We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We wanted to go to the Maldives for a long time and after some research we decided for this hotel. We had a water villa and All Inclusive. I highly recommend the All Inclusive because the prices are very high otherwise. Beside that there are plenty of coral reefs around the island with beautifully under sea world. The service and the food is really good. I special liked the international audience on the island, Asian, Indian and a view Europeans.

Room Tip: The water villa was really amazing but also the strand villas are really nice. Try to get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your feedback, it is really nice to know that your stay experience was truly memorable due to our warm and friendly service, the food options, accommodations and housekeeping service.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future, and to extending the warm Taj hospitality and great stay experience that we always strive to deliver.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    115
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
111
418
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Comfort, pleasure, entertaintment, luxury, fun - Maldives is all this and much more. And you can never get enough of it, especially if you are staying at the coral reef. Our honeymoon trip in 2006 began on a sour note with a case of a misplaced bag by the airline, but the hotel made it up to us by upgrading us to the lagoon villa. What a wonderful gesture that was! The food, staff, beach - it was just perfect. We would love to go back here - anytime of the year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been planning our Maldives Trip for some time now and after extensive research zeroed in on a local travel agency (Make Plans in Mumbai) who offered us a fantastic deal at Taj Vivanta Coral Reef Resort at Maldives.
So we were off to Maldives in the last week of October-2012 and boy did we have a good time? Sure we did! Read on…
Although this is a tiny island (one can easily walk from one end to another in 20min), I think that makes it so special and not very touristy. That also explains the excellent service the staff provides.
Arrival: Within 10 min of our arrival at Male international airport we were escorted in a speed boat to the resort. Although the waters were a bit choppy we were well ushered to the Taj Vivanta Coral Reef within 50 mins. The captain and the crew kept checking on us to ensure we have no problems.
Reception: We had a warm welcome at the reception with a welcome drink and although we were early for the standard checkin time we were quickly taken to our beautiful premium indulgence water villa (overwater bungalow).
Room: The room and its sea view matches the pictures on website and you really have to be there to believe it. The room was kept in order and cleaned twice a day. A special thanks to the housekeeping staff Mr. Jinnah who ensured the room was spic and span. The Villa has a sundeck and direct access to the blue water, large French windows providing unrestricted view of the beautiful sea. You can ideally snorkel right outside the water villa and watch the beautiful fishes swim by.
Food: Food served at Latitude although expensive was freshly made and served to our Indian palate. There is a good variety of Asian and some continental dishes. The portions served were just right.
Bar: Thanks to Mr. Kanan at the reef bar for some exotic cocktail and good music he played at the bar
Activities: We tried our hands at snorkeling and absolutely enjoyed it. My wife is a non-swimmer and for that matter entered the sea for the first time but under expert guidance and tips from Mr Ibrahim (life guard) she took to water like a fish! Snorkeling equipment is complimentary and is readily available. You can also try kayaking, paddleboats etc. Table tennis, pool table, board games are also available. I personally liked the Rhythm the reading lounge which hosts a small but interesting library, magazines and a large TV, some internet enabled PCs with an espresso machine.Every evening sting ray feeding is an experience not to be missed.
Spa: We had heard a lot about the Jiva Spa and wanted to give it a try. We booked ourselves for a couple’s aromatherapy. It was an AMAZING experience with professional masseuse and therapist. Special Thanks to Jiva Spa team for such a rejuvenating experience
Special Mention: On the second day of our holiday we must have been through the worst nightmare of our vacation, we accidently dipped our camera in the pool and as you would have imagined the camera is now just a paper weight. But Mr. Praveen Gaonkar, the security manager came in as a God sent savior and graciously agreed to click our photos with his personal camera and little did we know that photography is Praveen’s passion and that showed in the pictures he clicked and the rare reviews that those pictures got from our family and friends; After all once we are past the holiday experience pictures are the only medium which helps revisit and relive the memories from great holidays such as this. So thank you Praveen.

Room Tip: All water villas are good but if you are really concerned with the occasional speed boat parked at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivanta C, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

My team and I are delighted to receive your review of your wonderful stay with us recently. Thank you for your encouraging feedback and compliments of the resort.

