We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rugby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just returned from our first holiday in the Maldives, there are so many islands to choose from but we feel very lucky to have chosen this wonderful island.We had a deluxe beach villa which was fantastic,very comfortable with extras such as the iPod docking station and outside shower.We only had to walk about 4 paces before we were on the white sand and looking out onto the most beautiful ocean. The snorkelling was just fantastic just imagine being put into a tropical fish tank and having the most stunning fish surrounding you,the coral reef surrounding the island ensured a wide variety of fish.When you think it cannot get better every afternoon the sting rays would visit the shore at least 10 where you get to feed them.The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay perfect. The food is very good particularly in the Latitude restaurant. We would certainly go back to this taste of paradise.

Room Tip: Would suggest if having a deluxe beach villa try and get one from 217 or above to ensure you have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    98
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
87
387
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just back from a holiday in Taj Vivanta, Maldives and nothing said will be enough to praise the beauty of the place. Everything right from, location, service, food and friendliness of staff is just perfect. But if I have to pick one thing then it will have to be the amazing staff. They just make you feel at home and l think that is what differentiates this place from the others. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone planning a trip to Maldives.
Rajeev (Mumbai)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Extremely friendly people------without exception each and every staffer went out of his way to make our stay comfortable.

For special mention would be Mr praveen gaonkar the security manager.

He went out of his way to lend us his personal camera because we had left our own back at New Delhi.
He spent his personal time to take our pictures which are a recall value of a good holiday and hospitality.

Mr Shaffi from hospitality who looked after the room
not to be left out the manager of your grill for outdoor dining a man who went out of his way to
get involved in suggesting and choosing the food---special dishes for us.

Room Tip: Each and every room has a plus point of its own. Sitting on the deck outside or relaxing in the ham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Took my girlfriend and then for the second trip as my wife! - what can you say apart from WOW!
Spectacular reef, awesome diving great cuisine and the staff are out of this world. In fact on the second visit 2 years after the first it was noted prior to our arrival and we were greeted by staff who had provided an exemplary service before - complete with a caked individually iced for both of us!.

The dive centre is great and well staffed and stocked and the local boat dives are worth the trip.

beware the bar bill as it is easy to forget what is / is not included in an all inclusive package ;0) but do try the grilled lobster in the a la carte restaurant

Room Tip: Over water villas allow snorkeling direct into the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at the Vivanta Coral Reef for a week with my wife and 8 year daughter. The speedboat transfer from Male was undertaken efficiently. Arrival at the resort was quick and warm. Our Deluxe Delight Beach Villa (212) was wonderful. The room was large with a deck outside leading out to our very own pristine beach 20 yards out. The view from the room was absolutely breathtaking. We arrived in the afternoon and looking out of the villa, the first sight of the turquoise blue waters with the sun at its zenith will remain etched in my memory forever. The resort is blessed with an endless stream of stunning views, each one very different from the other. The moon deck looks out at the vast expanse, the poolside overlooks the beautiful house reef and beyond and so on. We could sometimes struggle to pick where to spend our time - outside our villa on the loungers / hammock or by the pool etc. and there was so much more to do besides.
The food at the resort is out of the top drawer. The multi cuisine Latitude also serves breakfast. . Main course portions are delightfully delectable and woefully large. Notwithstanding any activity that we chose to do we did have an incessant fight against the bulge. The Grill serves top notch South American cuisine and the Pizzeria serves the most delicious quesadillas and pizzas amongst other snacks.
The snorkelling and diving at the resort are exceptional. The house reef is safe (with only mild currents) and is teeming with underwater life. Markus and his team at the Dive Center cultivate coral in the house reef. The reef in front of our beach villas was truly magnificent. The sharp drop of the coral ridge, about 50 meters from the shore, is a treat for the senses and full of marine life. The short trip to the Blue Lagoon sand bank was great for snorkelling with amazingly still and clear water.
This trip was the best we have ever had. Whilst the beauty and copious luxury did play its part, the clincher was the sincerest attention that the wonderful staff of the resort accorded to us. Mr. Rahul Taneja, the F&B team lead epitomises the value system of the Taj hospitality, with his grace, dignity and warmth. Frazer and Chandika at the Latitude and the Grill/Pizzeria respectively are exemplary professionals. Noella and her front office team are as good as you will ever see. Pravin, the security head, took time off from his schedule and took us around the resort and shot some (about 200) beautiful pictures of us in his camera. All the aforementioned and many others- Hussain, Waseem, Ilham, Tiffany, Vivienne at the restaurants, Zaki and Phyllis in the front office, David, Claire, Kanai, Shariq at the dive center and many more went beyond their call of duty to make this a trip of a lifetime for our family. We can’t thank them enough and wish them all the best to spread the happiness that they bestowed on us.

