcome you. After you descend into Male airport, a luxury speedboat spirits you and your luggage away to Hembadhu Island, where you arrive at Vivanta by Taj - Coral Reef. The resort is a diver's dream destination with numerous diving sites and it's very own 1000 year old coral-reef and shipwreck to explore. For those that prefer to stay on land, the view of the lagoon dotted with water villas is hypnotic. No matter where you travelled from, your world is about to become filled with white sand and magnificent coconut palms. Let Vivanta by Taj introduce you to bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hotel Hembadhu
Taj Coral Reef Hotel
Hotel Taj Coral Reef
Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Taj Coral Reef Resort Maldives
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hembadhu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.