It will be our pleasure to extend the wonderful Taj hospitality to you again, should you plan another holiday with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Visited this beautiful hotel and location for my honeymoon. Seemed a world away from everyone and everything. A thoroughly beautiful paradise, excellent service from the staff and everything we wanted was catered for. Would highly recommend a visit if you really want to feel like you are in another world where time does not matter. Wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After a deep research we chose Vivanta by yak for our honeymoon n we were not disappointed at all. We had an excellent stay. I would line to thank all the staff members for making our stay happy. My special thanks to rafeesu n thusan (sorry if I spelt wrong )in open grill area, thusan gave a special gift , the interesting thing was he made a fish by himself. We wre very surprised by his creativity . Thanks to rana, Husain from latitude restaurant , thanks to Kannan from reef bar , oil , ibrahim from house keeping . Now I def want to share about Praveen (security manager), I have saved the best for the last!!!. Since uts iur honeymoon we thought of taking pics together. We were initially worried how to capture pics of us together in this paradise n on the second day of our stay We met Praveen while feeding the sting rays at 5pm. The great thing was he came to us volunteerly n offered to take few shots . We were so happy n excited n atlast he took nearly 100 pics of us together. He just made our honeymoon very special n we have carried all the sweet memories with us back home . N also Michelle, Praveen , IT manager , n the reception guy (forgot the name) n slim Chinese girl from latitude came to send off us .. We felt very touched n happy . We had a feeling like staying at home . Thank U everyone for taking special care.
Only minus I can say is the food was very expensive but I think it's common in any 5 star hotels and the island is bit small but it doesn't really matter .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our second stay at Vivanta Taj, and I can honestly say that it lived upto, and even surpassed our first magical holiday there, two years ago.
We have two children, but were lucky to have a child free time, and Vivanta Taj made it feel like we were on honeymoon again!!!
From the moment we got through passport control ( which for us was a nightmare, with three flights arriving at the same time) we were met with professionalism and excellent service throughout our stay.
The reef bar was fun, and the staff were outstanding. The Open Grill was also fabulous; in our opinion the food was wonderful.
Our room was spotless, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Any minor issues were dealt with immediately and professionally.
So five stars well earnt from us....

We are already saving for another visit, and that shows how fabulous it was!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had an awesome holiday (second honeymoon) at Taj Vivant coral reef in Maldives in october 2012.

First of all we cant thank Atoll Paradise enough for their fabulous service through out the whole time. From the time we enquired prices, to booking a great venue, meeting and greeting on site and last but not least making sure we were OK until we checked in on our flight back home. My husband and I were very impressed with their service and would like to thankyou all your staff who assisted us. We will definitely keep Atoll Paradise in mind for our next Asia holiday.

Secondly, Vivanta by Taj coral reef was absolutely magnificient! we took their romantic/honeymooners package. It included everythign we wanted, premium water villa, romantic dinner on the beach, massages and a sunset cruse. Their customer service was exceptional. Special thanks goes to Michelle who took good care of us! this was one holiday where we had NOTHING to complain about!

We are already recommending this place to our family and friends!

Room Tip: Totally recommend the water villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hembadhu
19.2 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,109 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
19.7 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
13.8 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
3.0 mi away
One&Only Reethi Rah
One&Only Reethi Rah
#1 of 1 in Reethirah Island
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives

Address: Hembudhu Island, North Male Atoll
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hembadhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hembadhu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIVANTA BY TAJ. A FRESH NEW WAY TO HOLIDAY.Vivanta By Taj - Coral Reef, Maldives has all the exotic ocean views and dramatic sunsets that are de rigueur for any tropical holiday. The twist comes when you step into your villa and instead of the usual beach dcor, find a streamlined, sophisticated take on resort accommodations. Vivanta by Taj has revamped the resort experience from stem to stern and offers the ideal escape at a stunning value proposition. Divers, beach bunnies, and honeymooners - we welcome you. After you descend into Male airport, a luxury speedboat spirits you and your luggage away to Hembadhu Island, where you arrive at Vivanta by Taj - Coral Reef. The resort is a diver's dream destination with numerous diving sites and it's very own 1000 year old coral-reef and shipwreck to explore. For those that prefer to stay on land, the view of the lagoon dotted with water villas is hypnotic. No matter where you travelled from, your world is about to become filled with white sand and magnificent coconut palms. Let Vivanta by Taj introduce you to bliss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hotel Hembadhu
Taj Coral Reef Hotel
Hotel Taj Coral Reef
Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Taj Coral Reef Resort Maldives
Vivanta By Taj Coral Reef Maldives Hembadhu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.