Prakash, Ranjita and Anoushka

Room Tip: The Deluxe Delight beach villas are great for families. The overwater bungalows may suit couples / h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield Uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from this awesome hotel. The most amazing thing about this place is the staff, from the meet and greeters on the jetty to the guys who sweep the dead leaves from the beach each day, they are happy friendly and simply cannot do enough for you. The thing you will notice are the SMILES. From the start the check in is slick and in no time you are in your room which is equipped with everything you could need and if you do find something missing the staff will move heaven and earth to get it for you.
The food is tremendous, both in the restaurant and the grill on the waters edge, the bar staff are on the ball and always make you feel welcome.
We had one small issue whilst we were there but once reported it was acted on and put right straight away, a manager followed it up later in the day to make sure we were happy. We were!
If you are looking for paradise short of turning up at the pearly gates this is where you will find it.
Thank you for our best ever holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the Taj way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve. We are very pleased that you felt well-taken care of during your stay.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Choosing a property in Maldives is not easy because you have so many options to choose from. Luckily I chose Taj Vivanta Coral Reef and I am glad I made that decision.

The place is around 32 km from Male Airport so it takes around an hour to reach if you use the steamer. But once you are there you feel you are in a different world. The staffs are very courteous and finishing the formalities in the reception does not take long. We had chosen a watervilla which we got at the back of the island. The view from there was amazing to say the least. You can see the sun set and combined with the view of the blue sea is fantastic.

What I really like about the property is it’s peaceful, clean, beautiful and not crowded. The service all along was good. The view in the front of the island (the place where you get in and out) is very good. The whole place actually is fantastic. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax and have a nice peaceful time.

Room Tip: Choose a watervilla for the ultimate experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Vivanta by Taj – Coral Reef, we are glad that you enjoyed your once-in-a-lifetime holiday with us.

We very much appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you felt well-taken care of during your stay. We hope to have you with us again; it will be our pleasure to extend the warm Taj hospitality to you should you return in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Address: Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hembadhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIVANTA BY TAJ. A FRESH NEW WAY TO HOLIDAY.Vivanta By Taj - Coral Reef, Maldives has all the exotic ocean views and dramatic sunsets that are de rigueur for any tropical holiday. The twist comes when you step into your villa and instead of the usual beach dcor, find a streamlined, sophisticated take on resort accommodations. Vivanta by Taj has revamped the resort experience from stem to stern and offers the ideal escape at a stunning value proposition. Divers, beach bunnies, and honeymooners - we welcome you. After you descend into Male airport, a luxury speedboat spirits you and your luggage away to Hembadhu Island, where you arrive at Vivanta by Taj - Coral Reef. The resort is a diver's dream destination with numerous diving sites and it's very own 1000 year old coral-reef and shipwreck to explore. For those that prefer to stay on land, the view of the lagoon dotted with water villas is hypnotic. No matter where you travelled from, your world is about to become filled with white sand and magnificent coconut palms. Let Vivanta by Taj introduce you to bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hotel Hembadhu
Taj Coral Reef Hotel
Hotel Taj Coral Reef
Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Taj Coral Reef Resort Maldives
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hembadhu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.