We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cal Ruget Biohotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cal Ruget Biohotel to your Saves list
Cal Ruget Biohotel
Masia Cal Ruget-Barri Bellver s/n, 08735 Vilobi del Penedes, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Best Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We recently had the pleasure to spend a week at Cal Ruget, we are so glad we had the opportunity. The hotel is run by a super nice couple, Florian and Veronica, they were amazing, and made our stay very memorable. The views from wherever you are standing in the hotel are breath taking. Wonderful accommodations, we will never forget waking up with the smell of fresh lavender out of the hotels garden in our room. The food was delicious, gourmet home cooking, not to mention breakfast, we are missing the unbelievable breakfast! ...being able to walk to the garden and grab a delicious organic peach from the tree made the experience complete! Go to Cal Ruget!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Ma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent two days, one night at the Cal Ruget, biohotel. It was an incredible experience. Veronica and Florian are the most wonderful hosts besides being unbelieveable chefs. They made us feel at home the minute we arrived and couldn't do enough for us. Veronica constantly checked with us to see if we would like a glass of cava, fruit or anything else. We had out meals in our own dining room which was incredibly romantic. They loaned us their bikes so we could tour some of the surrounding area. Veronica arranged a private tour at a local cava, Pare Balta, and drove us there. The owner of Pare Balta then drove us to the train station for our return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Just returned from a 8 day trip to Spain and spent 2 of those days at Cal Ruget. Amazing location, beautiful house, lovely hosts! I cannot say enough good things about this place! Florian and Veronica cooked the most amazing meals and made sure that we always felt at home. They keep a large selection of wines, cavas, beers, etc and make sure you always have what you want. You are literally treated like royalty. It is a great place to visit as a couple, group, large family, etc. The pool was too cold so we played paddle ball on their lawn and biked around the vineyards. If you're going to Barcelona, take a couple of days to visit Penedes and stay at Cal Ruget. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I recently traveled to Spain with my 76-year-old mother and my 14-year-old daughter. All three generations of our family were thrilled with the accommodations, gourmet cuisine and anticipation of our every needs given to us by Cal Ruget.

We were welcomed by Veronica and Florian and told to make their home ours while we were there... and it was.... only better! The rooms were comfortable, the grounds were well manicured, and the view over the vineyards was breathtaking at sunset. We decided to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner with them on different days. Each meal Florian prepared a new tantalizing menu – all delicious, and beautifully presented!

My daughter said "she felt like she was treated like a queen"! And she loved Urkal and Unax, the beagle mascots :) All of us loved every minute there! Take down the coordinates to get there on your gps – then it's easy to find.

I highly recommend Cal Ruget Biohotel to guests of any age! ¡Hasta luego!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were four, my husband and I, son and daughter in law in Spain for the first time. We divided our trip between Barcelona, the seaside and the wine country. This lovely home is in the center of wine country and Veronica and Florian, the owners are extremely gracious hosts. The setting is lovely with many grape vines, olive trees and organic gardens and spices.

I enjoyed walking in the gardens and especially enjoyed the 2 evening meals prepared by Florian who is an amazing gourmet cook.
Florian was wonderful in assisting us in obtaining bicycles to ride in the countryside and visit a winery for a tour. He even prearranged a lunch in a local town for us during our ride. We had lovely conversations with our both Veronica and Florian.

We were delighted with every part of our stay at Cal RUGET

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Cal Ruget Biohotel for only one night but it was the most charming hotel I have ever been to. The people who run the hotel, a couple from Spain, are so welcoming and helpfull. The second you enter the Hotel you feel welcome and taken care off. The atmosphere is calm and friendly.

The food was also really tasty. We eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, all of it was very good and well made.

The hotel is situated close to Vilafranca so it`s perfect to take a trip and watch the charming littel village or go to a wineyard.

My partner and I strongly recomend this hotel. Perfect for people who likes good food, wine and a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Travel reviews are written by travel agents who have just reurned from a free vacation to the location they are rating. Obviously not reading the disclaimer before submitting. Cal Ruget was unprepared for the reservation made with our tour company. Constuction on the new building was not complete. When we arrived we were asked to leave because there had been a wedding there over the weekend and the rooms were all dirty. When we returned we waited a couple of hours for the room with no explanation while we waited. Be prepared for no screens on the windows and plenty of flies in the rooms. One half of the new building is a horse barn. When we left we were all charged an additional 50 Euros for wine. $525.00 for the group. Once the group was on the bus to leave, Victoria made the gesture of pushing her hand away from under her chin repeatedly. I did a double take on that considering how complementary we had all been on the food and to everyone we came in contact with from the housekeepers to the contractors working on the building. After reading the reviews on line and in the guest book at Cal Ruget this as a place for couples and families instead of large groups.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cal Ruget Biohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Ruget Biohotel

Address: Masia Cal Ruget-Barri Bellver s/n, 08735 Vilobi del Penedes, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Vilobi del Penedes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vilobi del Penedes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Penedès you will find our farmhouse near the village of Vilobi just 9 km from Vilfranca del Penedés and a little more than 45 km from Barcelona and Tarragona.From the masia, which is surrounded by vineyards and tipical crops of the area, you can enjoy uninterrupted views of the mountains of Montserrat to the castle of Sant Marti Sarroca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Escapio and Despegar.com so you can book your Cal Ruget Biohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Ruget Biohotel Spain/Vilobi Del Penedes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cal Ruget Biohotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.