We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond WOW - Paradise Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Cay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Barefoot Cay to your Saves list
Barefoot Cay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour 33126, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond WOW - Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Who could ask for anything more? A private cay (island), clear blue waters, palms, white sand, etc. Accommodations extraordinaire - our bunglow was within a few feet of the water, comfy, clean and airy. The kitchen was jammed packed for all the culinary tools anyone would need including Henkle knives. Showering in the enclosed but outside shower was fun! This was paradise found.

We will be back. John, Milesse, Santos and Haydee treated us like family - even rescued us across the island when we locked are keys in our vehicle. And when we come back we will bring low fat dog biscuits for Havana. Quite a lovely experience!

  • Liked — Comfy, clean accommodations with pool, restaurant and water activities.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    24
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
68
241
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Wayne, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Too excellent to really articulate in writing. This is a little oasis
in the midst of central america. You are safe, secure, comfortable and close to everything. Thanks.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

In one word BAREFOOT CAY was FANTASTIC!!! SERVICE, GROUNDS, MANAGEMENT, HAVANA (THE DOG). Everyone there was great. We can not say enough about the great time we had at Barefoot Cay.
JOHN AND MILESSE YOU ARE VERY BLESSED. We will be ready to go back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

We recently visited Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras and had the best time of our lives. We stayed at Barefoot Cay where everything was first class. The entire Cay was immaculately kept and the staff was very friendly and most accommodating. We originally had intended to try some of the local restaurants but the food at the resort was so good that we ended up eating all our dinners at the resort. They have a set menu but you can request almost any variation of that menu.

Our hosts, John & Milesse Kennedy could not have been nicer. They were very informative, helpful and accomodating. Their staff are all top notch. I would highly recommend a stay at Barefoot Cay.

As for Roatan in general, we found the people to be very friendly and there is plenty to do even if you are not an avid diver. We spent a week there and found ourselves busy every day. We would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

If you decide to visit Roatan, you have a fundamental choice to make: either you go to where most of the tourists go, or you find a nice spot a bit outside the main tourist areas and then move at wish to the various attractions that this small, nice island can offer. We went for the second option and were lucky enough to stay at Barefoot Cay. This is a very nice, very comfortable and very well run place offering in a way a unique opportunity to enjoy the island. Overall standards are well above average and the atmosphere is very relaxed, informal and pleasant. Owners have been able to give to this place, hosting only a limited number of very comfortable bungalows, a very special taste. In all, a very enjoyable stay in a fairly unique spot. Highly recommended.
Enrica, Lotta and Carlo

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

I stayed at Barefoot Cay from February 17th-24th with my two kids (ages 8 and 11) and my parents.

When I booked this vacation, the appeal of Barefoot Cay was its high quality, large rooms and the privacy offered. There are only 4 bungalows on the beautiful cay with a gorgeous pool and snorkeling right off the shore. I figured it was worth sacrificing some of the service-offerings I would get at a full-fledged resort.

I turned out to be right that Barefoot Cay is a first-rate facility that offers wonderful privacy. My kids and I stayed in one of the beautiful 2 bedroom bungalows. I just can't emphasize the quality of these rooms - no expense was spared in their construction. The kitchens are first-rate with wonderful cookware. The beds and pillows made it feel like you were sleeping on air. The rooms are designed so that you get the full benefit of the ocean breezes and views. The bathrooms are gorgeous, the partially outdoor shower was fantastic. And my kids loved that the rooms had cable tv and a dvd player. I loved that there were tons of towels for us, replenished daily.

Where I was wrong was in assuming I would be sacrificing service by staying at such a little resort. From booking tours, to renting us a car, to preparing the most wonderful meals, the staff at Barefoot Cay went above and beyond expectations to make our stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. And always with a smile. As an example of the little touches we saw every day, when we didn't eat the fruit in our welcome baskets, the housekeeper cut it up for us an put it in our fridge.

We really had the intention of eating out , but the food and service at Barefoot Cay kept us there every night for dinner. My daughter is incredibly picky, but they were very happy and able to accommodate her. We did eat lunch out every day, as we explored the beautiful island, but can honestly say not one restaurant we ate at surpassed the quality of Barefoot Cay.

This was simply the most relaxing vacation with kids. We loved snorkeling off the palapa, hanging by the pool, kayaking around the Cay and feeding fish off the pier. They are totally safe on the cay, there is so much for them to do so they were never bored, but there was enough space we could really relax. Not often I can say all that about a vacation with my kids.

I strongly recommend Barefoot Cay for couples and families. The tranquillity, service and quality make this a superlative vacation.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

We absolutely loved our time at Barefoot Cay - we were sad to leave and hope to go back again soon! Here's some info on all the wonderful aspects of this private little island.

Rooms:
Room are luxuriously decorated - everything is high-end, new, comfy, clean. Great plush beds.

Food:
We had some of our meals and the Cay are were generally quite pleased with the food. If there was a rush, it could sometimes take a while to get your food, but sitting by the pool watching the caribbean sea was a great way to wait for my burger and fries!

There is no traditional "bar" with "bartenders" - the resort is a little to personal and small for that to make sense. But drinks were available all day, you just have to poke your head in the kitchen and ask one of the staff for a Pina Colada, or whatever you want. Then go float in the pool and wait for them to bring it out to you. Divine.

Bugs:
Maybe we got lucky, but we had no problem with the dreaded "roatan bugs" at all. I brought Deep Woods OFF and sprayed it all over every few hours, or after I went in the water. I got about 3 bites the entire time and hardly noticed.

Pool/Beach:
Pool is beautiful, clean, and a comfortable temperature. There beaches are clean and raked all the time. Due to the bug risk, we didn't sit out on the sand that much. (bug risk exists everywhere on Roatan, fyi) But we did a lot of swimming in the sea. The water is exquisite. The Cay built a wooden walkway over the water and a palapa with hammocks, chairs and complimentary snorkel gear to explore the amazing caribbean sea life. We loved jumping off the palapa into the crystal clear water and playing with the tropical fish.

Staff/Onwers:
The owners John and Milesse are wonderful ex-pats who have made a great effort to make Barefoot Cay a perfect resort. They are helpful, resourceful, and kind. The staff genuinely seems happy to be working at the Cay. Always happy and attentive.

Location:
The resort is not within walking distance of any of the towns, but there are a few restaurants a short cab ride away if you want some culinary variety... (go to Gio's and get the crab!) But there is also a very nice grocery store to stock your room, and the resort is so nice that there's not much incentive to leave. However, if you want a touristy "party" nightlife you'd probably have to cab it over to West End. (20 minutes/ $20 each way)

Diving:
Part of our reason for picking Roatan was the scuba diving. The affiliated dive shop is Subway Sports. They are friendly and professional, and have an office right next door to the Cay. However, during our stay they were having problems with their dive boat, (they didn't have one docked on the south side of the island) so we couldn't dive right off the Cay's shores. We had to jump in a pickup truck at 8am and drive 25min over to their "sister" dive shop, at a different resort on the north side of the island. We did our diving over there (2 tanks) and usually got back to the Cay by 1pm for lunch. The drive was a bummer if you like being picked up by boat right from your doorstep. BUT, Subway does expect to get their boat back soon, and then they will run dives right from the dock at Barefoot Cay again. I would suggest if diving is your MAIN goal, and you don't like driving to your dive sites, you should call ahead and check on the status of Subway's boat before you go.

Overall:
Barefoot Cay was paradise. Luxury, attention to detail, great staff and service, and an absolutely beautiful setting.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near French Harbour
6.8 mi away
Mayoka Lodge
Mayoka Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#2 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 8 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
9.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge
West Bay Lodge
#2 of 13 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
4.6 mi away
Parrot Tree Plantation
Parrot Tree Plantation
#1 of 1 in First Bight
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Cay

Address: Carretera Pavimentada PPal, French Harbour 33126, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > French Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in French Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barefoot Cay 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique resort includes a private cay and 9 luxury accommodations with your choice of beachfront or ocean views. This unique Caribbean retreat pampers guests with first-class amenities and absolutely outstanding service. Onsite PADI 5 Star Dive Center spoils divers with valet diving, customized itineraries, patient & friendly instructors, and incredible dive sites just minutes away. The resort features a swimming pool, gourmet dining, and spa services. All accommodations have air conditioning, high-speed internet, TV/CD/DVD, Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barefoot Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Cay Roatan, Honduras
Barefoot Cay Hotel Roatan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.